ShellUser Directory Rights to start apps via ssh -X

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by h2fpirate, Mar 2, 2014.

1. h2fpirate

h2fpirate New Member

Set ShellUser Directory Rights to start apps via ssh -X

Hello,
    I'm relatively new to ispconfig and I really like it ... everything installed and works fine for me (quad server installation WEB/MAIL/NS1/NS2). Thanks to the manual I bought :)
    Now I'd like to do some customizations. I tried a few days and now I decided to get help, because I do not get anywhere besides into troubles :(

The thought: How cool would be that if I can start emacs via ssh -X on my local machine and it would feel like having the complete Programming environment handy and setup -> no ftp, no mounts no syncronisation issues. just working and turning off my local machine. next time start from where you left. :) , this can become true if....this final problem can be solved. (of course there are other possible solution, but I'd like to start off with that easy one)

A shelluser is created and of course now we need a little bit more customized directory structure, at least for emacs environment (.emacs.d Directory). I could only set it up by logging in as root and removing the i attrib via chattr -i
    from the web directory. Now I could start the commandline version. Still not enough... (additional folders and create rights in $HOME of the shelluser would be cool as well and the next step is the automated creation of Dirstructure on Shelluser which leads me to the next question (what do I have to modify or do I have to write an addon? how do I do this).

The main thing now is to redirect .Xauthority to be created in
    ~/tmp directory if I start apps like ssh -X isp-server emacs, or at least
    allow it to be created in $HOME, where the user can not do anything
    by default.