sites using default webpage

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by daniel5455, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. daniel5455

    daniel5455 New Member

    i uploaded a default website to the /var/www/html

    but when i create a new site site1.domain.com and upload the site files and open a browser and pull up site1.domain.com it shows the default website.

    My setup is a fedora core 9 with two nics one on a local ip and the other with a public ip.
     
  2. gecew

    gecew New Member

    r u using webftp for upload??
     
  3. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The folder /var/www/html is not used by ISPConfig. Please create a website in ISPConfig and then upload the files to /var/www/www.domainname.com/web/

    If you ipload the files by FTP, make sure that you enabled the "administrator" checkbox for the user!
     
  4. daniel5455

    daniel5455 New Member

    i deleted all the files in /var/www/html so now when i go to www.domainnameA.com i see the default fedora page. I created a new site and user with admin priv. i then used coreftp from a windows client and uploaded and test page to /var/www/site1.domainnameA.com/web/ but when i go to site1.domainnameA.com i still see the default fedora page.

    I only have one domain that i am using for this server. I registered the domain name and created A records to point to my fedoras IP address (which has a public IP assigned to one of the NICs) i created 2 records 1 for www and the other for site1 and they both point to the same ip.

    Am i doing something wrong?
     
  5. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf, and what's the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig
    ?
     
  6. daniel5455

    daniel5455 New Member

    ###################################
    #
    # ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
    # Version 1.0
    #
    ###################################
    #
    NameVirtualHost localip:80
    <VirtualHost localip:80>
    ServerName localhost
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
    RewriteRule .* - [F]
    </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    NameVirtualHost localip:80
    <VirtualHost localip:80>
    ServerName localhost
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
    RewriteRule .* - [F]
    </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #
    ######################################
    # Vhost: www.domainnameA.com:80
    ######################################
    #
    #
    <VirtualHost localIP:80>
    ServerName www.domainnameA.com:80
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    DocumentRoot /var/www/web11/web
    ServerAlias domainnameA.com
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
    Alias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web11/cgi-bin/
    AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
    AddHandler cgi-script .pl
    ErrorLog /var/www/web11/log/error.log
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
    php_admin_flag safe_mode On
    php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web11/
    php_admin_value file_uploads 1
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web11/phptmp/
    php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web11/phptmp/
    <IfModule mod_ruby.c>
    <Directory /var/www/web11/web>
    Options +ExecCGI
    </Directory>
    RubyRequire apache/ruby-run
    #RubySafeLevel 0
    <Files *.rb>
    SetHandler ruby-object
    RubyHandler Apache::RubyRun.instance
    </Files>
    <Files *.rbx>
    SetHandler ruby-object
    RubyHandler Apache::RubyRun.instance
    </Files>
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule mod_python.c>
    <Directory /var/www/web11/web>
    Options +Indexes +FollowSymLinks +MultiViews
    AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
    Order allow,deny
    allow from all
    AddHandler mod_python .py
    PythonHandler mod_python.publisher
    PythonDebug On
    </Directory>
    </IfModule>
    Alias /error/ "/var/www/web11/web/error/"
    ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
    AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web11/user/$1/web/$3
    AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web11/user/$1/web/$3
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
    RewriteRule .* - [F]
    </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #

    Output of Ifconfig

    [[email protected] ~]# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr localmac
    inet addr:localip Bcast:localbcast Mask:localmask
    inet6 addr: fe80::210:b5ff:fee3:b1e5/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:158 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:124 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:16770 (16.3 KiB) TX bytes:19866 (19.4 KiB)
    Interrupt:22 Base address:0xf00

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr publicMaC
    inet addr:publicIP Bcast:publicBcast Mask:publicMask
    inet6 addr: fe80::202:e3ff:fe3f:bab1/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:162 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:320 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:58350 (56.9 KiB) TX bytes:40794 (39.8 KiB)
    Interrupt:19

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2804 (2.7 KiB) TX bytes:2804 (2.7 KiB)


    Thanks in advanced.
     
  7. daniel5455

    daniel5455 New Member

    i figured out my issue. I added my public ip to the list of ip addresses and them went to each of my sites and changed the ip to the public one and now they work.
     
  8. JaRoHe

    JaRoHe New Member

    I am having the same problem/issue stated in several of the posts in this thread. When entering http://www.mydomain.net the page that is being brought up is the 'Test Page for the Apache HTTP Server on Fedora'.

