Viewing Site Problem

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by entertheraptor, Dec 13, 2010.

1. entertheraptor

entertheraptor New Member

Hi all, I'm new to the neighborhood and and have stacks of questions but I'll attack them one at a time.

Where do I start? I recently set up a home based web server following the Perfect Server - Ubuntu 10.10 [ISPConfig 3] guide here on HowtoForge and found the guide very helpful and easy to follow (considering my limited knowledge of Linux and web server administration) and the server is working fine. There are just a couple of minor issues...

Firstly, I created a client and a site for that client and then pointed the domain name for that site to my server by editing the A records for the domain name at my domain registrar and everything works fine. If someone enters that domain name into their browser address bar then they arrive at the site on my server. I however cannot view the site using a computer that is on the same network and behind the same router as the server.

When I try to go to the domain name my browser attempts to log into my router (Netcomm NB7) which is the same effect I get if I enter the modem/routers network IP or the WAN IP.

So I attempt to access the server by typing 192.168.x.x/mydomain.com/web and I get a 403 Forbidden error. I can get around this by editing my domains vhost file and commenting out the settings in the first section of the file, eg.

<Directory /var/www/mydomain.com>
    # AllowOverride None
    # Order Deny,Allow
    # Deny from all
    </Directory>

However this also allows access to the /web1 directory as well as /web and I'm not sure that it's a good idea on a live server either.

I'm working on a way to access my server and sites on it from within my home but outside my home network at the moment but in the mean time does anyone have any suggestions about how best to deal with this issue? I imagine that it's a common one.

Thanks in advance.

2. snowweb