please help newbie with fedora

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by seanheng, Jul 18, 2006.

  1. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    Hello Everyone

    I've been playing with fedora 5 for days now installing and reinstalling looking at how to instructions and I found the one on this site and it was fairly easy to follow and I've done everything I think correct.. the problem I have is I can't seem to be able to view my webpage with the url name in the install I used server.seanhost.com as manual name. I am able to connect to ispconfig site with 192.168.1.110:81 and the website with 192.168.1.110 but can't get on with http://server.seanhost.com:81 or http://server.seanhost.com
    I have a netgear router which I've forwarded port 80 and also a no-ip domain which I've forwarded port 80 so why cant I get on the webpage?

    thanks in advance
     
  2. E.L. Hibee

    E.L. Hibee New Member

    Last edited: Jul 19, 2006
  3. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    server.seanhost.com doesn't exist:

    Code:
    dig server.seanhost.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> server.seanhost.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 19245
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;server.seanhost.com.           IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    seanhost.com.           10800   IN      SOA     ns1.seanhost.com. iwe4email.yahoo.com. 2006060802 86400 7200 3600000 86400
    
    ;; Query time: 263 msec
    ;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
    ;; WHEN: Wed Jul 19 14:20:34 2006
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 93
    You must create an A record for it first.

    Also, you must forward port 81 from your router to your ISPConfig system.
     
  4. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    A record

    hello

    I apologize to sound dumb what is an A record?
     
  5. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

  6. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    read and still confused

    thanks again for all the helps

    I read through the guide on trandition dns but i am still lost on how to connect to the internet with apache i followed the fedora 5 howto and it went in all flawlessly thanks to falko's guide so what do i need to do with the zones and binds ?


    thanks
     
  7. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    You must create an A record for server.seanhost.com on ns1.seanhost.com (this is the authoritative name server for the domain).
    If you run ISPConfig on ns1.seanhost.com, then this one might also help you: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
     
  8. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    ok reinstalled fedora

    hello again

    Ok I reinstalled fc5 with the perfect setup and I have domain register at no-ip.com as thewaytruthandlife.net dig thewaytruthandlife.net shows what you posted on the other replies but i dont know how to get my website up still

    what am i missing and confused

    thanks again for the help im learning
     
  9. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What exactly is the problem now?
    When I connect to http://thewaytruthandlife.net/, I get this in Firefox:

    Seems there's something wrong... Why does it show port 1234?
     
  10. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    port 1234

    hello again

    the reason it says thewaytruthandlife.net:1234 is because i register at no-ip.com and forward port 80 to 1234 on my netgear router but ive opened port 1234 on my router but still doesnt work
     
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    You must then forward port 1234 from your router to port 80 on your server.
    But you will always see the shared IP page then; you must not forward a domain from no-ip to another domain/IPaddress.
    Now thewaytruthandlife.net points to 204.16.252.98:

    Code:
    dig thewaytruthandlife.net
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> thewaytruthandlife.net
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27896
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;thewaytruthandlife.net.                IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    thewaytruthandlife.net. 60      IN      A       [B][COLOR="Red"]204.16.252.98[/COLOR][/B]
    
    ;; Query time: 78 msec
    ;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
    ;; WHEN: Tue Jul 25 13:15:20 2006
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 56
    and you've forwarded it to 64.195.72.81 (your router). Instead of this, you must change thewaytruthandlife.net's DNS record so that it points directly to 64.195.72.81
     
  12. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    sorry to be a bother

    hello again

    sorry to be a bother but where do i find that file to edit for the A record?

    ive search and cannot find the one that says thewaytruthandlife.net A 204.*.*

    ANSWER SECTION:
     
  13. Destroyer

    Destroyer New Member

    some basics that may have been missed

    Hi guys,

    Here are some basics:

    The no-ip address thewaytruthandlife.net is missing your subdomain section. It would be somthing like seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net when i look this up i get all the no-ip dns servers:

    [[email protected] ~]# dig seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net

    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 20642
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 5, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net. 60 IN A 204.16.252.98

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns4.no-ip.com.
    thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns5.no-ip.com.
    thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns1.no-ip.com.
    thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns2.no-ip.com.
    thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns3.no-ip.com.

    This therefor is you dynamic ip address 204.16.252.98 if so when looking for your host site you should use http://seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net

    also login to no-ip again and point it to your routers ip address then look below


    if you are using a client on your local network to check your home page ensure that its name servers are pointing to the Fedora server as not all DNS severs will hold records for your domain.

    if checking from the fedora machine check that the first name server is the ip of its self eg Primary DNS 192.168.1.2 Secondary DNS 203.10.89.7 Note change the IPS to suit.

