Secondary NS Problem

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by MarciPain, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. MarciPain

    MarciPain New Member

    Hi!
    I created a cluster with 3 node ns1(bind9) ns2(bind9) web.
    And i logged in with client account cannot select secondary ns,
    Dropdown list not found.
    If i logged in with admin account list presented.
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Then everything is as it should. The mirroring is done automatically between primary and secondary dns in ispconfig by selecting "Is mirror of server" in ispconfig under Server > services. This automatically disables the secondary in the list because if a client would add a record to the secondary manually, the duplicate record would cause bind to fail as the record is already mirrored automatically.
     
  3. MarciPain

    MarciPain New Member

    How its works?
    Create sec zone on the mirror server, orr replicating the primary?
     
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The secondary ns is mirroring automatically every record that you add to the primary server. Please see step 7 of this tutorial:

    http://www.howtoforge.com/installin...ase-servers-on-debian-5.0-with-ispconfig-3-p3

     
  5. MarciPain

    MarciPain New Member

    I make this modifications, ns2 empty.
     
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You made this before you added the dns record in ns1?

    Then there is a problem with the connection between the ispconfig installations. You did the install of the servers exactly as described in that tutorial by editing the /etc/hosts files on all servers first before you installed the software and you used the hostnames as instructed for the database connections and not IP addresses? IP's wont work for that.
     
  7. MarciPain

    MarciPain New Member

    No!
    I only modify the records, (too many zones in the db) not possible to sync?
     
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

  9. MarciPain

    MarciPain New Member

    Almost good, always recreating my deleted sec zones:(
     
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The system processes all steps in order. So if you created sec zones and then deleted them, it will create the sec zones on the master, they get created on the slave as well and then they get deleted afterwards. So thats no problem, it indicates that the sync system is working.
     

Share This Page