Restore a deleted database

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by aldo, Aug 4, 2016.

  1. aldo

    aldo Member HowtoForge Supporter

    Can the "Restore" button (in Web Domain > Backup > Existing backup) restore a deleted database?
    It seems like no.
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    No, when a database is deleted then it has been completely removed. You have to create a new database. If you have a backup file of the old database contents, then you can reimport that e.g. with phpmyadmin.
  3. aldo

    aldo Member HowtoForge Supporter

    Thank you Till, I imagined.
    In this situation pressing "Restore" button you get the warning:
    "Restoring will overwrite existing files in your website. Do you really want to restore this backup?"
    and choosing "Ok" you get the message:
    "Restore of the backup has been started. This action takes several minutes to be completed."
    but the restore cannot be done.
    Perhaps it would be more clear not give these messages.
    Alternatively, still existing the user of database, it might be possible to recreate the empty DB and then proceed with the restore.
    These are just suggestions for future versions.

Share This Page