The username is already in use.

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by omni, May 8, 2007.

  1. omni

    omni New Member

    I am running 'the perfect setup' on Ubuntu 6.06LTS
    ISPConfig Version: 2.2.12

    I set the system up using the username 'josh'

    however I want to add that username to a site in ISPConfig.

    ie: ISP Manager >> Sites >> >> User & email >>

    I get the message "The username is already in use."

    So I went through and created a new user with sudo permissions, then removed the user 'josh'. however I keep getting the message... Can anyone please help me, this is a stopping point for me right now... Thanks in advance!
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You must remove the user josh from the ISPConfig user blacklist:

  3. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    You can also get this message if the user is still in the ISPconfig Recycle Bin

    If the user is still in it, empty it.
  4. omni

    omni New Member

    Thank you!
  5. radim_h

    radim_h Member

    i had the same problem, thank you for help,
    but what is the ISPConfig user blacklist for??
  6. omni

    omni New Member

    It's so you do not create ispconfig logins that conflict with system logins, ie: root, sshd, bind, mysql, etc
  7. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The böacklist prevents that system users that were not originally created by ISPConfig were overwritten by ispconfig users.

    Example: If you run ispconfig without username prefix and one of your customers would create a user anmed mysql, ispconfig will "capture" the mysql system user and set a password for this user. To prevent this, ispconfig has this blacklist of users that existed before ispconfig was installed.
  8. radim_h

    radim_h Member

    the weird thing is that i have there usual users domain.tld_username ...
  9. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    This means that you either have uninsatlled and then reinstalled ispconfig or you had a update error and run setup a second time without recreating the /root/ispconfig folder before.
  10. radim_h

    radim_h Member

    i probably understand now - ISPConfig is putting all users existing in /etc/passwd after clean installation (not upgrade)

    So i can delete all ISPC users from /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users ?
  11. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, they can be deleted from that file.

Share This Page