Unable to open ISPConfig Web

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by neu2linux, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. neu2linux

    neu2linux New Member

    Hello all,

    Want to say thanks very much for the great How-To's,

    I am however having an issue. I am unable to open the ISPConfig in the web. I have tried several things I have read on the forums here. (and I have removed my actual domain name and replaced with mydomain just for posting purposes)

    At first I read someone elses post that that had to run /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start to get working, I did as well and it had asked me for my passphrase, enter it in, seemed to start up, but still unable to connect to the web interface.

    If I use http://mydomain.net:81 or http://www.mydomain.net:81 it says:

    Code:
    Bad Request
    Your browser sent a request that this server could not understand.
    Reason: You're speaking plain HTTP to an SSL-enabled server port.
    Instead use the HTTPS scheme to access this URL, please.
    
    
    Hint: https://mydomain.net:81/
    
    
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Apache/1.3.33 Server at mydomain.net Port 81
    
    But when I use https://mydomain.net:81 or https://www.mydomain.net:81 it says:
    Code:
    The page cannot be displayed 
    The page you are looking for is currently unavailable.
    The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties,
    or you may need to adjust your browser settings. 
    
    Here is my netstat -tap
    Code:
    login as: root
    root@192.168.0.4's password:
    Last login: Thu Oct  6 04:57:48 2005
    [root@server ~]# /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start
    Starting ISPConfig system...
    Apache/1.3.33 mod_ssl/2.8.23 (Pass Phrase Dialog)
    Some of your private key files are encrypted for security reasons.
    In order to read them you have to provide us with the pass phrases.
    
    Server mydomain.net:81 (RSA)
    Enter pass phrase:
    
    Ok: Pass Phrase Dialog successful.
    /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl startssl: httpd started
    ISPConfig system is now up and running!
    [root@server ~]# netstat -tap
    Active Internet connections (servers and established)
    Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       PID/Program name
    tcp        0      0 *:32768                 *:*                     LISTEN      -
    tcp        0      0 *:nfs                   *:*                     LISTEN      -
    tcp        0      0 *:imaps                 *:*                     LISTEN      6267/xinetd
    tcp        0      0 *:pop3s                 *:*                     LISTEN      6267/xinetd
    tcp        0      0 *:996                   *:*                     LISTEN      6328/rpc.rquotad
    tcp        0      0 server.mydomain:10026 *:*                     LISTEN      8456/master
    tcp        0      0 *:mysql                 *:*                     LISTEN      4914/mysqld
    tcp        0      0 *:netbios-ssn           *:*                     LISTEN      6754/smbd
    tcp        0      0 *:pop3                  *:*                     LISTEN      6267/xinetd
    tcp        0      0 *:imap                  *:*                     LISTEN      6267/xinetd
    tcp        0      0 *:sunrpc                *:*                     LISTEN      5005/portmap
    tcp        0      0 *:x11                   *:*                     LISTEN      5959/X
    tcp        0      0 *:81                    *:*                     LISTEN      8003/ispconfig_http
    tcp        0      0 *:628                   *:*                     LISTEN      5110/rpc.statd
    tcp        0      0 *:ftp                   *:*                     LISTEN      8492/proftpd: (acce
    tcp        0      0 server.mydomain:5335 *:*                     LISTEN      6058/mDNSResponder
    tcp        0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                     LISTEN      8456/master
    tcp        0      0 *:635                   *:*                     LISTEN      6392/rpc.mountd
    tcp        0      0 *:microsoft-ds          *:*                     LISTEN      6754/smbd
    tcp        0      0 *:http                  *:*                     LISTEN      8327/httpd2
    tcp        0      0 *:x11                   *:*                     LISTEN      5959/X
    tcp        0      0 *:ssh                   *:*                     LISTEN      6188/sshd
    tcp        0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                     LISTEN      8456/master
    tcp        0      0 *:https                 *:*                     LISTEN      8327/httpd2
    tcp        0      0 ::ffff:192.168.0.4:ssh  ::ffff:192.168.0.2:1318 ESTABLISHED 7762/1
    
    Another thing is when I run chkconfig --add ispconfig_server or chkconfig --levels 235 ispconfig_server on it says:
    Code:
    login as: root
    root@192.168.0.4's password:
    Last login: Thu Oct  6 05:03:31 2005 from 192.168.0.2
    [root@server ~]# chkconfig --add ispconfig_server
    service ispconfig_server does not support chkconfig
    [root@server ~]# chkconfig --levels 235 ispconfig_server on
    service ispconfig_server does not support chkconfig
    
    When I try to connect on the actual box itself using https://localhost:81 I get an error saying.
    Code:
    Could not establish an encrypted connection because certificate presented 
    by localhost is invalid or corrupted. Error Code: -8182
    
    Another strange thing is if I visit my normal domain using http:// on IE I get the default page saying bleh bleh, server installed ect.. With info on apache and mandriva, ect.. But...

