server shutdown now ip changed and sites arent working properly

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Jrdgames, Apr 17, 2006.

  1. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    Hi, There was a power outage in my area and it shut my server down now the ip has changed from what it was, I got that problem fixed by changing the port forwarding on my router but now my hosted websites arent running properly, if you go to runecore.selfip.com:82 you will see that it shows "Index of /" instead of going to the folder "runecore.selfip.com/" Can someone help me fix this? I probably need to change some settings in isp config to show that it is running on a different ip.

    Also could someone help me get my server to work on static ip? If I change it to static then I can't access the internet :( I don't know why that is.

    EDIT- php doesnt seam to be running either.(example)
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2006
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    Why did you set up a server with DHCP?

    Which distribution do you use? Did you have a look at the appropriate "Perfect Setup" for your distribution on HowtoForge? They have a section discussing the network setup.
     
  3. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    EDIT- I got it to work on static now. (hooray!) I set it up with DHCP because thats what it did automaticaly.
    I am using Ubuntu, I did read the perfect setup.

    Can someone help me set programs to start when the server does?
    And help me restart php?
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2006
  4. till

    till Super Moderator

    DHCP is the default in Ubuny, thats why i described how to configure a static IP in the howto :) DHCP is not suited for a server if you do not run your DHCP server that it assigns always the same IP to your server.

    Which daemon does not start at boot. All daemons installed by the perfect setup are installed to run at boot.
     
  5. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    Im not sure which daemon isnt starting at boot but here is my list of running proccesses if that wil help.