    These actions will for the use of your dns server on the Fedora Server first where hopefully your records are being held.

    Note a lot of cheap routers do not like clients being redirected back to its self then to a virtual server

    Hope this helps :D

    Destroyer
    http://www.lacomputers.com.au
     
  14. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    please help with dns

    hello falko and everyone else trying to help me understand

    ok i read the howto on traditional dns so what i get is i need to edit my named.conf
    and this is what i did from the default one of the installation
    //
    // a caching only nameserver config
    //
    controls {
    inet 127.0.0.1 allow { localhost; } keys { rndckey; };
    };

    zone "." IN {
    type hint;
    file "named.ca";
    };

    zone "localdomain" IN {
    type master;
    file "localdomain.zone";
    allow-update { none; };
    };
    zone "localhost" IN {
    type master;
    file "localhost.zone";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" IN {
    type master;
    file "named.local";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    zone "0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.ip6.arpa" I$ type master;
    file "named.ip6.local";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    zone "255.in-addr.arpa" IN {
    type master;
    file "named.broadcast";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    zone "0.in-addr.arpa" IN {
    type master;
    file "named.zero";
    allow-update { none; };
    };
    // i added this after reading the howto on traditional dns
    zone "72.195.64.in-addr.arpa" IN {
    type master;
    file "seanhostip.zone";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    zone "seanhostings.com" IN {
    type master;
    file "seanhost.zone";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    include "/etc/rndc.key";


    then i created the seanhostip and seanhost zones
    seanhost.zone looks like this
    $TTL 86400
    @ IN SOA games.seanhostings.com. root.localhost (
    42 ; serial (d. adams)
    3H ; refresh
    15M ; retry
    1W ; expiry
    1D ) ; minimum
    IN NS games.seanhostings.com
    seanhostings.com IN A 64.195.72.81
    www IN A 64.195.72.81
    games IN A 64.195.72.81

    seanhostip.zone looks like this
    $TTL 86400
    @ IN SOA games.seanhostings.com. root.localhost. (
    1997022700 ; Serial
    28800 ; Refresh
    14400 ; Retry
    3600000 ; Expire
    86400 ) ; Minimum
    IN NS games.seanhostings.com.
    81 IN PTR games.seanhostings.com.


    please help me if i am missing something or is going the wrong way

    thanks
     
  15. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's the exact problem?

    This should be
    Code:
    $TTL    86400
    @               IN SOA  games.seanhostings.com.  root.localhost[B][COLOR="Red"].[/COLOR][/B] (
                                            42              ; serial (d. adams)
                                            3H              ; refresh
                                            15M             ; retry
                                            1W              ; expiry
                                            1D )            ; minimum
                            IN NS           games.seanhostings.com[B][COLOR="Red"].[/COLOR][/B]
    seanhostings.com[B][COLOR="Red"].[/COLOR][/B]        IN A            64.195.72.81
    www                     IN A            64.195.72.81
    games                   IN A            64.195.72.81
     
  16. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    falko

    hello falko

    the problem with it is that i cant connect to the server with http://www.seanhostings.com or anything with seanhostings.com

    i've tried everything

    dig seanhostings.com

    it doesn't give the result how the howto traditional dns gives
     
  17. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, because you didn't define name servers for the domain and therefore don't have A records:

    Code:
    mh1:~# dig seanhostings.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> seanhostings.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 45444
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;seanhostings.com.              IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    com.                    900     IN      SOA     a.gtld-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1156475939 1800 900 604800 900
    
    ;; Query time: 191 msec
    ;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Aug 25 05:19:28 2006
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 107
    
    mh1:~# dig ns seanhostings.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> ns seanhostings.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 34875
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;seanhostings.com.              IN      NS
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    com.                    894     IN      SOA     a.gtld-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1156475939 1800 900 604800 900
    
    ;; Query time: 2 msec
    ;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Aug 25 05:19:34 2006
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 107
     
  18. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    name server

    hello falko

    what is this name server you are talking about i followed what the howto described.. can you give me an example what to do?

    thanks
     
  19. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    When you register a domain you have to specify at least two name servers that are authoritative for the domain, and on those name servers you create the DNS records for the domain.
    Normally your registrar gives you a web interface where you can manage the name server settings. There you can set new or other name servers.
    Also have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
    http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
     
  20. seanheng

    seanheng New Member

    name servers

    hello falko

    so i have to register a domain name like no-ip or godaddy?
    isnt the dns howto setup allow me to run something like those sites?
     

Share This Page