upgrade dropped all users

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by quentusrex, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. quentusrex

    quentusrex New Member

    I just upgraded from 3.0.1 to and all my sys_user rows were dropped.

    More might have happened...
  2. quentusrex

    quentusrex New Member

    confirmed. Upgrade dropped the entire dbispconfig database, and recreated it. So now I have no data. No dns records, users, or any other data.
  3. damir

    damir New Member

    Have you upgraded from SVN version to
  4. quentusrex

    quentusrex New Member

    yes, that is exactly what happened. But I was able to find the sql dumps in the home folder. From that I was able to drop the dbispconfig database, create it, import from the install sql file, then import from the backup sql file. I had to remove sections of the sql file in the backup, such as the list of countries, etc. So that I could accept any additions from the new install sql.

    In the end I was able to fix the issue. But the upgrade still dropped the table. That is broken. Unless the upgrade says exactly that the database will be dropped, it shouldn't ever do so.
  5. damir

    damir New Member

    I'm not the right person for the answer, Till might be able to answer this better than me but what i know is that is BAD and not recommended to upgrade older SVN versions with stable ones.
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You can not upgrade from SVN to a stable version like as the svn version might have adifferent table layout like it was in your case which causes all table contents to be lost. Every ispconfig upgrade dumps the database, then creates a new table layout and loads the database contents again. So if you either modified any table manually or you use a table layout from a version that is incompatible with the released versions, you will loose the database contants. I've written that a lot of times in the forum already, do not upgrade from svn to stable and do not use SVN versions at all on production systems.

    But ISPConfig always stores a security backup of the database before the update, so you just have to modify this backup so it can be loaded again into the new database layout.
  7. quentusrex

    quentusrex New Member

    till, I'm glad for the backups.

    Also, I can't seem to get any changes. I've added new sites but they don't ever appear. It seems the cron job that applies settings isn't running.

Share This Page