    Code:
      PID TTY          TIME CMD
        1 ?        00:00:04 init
        2 ?        00:00:00 ksoftirqd/0
        3 ?        00:00:00 events/0
        4 ?        00:00:00 khelper
        5 ?        00:00:00 kthread
       20 ?        00:00:00 kblockd/0
       62 ?        00:00:00 pdflush
       63 ?        00:00:00 pdflush
       65 ?        00:00:00 aio/0
       64 ?        00:00:02 kswapd0
      655 ?        00:00:00 kseriod
      881 ?        00:00:00 scsi_eh_0
     1878 ?        00:00:00 khubd
     3021 ?        00:00:01 kjournald
     3211 ?        00:00:00 udevd
     4793 ?        00:00:00 kjournald
     4808 ?        00:00:02 kjournald
     5536 ?        00:00:00 kgameportd
     6169 ?        00:00:00 dd
     6171 ?        00:00:00 klogd
     6184 ?        00:00:00 dbus-daemon
     6197 ?        00:00:01 hald
     6208 ?        00:00:35 hald-addon-stor
     6248 ?        00:00:00 gdm
     6255 ?        00:00:01 gdm
     6302 ?        01:39:27 Xorg
     6363 ?        00:00:00 hpiod
     6379 ?        00:00:15 python
     6407 ?        00:00:00 kapmd
     6426 ?        00:00:00 apmd
     6446 ?        00:00:00 courierlogger
     6447 ?        00:00:00 authdaemond.pla
     6452 ?        00:00:00 authdaemond.pla
     6453 ?        00:00:00 authdaemond.pla
     6458 ?        00:00:00 authdaemond.pla
     6459 ?        00:00:00 authdaemond.pla
     6460 ?        00:00:00 authdaemond.pla
     6468 ?        00:00:00 couriertcpd
     6476 ?        00:00:00 courierlogger
     6493 ?        00:00:00 couriertcpd
     6499 ?        00:00:00 courierlogger
     6511 ?        00:00:00 couriertcpd
     6513 ?        00:00:00 courierlogger
     6534 ?        00:00:00 couriertcpd
     6536 ?        00:00:00 courierlogger
     6576 ?        00:00:00 mysqld_safe
     6612 ?        00:00:00 mysqld_safe
     6613 ?        00:08:07 mysqld
     6614 ?        00:00:00 logger
     6872 ?        00:00:00 saslauthd
     6874 ?        00:00:00 saslauthd
     6875 ?        00:00:00 saslauthd
     6876 ?        00:00:00 saslauthd
     6877 ?        00:00:00 saslauthd
     6890 ?        00:00:00 sshd
     6905 ?        00:00:00 hcid
     6911 ?        00:00:00 sdpd
     6921 ?        00:00:00 krfcommd
     6961 ?        00:00:00 atd
     6974 ?        00:00:00 cron
     7030 ?        00:00:02 ispconfig_httpd
     7031 ?        00:00:34 ispconfig_wconf
     7036 ?        00:00:03 ispconfig_httpd
     7201 ?        00:00:00 named
     7221 ?        00:00:00 freshclam
     7227 tty1     00:00:00 getty
     7228 tty2     00:00:00 getty
     7229 tty3     00:00:00 getty
     7230 tty4     00:00:00 getty
     7231 tty5     00:00:00 getty
     7232 tty6     00:00:00 getty
     7255 ?        00:00:02 x-session-manag
     7293 ?        00:00:00 ssh-agent
     7296 ?        00:00:00 dbus-launch
     7297 ?        00:00:00 dbus-daemon
     7299 ?        00:00:08 gconfd-2
     7302 ?        00:00:00 gnome-keyring-d
     7306 ?        00:00:00 bonobo-activati
     7310 ?        00:00:05 gnome-settings-
     7312 ?        00:00:03 vino-server
     7315 ?        00:00:08 gam_server
     7353 ?        00:00:51 metacity
     7359 ?        00:00:15 gnome-panel
     7361 ?        00:02:06 nautilus
     7363 ?        00:00:00 gnome-volume-ma
     7367 ?        00:00:35 wnck-applet
     7369 ?        00:00:02 trashapplet
     7373 ?        00:00:03 update-notifier
     7378 ?        00:00:00 gnome-vfs-daemo
     7381 ?        00:01:24 gnome-cups-icon
     7383 ?        00:00:00 notification-da
     7395 ?        00:00:00 mapping-daemon
     7403 ?        00:00:17 clock-applet
     7406 ?        00:00:00 notification-ar
     7408 ?        00:00:02 mixer_applet2
     7423 ?        02:53:07 gnome-system-mo
     7463 ?        00:00:15 gnome-terminal
     7468 ?        00:00:00 gnome-pty-helpe
     7469 pts/0    00:00:00 bash
     7480 pts/1    00:00:00 bash
     7567 ?        00:00:22 gedit
     7659 pts/0    00:00:03 ventrilo_srv
     7700 pts/1    00:00:03 ventrilo_srv
    10604 pts/2    00:00:00 bash
    10825 ?        00:12:24 firefox-bin
    10976 ?        00:00:09 ispconfig_httpd
    24696 ?        00:00:23 gnome-search-to
     2400 ?        00:00:06 apache2
     2404 ?        00:00:00 cronolog
     2434 ?        00:00:00 apache2
     2435 ?        00:00:00 apache2
     2436 ?        00:00:00 apache2
     2437 ?        00:00:00 apache2
     2439 ?        00:00:00 apache2
    15769 ?        00:00:00 apache2
    15770 ?        00:00:00 apache2
    27225 ?        00:00:00 proftpd
    27313 ?        00:00:00 master
    29837 pts/3    00:00:00 bash
    29875 ?        00:00:00 qmgr
    30129 ?        00:00:00 dhclient3
     6811 ?        00:00:08 cupsd
     6969 ?        00:00:00 syslogd
    12945 ?        00:00:00 pickup
    14875 ?        00:00:00 sleep
    14877 pts/3    00:00:00 ps
     
  6. till

    till Super Moderator

    This looks fine. Why do you think that a daemon is not running:confused:
     
  7. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    Because my forums are not showing up properly, they just show the code.
    Also I think something in ispconfig or apache must not be working properly because my domain (runecore.selfip.com:82) brings me to "Index of /" which displays the contents of /var/www instead of bringing me to /var/www/runecore.selfip.com/web
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    This means that PHP is not enabled for that web site; it doesn't mean that a damon is failing to run.

    Any errors during ISPConfig installation? Which distribution do you use? Any errors in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log?
     
  9. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    I just checked in ISPConfig and it is enabled.

    Any errors during ISPConfig installation? No
    Which distribution do you use? Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy Badger
    Any errors in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log? No

    It was working fine up until the 18th then the power went out and when my server came back on it was messed up, Ubuntu runs fine and the 2 voip servers i am running on it, also apache is showing webpages so it must be something with php.
     
