VMWware Server2 question

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by john1954, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. john1954

    john1954 New Member

    I followed Falko's How To to install VMware server 2 onto my Fedora 8 machine. This works without any problems at all until I restart the computer and I am unable to connect with the web browser (Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 127.0.0.1:8222). A reinstall solved the problem until the next restart. Is there anything else I should have done? or have missed.

    Appreciate your help
    Cheers

    John
     
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's the output of
    Code:
    chkconfig --list
    ?
     
  3. john1954

    john1954 New Member

    Thanks for the reply Falko.
    I have tried chkconfig --list as per your post. I am using Fedora 8 with chkconfig installed but comes up with
    [email protected] john]# chkconfig --list
    bash: chkconfig: command not found
    [[email protected] john]#

    The Satus for all runlevels:
    Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0 is running
    Host network detection is not running
    Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 is running
    DHCP server on /dev/vmnet1 is running
    Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 is running
    DHCP server on /dev/vmnet8 is running
    NAT networking on /dev/vmnet8 is running
    Module vmmon loaded
    Module vmnet loaded

    Restarting the vmware service works, until computer restarted.

    Cheers

    John
     
  4. marpada

    marpada New Member

    Extrange, chkconfig should be in your root path.Try
    #/sbin/chkconfig --list

    To make vmware service start automatically:
    #/sbin/chkconfig --add vmware
    ________
    Bdsm sex
    ________
    MFLB
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2011
  5. john1954

    john1954 New Member

    Thanks Marpada.

    #/sbin/chkconfig --list worked and added #/sbin/chkconfig --add vmware

    On restart same problem. Output of chkconfig --list attached. Any further thoughts appreciated

    John
     

    Attached Files:

  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    The chkconfig output looks ok, so VMware should start during boot. Are there any errors in your logs, or do you see any errors on your monitor when you boot the system?
     
  7. john1954

    john1954 New Member

    The on screen error as per 1st post (Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 127.0.0.1:8222)
    I have check all logs (httpd and vmware) The only one that seems to change after restarting vmware service is log/vmware/hostd.log (attached).

    Hope this helps

    Thanks

    John
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 12, 2008
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's in /usr/lib/vmware/settings?
     
  9. john1954

    john1954 New Member

    There is no 'settings' file only 'config' which I have attached
     

    Attached Files:

  10. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's the output of
    Code:
    ls -la /usr/lib/vmware/settings
    ?
     
  11. john1954

    john1954 New Member


    Code:
    [[email protected] john]# ls -la /usr/lib/vmware/settings
    ls: cannot access /usr/lib/vmware/settings: No such file or directory
     
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    You say that VMware doesn't work after a reboot. Can you try
    Code:
    modprobe vmmon
    modprobe vmnet
    ? Does VMware work afterwards?
     
  13. john1954

    john1954 New Member

    Hi Falko,

    No

    Code:
    [[email protected] john]# modprobe vmmon
    bash: modprobe: command not found
    [[email protected] john]# modprobe vmnet
    bash: modprobe: command not found
    Thanks again for your continued help

    John
     
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Please try

    Code:
    /sbin/modprobe vmmon
    /sbin/modprobe vmnet
     
  15. john1954

    john1954 New Member


    Code:
    [[email protected] ~]$ /sbin/modprobe vmmon
    FATAL: Module vmmon not found.
    [[email protected] ~]$ /sbin/modprobe vmnet
    FATAL: Module vmnet not found.
    Thanks
     
  16. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What are the outputs of
    Code:
    updatedb
    locate vmmon
    and
    Code:
    uname -a
    ?
     
  17. john1954

    john1954 New Member

    Code:
    [[email protected] john]# uname -a
    Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.26.5-28.fc8 #1 SMP Sat Sep 20 09:12:30 EDT 2008 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    [[email protected] john]# 
    Cheers

    John
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
  18. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Hm... Did you see any errors during the VMware installation?
     
  19. john1954

    john1954 New Member


    Not that I recall. All worked after installation ok.

    Cheers

    John
     
  20. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Hm... I'm running out of ideas... :(
     

Share This Page