Problems with clamscan after upgrading to ISPConfig-2.2.10

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by wheatie, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. wheatie

    wheatie New Member

    Accidently posted this in the wrong form so here I am posting it again :)


    After upgrading I am now getting the following email headers on all inbound
    emails. Unable to find anything usefull in server logs...


    X-Virus-Status: Failed
    X-Virus-Report: /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/bin/clamscan error 40
    X-Virus-Checker-Version: clamassassin 1.2.3 with clamscan / ClamAV 0.90/2631/Thu Feb 22 15:33:11 2007

    After googling i've found the following info..

    http://www.gossamer-threads.com/lists/clamav/users/29150


    I guess my questions is... will following those instructions fix this issue, and is this a common or known problem.
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Please try the instructions if they fix your problem and report back. I have not heard of the probelm yet.
     
  3. porjo

    porjo New Member

    I was getting that identical error also.

    I followed the instruction in the google link about changing the clamassassin file i.e:

    File /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/bin/clamassassin

    CLAMSCANOPT="--no-summary --stdout --mbox"

    Change this to:

    CLAMSCANOPT="--no-summary --stdout"


    That appears to have fixed the issue. My email header now shows:

    X-Virus-Status: No
    X-Virus-Checker-Version: clamassassin 1.2.3 with clamscan / ClamAV 0.90/2631/Thu Feb 22 16:33:11 2007
    Status: O
     
  4. wheatie

    wheatie New Member

    Yes this does appear to fix the issue.
     
  5. Herbert

    Herbert New Member

    Here the same problem, i fixed the bug.
     
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    I will make a official patch for this. It looks as the clamassassin devs know the problem, but they havent released a new version yet.

    I really dont know why the clamav guys let a operation fail when a commandline option is added that was valid in the prior version of clamav instead of giving a deprecated message :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2007
  7. Hans

    Hans Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Within /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/bin/clamassassin i changed that line too. After changing, I can confirm that it is working indeed.

    Thanks for the info!
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    I've added it to the ISPConfig bugtracker.
     
  9. Ben

    Ben ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    Had the sam on my Debian Sarge.
    I changed that file. Do i have to restart any service?
    Cause changing this line results in error 50 (Database initialization error.).
    Which Database and how can I fix this?
     
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    No. Normally not.

    Please run:

    Code:
    /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/bin/freshclam -d -c 10 --datadir=/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/share/clamav
    I guess your cronjobs are not working at all as I posted in your thread with your stats problems which may cause this problem here too.
     
  11. Ben

    Ben ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    My stats are working fine now, it was a problem inside webalizer, if I remember right ;)
    Are these crons all I need, especially for the update?
    Back to the problem, I tried it with --debug --verbose and it looks like that it can not connect to database.clamav.net whyever in the world.
    But it seems that this is a clamav-server problem... local firewall does not block anything.
    Argl. firewall only allowed user root to open and http clientconnection :-\
    Sorry.....

    But that was only one thing ;)
    Removed everything from /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/tools/clamav/share/clamav after reading http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showpost.php?p=37382&postcount=4
    updated again and now everythign is fine.

    So the only open questions is do my cronjobs listed above fit to update clamav?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2007
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    The cron jobs are ok, but ClamAV isn't updated by a cron job, but by the freshclam daemon (you should see it when you run
    Code:
    ps aux
    ).
     
  13. Ben

    Ben ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    Actually not. I startet it now manually.
    But if ones rebooting an ispconfig manageg machine, who cares about freshclamd to start then?
     
  14. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The freshclam daemon is started by the ispconfig_server script automatically when ISPConfig is started.
     

Share This Page