What happens when "active" box unchecked

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by gbe, Oct 22, 2015.

  1. gbe

    gbe New Member HowtoForge Supporter

    For a running ISPConfig website, what happens under the hood when the "Active" box is unchecked?
    The manual states:
    ...which doesn't explain what "active" means in this context.
    I suggest that this information also be added to the manual, explaining (for each type of managed service) what exactly constitutes a deactivated service.
    Thanks
    Geoff.
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Active means that the site is actve and therefor reachable by http / https, Inactive means that it is not active and therefor not reachable by http / https.
     
  3. gbe

    gbe New Member HowtoForge Supporter

    Thanks @till, but can you please advise what happens in order to achieve this:
    Does the virtual host file get removed from the server? Anything else?
    Many thanks
    Geoff.
     
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The symlink to the virtual host file gets removed from sites-enabled directory. Thats the same method that the apache a2ensite and a2dissite commands are using to activate and deactivate sites in apache.
     
    gbe likes this.
  5. gbe

    gbe New Member HowtoForge Supporter

    Thanks @till that's exactly what I needed to know!
    Cheers
    Geoff.
     

Share This Page