    If I visit it using FireFox, it shows the site in text, including the html tags. Not even parsing the site or something? I tried via Firefox 1.06 and 1.07 on both Windows XP and Linux.

    My normal http:// domain still works however in IE

    Hope someone can help me :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2005
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Don't know what's going on on your system. :confused:
    Maybe it helps if you uninstall ISPConfig (run /root/ispconfig/uninstall) and then install ISPConfig again, but this time you should choose http instead of https in the installer; also have a look at http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm. It says:

     
  3. neu2linux

    neu2linux New Member

    I will give a reinstall a go, and choose http this time around, kinda weird tho, I had tried (before reinstalling my os) using webmin and https worked fine with it, of course that was on Xandros, so not sure if that made any difference. But Xandros atm seems a bit "slow" compared to Mandriva and Fedora Core 4.

    Oh quick question, the LAN IP of my box is 192.168.0.4 so that is the IP I would put for "Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: E.g. 192.168.0.1" aye? Or it need to be 192.168.0.1 (gateway of router) ?

    Anyways, I am going to get to work on that, thanks much for the reply and I will post back and let you know how it went.

    // Regards,
    neu2linux
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2005
  4. Critical

    Critical New Member

    I have a similar problem, I've searched the forums for an answer to it and haven't been able to figure it out. I'm running it on a dedicated machine running FC4. The installation finished and it is running however I cannot access it through the web. My installation should be https://mydomain:81 and it doesn't work. From what I've read already it could be a host problem? So far I havent been able to figure it out.

    If someone could point me in the right direction or give me an example of what the host file should be (and works) would be great. Mine looks like:
    Code:
    xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx     www.mydomain.com     mydomain.com
    Any ideas?
     
  5. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Can you see at least the login screen when you use the IP address instead of mydomain.com?
     
  6. Critical

    Critical New Member

    No, I cannot. I've used the IP, https/http, domain, with and without www, and with the default port 81. I get a "Page cannot be displayed" error.
     
  7. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Run
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server restart
    and try again.
     
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Are you trying to login over the internet or on a local network? Maybe port 81 is blocked by your router / firewall or internet service provider.
     
  9. Critical

    Critical New Member

    I already tried restarting with /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server restart before I came here. There is no firewall or anything blocking port 81. It is from the internet and iptables is off.
     
  10. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Maybe your ISP blocks port 81? If you want you can write me a private message with the IP address and URL of your ISPConfig system, and I'll try to access it.
     
  11. Critical

    Critical New Member

    I am positive my ISP does not block port 81. I've had others try it already too.
     
  12. Critical

    Critical New Member

    OK I've reinstalled, just so that I could varify there were no errors during the installation process. It still shows page cannot be displayed when I goto https://mysite.com:81/ any ideas?

    When I searched these forums I did find other people with the same problem but no solutions for it. :( I hope to get it working soon.
     
  13. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Most linux distributions install a firewall during installation. Have you removed this firewall? ISPConfig has its own Firewall script.
     
  14. Critical

    Critical New Member

    Yes, I have. It does run, however web access doesn't work for some reason. The hostname provided in the installation has to be the same as the machine's hostname, correct?

    The hostname is different from the domain I want to use for ISPConfig, that's OK right? Correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  15. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, and it must exist in DNS.
     
  16. Critical

    Critical New Member

    Can you be more specific, where do I find our more about this...

    I have www.domain.com, domain.com pointing to the machines IP.
    Do I need to set the hostname to www?
    And shouldn't I be able to access it using the IP:81 too?
     
  17. Critical

    Critical New Member

    I just reinstalled again except trying with http insted of https. I still cannot get ISPConfig web to work. http://domain.com:81 gives me:
    Code:
    Bad Request
    Your browser sent a request that this server could not understand.
    Reason: You're speaking plain HTTP to an SSL-enabled server port.
    Instead use the HTTPS scheme to access this URL, please.
    
    
    Hint: https://domain.com:81/
    
    
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Apache/1.3.33 Server at domain.com Port 81
    This is what I got this time leaving host name blank and entering (my domain) domain.com as the domain.

    Reading this: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839 Should I have put in the IP or would it have not mattered?
     
  18. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

  19. Critical

    Critical New Member

  20. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    iptables -L
    ?
     

Share This Page