Virtualization With KVM On A Debian Lenny Server

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by planet_fox, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    Dear falco,

    I have install kvm on my server @home with your totorial. All things looks ok. When I install debian over the virt installer. It is no problem, after the installation make debian a reboot than i switch to boot from hda an reboot system. Than come connect to console for guest and not more.
     
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    That's strange, I didn't have any problem with a Debian guest installation. Do you see any errors in your logs?
     
  3. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    Which is the logfile of kvm ? and is it a problem my kvm installation run on the server and i connect from workstation to the server at home. The guest Installation is not a problem only after. Give it a option i can with console conecct to client over kvm or i must use the virt manager ?
     
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    I think the logs are somewhere in the /var/log directory (don't know the exact filename).

    Have you tried to start the guest like this after the initial installation?

    Code:
    virsh --connect qemu:///system
    
    start vm10
    
    quit
     
  5. potes

    potes New Member

    Problems connecting from desktop

    Hi,

    I follow the guide but when i try to connect from the remote machine (a debian dsktop or a archlinux desktop) y get the next message:

    and the error code es:

    what i doing wrong? do i have to moake any other configuration to the host?

    Thanks
     
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    Try this:
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/libvirt-bin restart
     
  7. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    I find anyy logfile for kvm in

    /var/log directory
     
  8. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    Look here


    Code:
    virt-install --connect qemu:///system -n vm10 -r 512 --vcpus=1 
    -f /samba/kvm/vm10.qcow2 -s 12 -c /dev/cdrom --vnc --noautoconsole --os-type linux 
    --os-variant debianLenny --accelerate --network=bridge:br0 --hvm
    


    after

    Code:
    virsh # start vm10
    error: Domain is already active
    
    virsh # list
     Id Name                 State
    ----------------------------------
      8 vm10                 running
    
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2009
  9. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    What for Rights musst have the file see here the curunnt state bei my file

    Code:
    -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root     12884901889  5. Apr 17:26 vm10.qcow2
    
     
  10. potes

    potes New Member

    Now appear a new message:

    I think my problem is in the configuration files that they don't allow the remote desktop to connect. Here are my configuration file:

    /etc/libvirt/qemu.con
    and the /etc/libvirt/libvirtd.conf
    almost everything is comment
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2009
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    I didn't have to modify any of these files, so I'm not sure what's wrong.

    Make sure that libvirt-bin is started.
     
  12. potes

    potes New Member

    I don't now how (i have made a couple of things), but now i can connect to the remote host via "remote desktop", and no via virt-manager...
     
  13. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    Ok my Problem is solved, it was an bug in kvm packages from debian Lenny the bug is yestaday solved. I have problems for virt-manager all days. I connect and later say virt-manager libvirt is not start.

    I have a new question, whats is with more guests and interfaces, and how can I set a static ip for a guest ?
     
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    You can do this as if it was a physical system. For example, if it's a Debian/Ubuntu guest, you can simply modify /etc/network/interfaces.
     
  15. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    This is the output of ifconfig.

    Code:
    br0       Link encap:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:1e:8c:20:bb:93  
              inet Adresse:192.168.33.100  Bcast:192.168.33.255  Maske:255.255.255.0
              inet6-Adresse: fe80::21e:8cff:fe20:bb93/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metrik:1
              RX packets:16400486 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:15527147 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0 
              RX bytes:22293978908 (20.7 GiB)  TX bytes:2303209108 (2.1 GiB)
    
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:1e:8c:20:bb:93  
              inet6-Adresse: fe80::21e:8cff:fe20:bb93/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metrik:1
              RX packets:16583911 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:15685273 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:1000 
              RX bytes:22674274998 (21.1 GiB)  TX bytes:2386750308 (2.2 GiB)
              Interrupt:21 Basisadresse:0xa000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Lokale Schleife  
              inet Adresse:127.0.0.1  Maske:255.0.0.0
              inet6-Adresse: ::1/128 Gültigkeitsbereich:Maschine
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metrik:1
              RX packets:164811 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:164811 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:0 
              RX bytes:150078366 (143.1 MiB)  TX bytes:150078366 (143.1 MiB)
    
    vnet0     Link encap:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:ff:a8:47:23:67  
              inet6-Adresse: fe80::2ff:a8ff:fe47:2367/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metrik:1
              RX packets:106679 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:133424 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:500 
              RX bytes:8116971 (7.7 MiB)  TX bytes:74807806 (71.3 MiB)
    
    vnet1     Link encap:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:ff:da:cf:66:fd  
              inet6-Adresse: fe80::2ff:daff:fecf:66fd/64 Gültigkeitsbereich:Verbindung
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metrik:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenlänge:500 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:572 (572.0 B)
    
    
    I see not the Ip adress for the virtual systems and the next question I had run two maschines and the Network devis is br0 is this correct ? The Debian Guest runs good all things are good, can i change the ip to a static ip in guest system or must I modifaction the network on host system.

    The Windows 2008 Server have no Network driver find, when I want install from cd. The installer for driver run and than stops. I dont´t it is a kvm Problem or Win Problem. my next sulution is dowload the win network treiber from driver site and do install. I hope this solve the network driver problem.

    Thanks Falco for help.
     
  16. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    This seems to be the output from the host system. You must modify the network configuration in the guest.
     
  17. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    Ok, i have a new Idee for the driver Problems under win08 . It gives a cd for this
    problem here
     
  18. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    Dear Users,

    I have new Information the driver for win2000 working, from the source I have added here. I have Install the Driver.

    Next Problem is I have win08 is yet working so slow. I have for all there want play or testing with the system I found a step by step howto for Install an DNS and domain Controller
    on Windows 2008 Server. Here is the Link for you

    Have a good Time

    Best Regards

    Alex
     
  19. planet_fox

    planet_fox New Member

    Dear Falco

    How can i new install a save images hdd. The problem is i want one guest new option give like

    --acpi

    Is the solution stop guest, remove via virt-manager and create with the same hdd a guest and my new options ?
     

Share This Page