    My Installation:
    I followed the howto 'Perfect Server - Fedora 9', installation was error free to my knowledge. I created a client & website through the ISPConfig console, I am able to upload files via CoreFTP.


    My: Vhosts_ispconfig.conf

    ###################################
    #
    # ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
    # Version 1.0
    #
    ###################################
    #
    NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.201:80
    <VirtualHost 192.168.1.201:80>
    ServerName localhost
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
    RewriteRule .* - [F]
    </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #
    ######################################
    # Vhost: www.mydomain.net:80
    ######################################
    #
    #
    <VirtualHost 192.168.1.201:80>
    ServerName www.mydomain.net:80
    ServerAdmin [email protected]
    DocumentRoot /var/www/web1/web
    ServerAlias mydomain.net
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
    Alias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web1/cgi-bin/
    AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
    AddHandler cgi-script .pl
    ErrorLog /var/www/web1/log/error.log
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
    php_admin_flag safe_mode On
    php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web1/
    php_admin_value file_uploads 1
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web1/phptmp/
    php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web1/phptmp/
    <IfModule mod_ruby.c>
    <Directory /var/www/web1/web>
    Options +ExecCGI
    </Directory>
    RubyRequire apache/ruby-run
    #RubySafeLevel 0
    <Files *.rb>
    SetHandler ruby-object
    RubyHandler Apache::RubyRun.instance
    </Files>
    <Files *.rbx>
    SetHandler ruby-object
    RubyHandler Apache::RubyRun.instance
    </Files>
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule mod_python.c>
    <Directory /var/www/web1/web>
    Options +Indexes +FollowSymLinks +MultiViews
    AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
    Order allow,deny
    allow from all
    AddHandler mod_python .py
    PythonHandler mod_python.publisher
    PythonDebug On
    </Directory>
    </IfModule>
    AddType text/html .shtml
    AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
    Alias /error/ "/var/www/web1/web/error/"
    ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
    AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
    AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
    RewriteRule .* - [F]
    </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    #
    #

    <<<<================================================>>>>

    My: ifconfig


    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:41:15:39:A7:6F
    inet addr:192.168.1.201 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::240:5ff:fe39:a76f/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:626539 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:346097 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:229868 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:769353038 (733.7 MiB) TX bytes:33444010 (31.8 MiB)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:30057 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:30057 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2996402 (2.8 MiB) TX bytes:2996402 (2.8 MiB)


    <<<<================================================>>>>


    Any help would be greatly appreciated...

    Thanks in advance...
     
  9. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Is Vhosts_ispconfig.conf included at the end of your httpd.conf?
     
  10. JaRoHe

    JaRoHe New Member

    I have two httpd.conf files
    [1] /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
    [2] /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    The /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf file includes in the last line in the file:

    Include /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf


    Is this as it is supposed to be?


    Thanks...
     
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    That's ok. Are you trying to connect from the local network or from the Internet?
     
  12. JaRoHe

    JaRoHe New Member

    Local Network

    ISP
    |
    Ext. IP Address
    |
    NetGear Router (NAT)
    |
    ISPConfig Server (192.168.1.201)


    Am I having a DNS issue? Can ISPConfig be ran without having an internal DNS server? I only have one external IP address coming in from the outside. Can I use external DNS servers?


    Thanks...
     
  13. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Can you check if the DNS record is ok?
    Code:
    dig yourdomain.com
    dig www.yourdomain.com
     
  14. JaRoHe

    JaRoHe New Member

    DNS appears to be fine...

    Any other thoughts... maybe I should delete the current website & client and reconfigure the site from scratch?

    Will removing the website and client from ISPConfig console suffice or do I need to manually remove anything else... directories, configuration files, other?

    Thanks...
     
  15. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    If you want to delete a website completely, dont forget to empty the recycle bin in ispconfig.
     
  16. JaRoHe

    JaRoHe New Member

    Resolved!!!

    Removing the website & client and then re-creating them seems to have fixed it for me... not sure what I did differently setting up the second (re-created) account than I did setting up the first (original) account. I guess what matters most is that it worked.

    One other thing I had to do was reboot the server... I could not get httpd to restart via # service httpd restart

    Thanks for everyones support on this matter...

    FIXED!!!
     

Share This Page