  10. till

    till Super Moderator

    1) Check the Vhosts_ispconfig.conf and post the vhost of one website where PHP fails.
    2) Check your httpd configuration, if the mod_php module is loaded.
    3) Did you get errors in the apache error log?
     
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    Please make sure your server has the same IP address as before the power failure.
     
  12. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    I figured out what the problem was after till made this post, I looked through Vhosts_ispconfig.conf, and I found that I needed to change the IP address there also.

    Before change:
    Code:
    ######################################
    # Vhost: runecore.selfip.com:80
    ######################################
    #
    #
    <VirtualHost 192.168.1.103:80>
    ServerName runecore.selfip.com:80
    ServerAdmin webmaster@selfip.com
    DocumentRoot /var/www/web5/web
    ServerAlias selfip.com
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
    ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web5/cgi-bin/
    AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
    AddHandler cgi-script .pl
    ErrorLog /var/www/web5/log/error.log
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
    <Files *.php>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php3>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php4>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php5>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    php_admin_flag safe_mode On
    php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web5/
    php_admin_value file_uploads 1
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web5/phptmp/
    php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web5/phptmp/
    AddType text/html .shtml
    AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
    Alias /error/ "/var/www/web5/web/error/"
    ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
    AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web5/user/$1/web/$3
    AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web5/user/$1/web/$3
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    Output of ifconfig to confirm IP address:
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:C0:4F:A3:73:0A
              inet addr:192.168.1.102  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::2c0:4fff:fea3:730a/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:148415 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:147870 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:185 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:78399131 (74.7 MiB)  TX bytes:35866317 (34.2 MiB)
              Interrupt:19 Base address:0xecc0
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:2419087 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:2419087 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:185122110 (176.5 MiB)  TX bytes:185122110 (176.5 MiB)
    
    After change:
    Code:
    ######################################
    # Vhost: runecore.selfip.com:80
    ######################################
    #
    #
    <VirtualHost 192.168.1.102:80>
    ServerName runecore.selfip.com:80
    ServerAdmin webmaster@selfip.com
    DocumentRoot /var/www/web5/web
    ServerAlias selfip.com
    DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
    ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web5/cgi-bin/
    AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
    AddHandler cgi-script .pl
    ErrorLog /var/www/web5/log/error.log
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
    <Files *.php>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php3>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php4>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    <Files *.php5>
        SetOutputFilter PHP
        SetInputFilter PHP
    </Files>
    php_admin_flag safe_mode On
    php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web5/
    php_admin_value file_uploads 1
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web5/phptmp/
    php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web5/phptmp/
    AddType text/html .shtml
    AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
    Alias /error/ "/var/www/web5/web/error/"
    ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
    AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web5/user/$1/web/$3
    AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web5/user/$1/web/$3
    </VirtualHost>
    #
    I have now changed all of the Vhost IP addresses to be correct.

    I do not think I have the mod_php module loaded.
    I could not find the apache error log.

    That would have worked also. didn't think to do that but it seems to be fixed now, Thankyou very much both of you! :)
     
  13. falko

    falko Super Moderator

    Code:
    <VirtualHost 192.168.1.102:80>
    ServerName runecore.selfip.com:80
    ServerAdmin webmaster@selfip.com
    runecore.selfip.com is running on port 80. Didn't you say that you use port 82?
     
  14. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    I am running it on 82 but to simplify things im just having my router send incoming requests on 82 sent to my server on 80
     
  15. till

    till Super Moderator

    Do not chnge IP addresses in the Vhost_ispconfig.conf file directly! All chneges will be lost when you use ISPConfig the next time. Chanege the IP address in the ISPConfig interface under management > server > settings and then in the settings of all of your websites.
     
  16. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    ISPConfig still thinks that it is running on 192.168.1.103, Maybe I should just makje the servers IP address be 192.168.1.103 which it was before, then everything should run fine. You think?
     
  17. falko

    falko Super Moderator

  18. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    ok. I have changed the servers IP address to 192.168.1.103 and changed it in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf so it should now read how it did before i started changing the ip, but im now getting the index of page again when going to runecore.selfip.com:82 any ideas?
     
  19. till

    till Super Moderator

    Does your router forwards traffic from port 82 to 192.168.1.103:80 ?
     
  20. Jrdgames

    Jrdgames New Member

    yes all traphic is properly forwarded- it seems to be working right now, weird I didnt realy do anything.
     

Share This Page