Perfect setup Joomla with ISPConfig ?

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by bogdinator, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Hello folks,
    i was going along lucky with ISPConfig for a couple of month but now I need to install CMS. I browsed through the forum and came to the conclusion that I would like to have Joomla. Is there something like "The Perfect Setup of Joomla for Suse9.3 and ISPConfig :rolleyes: " I found one thread in forum dealing with problems during the installation but I can't really use is as howto for the installation.

    Thanks you
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    I do not know of such a howto.

    But generally its really simple:

    1) Create a website in ISPConfig where you have php enabled. Joomla has some problems with safemode, so you might consider to let php safemode disabled.

    2) Go to the web directory of the site and install joomla according to their installation instructions. Dont use an rpm package, take the tar.gz package.
     
  3. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Thanks for the hint. Originally I thought one should do it with the update manager of ISPConfig.
    Thnaks!
     
  4. Hi Bogdinator,
    I'm using joomla with a server running ispconfig, everything is fine, it's working perfectlly.
    The only negative aspect is that joomla doesn't support the safe mode as said till. But this is not the fault of ispconfig :)

    Best regards and happy joomla,

    JJ
     
  5. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Thanks for the hint jeanjacquesjeanjacques.
    Just out of interest - what would you (you as anybody who reads this thread ;) ) recomend as a CMS which is ment to be the webportal of an academic department? I have some experience with PHPNuke but I did like it a couple of years ago... not any more :)
     
  6. Apparently we have some common interests ;)

    Actually i'm using joomla to create two websites of research departments in the university where i work.
    To my mind joomla is definitively the way to go. If you feel more adventurous you could also try ruby on rails wich is also very interesting but lacking of a working cms now.
    I'm afraid that we are a bit off topic now, oups.
    By the way it would be nice to have ispconfig support lighttpd.
     
  7. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    You could also try Typo3 and Drupal.
     
  8. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Well I did go for Joomla (it is allways possible to change :eek: )
    BUT...
    after i did come to the step where I call the browser and the system checks it's read and write permissions lots of red collor messages filled my screen.
    For example /home/www/web6/phptmp/ is not writable for joomla - why?
    and all this sfuff
    Code:
    administrator/backups/  Unwriteable
      administrator/components/  Unwriteable
      administrator/modules/  Unwriteable
      administrator/templates/  Unwriteable
      cache/  Unwriteable
      components/  Unwriteable
      images/  Unwriteable
      images/banners/  Unwriteable
      images/stories/  Unwriteable
      language/  Unwriteable
      mambots/  Unwriteable
      mambots/content/  Unwriteable
      mambots/editors/  Unwriteable
      mambots/editors-xtd/  Unwriteable
      mambots/search/  Unwriteable
      media/  Unwriteable
      modules/  Unwriteable
      templates/  Unwriteable
    DO I REALLY NEED TO MAKE IT WRITABLE FOR JOOMLA. Why is it not writable by default if CMS systems need it? Is is dangerous to make it all writable? Too many questions...:eek:
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2006
  9. --::wizZzard::--

    --::wizZzard::-- New Member

    Typo3 is afine thing if you know how to handle it! When my "mail problem" is solved i am on typo3 myself. install is quite simple. but i haven't gone deeper yet.
     
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    This directory is writable for the webserver, so it must be writable for joomla too.

    please post the output of:

    ls -la /home/www/web6/phptmp/



    Thst depend on what you host on your server. If your server is only for your own websites, then you can simply set the directories world writable. If not, you should consider running PHP as cgi with SuExec.
     
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Í think the problem is that /home/www/web6/web belongs to the admin user you created for that web and the web group, but not to the Apache user and group. That's why Apache can't write to this directory.

    You can either make this directory world-writable (chmod 777), or you make a
    Code:
    chown <Apache_user>:<Apache_group> /home/www/web6/web
     
  12. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Here is the output you wanted till
    Code:
    ls -la /home/www/web6/phptmp/
    total 0
    drwxrwxrwx  2 bruce web6  80 2006-01-13 23:59 .
    drwxr-xr-x  9 bruce web6 368 2006-01-17 18:10 ..
    -r--------  1 root  root   0 2005-12-20 13:17 .no_delete
    
    bruce is the user I set up as web admin.
    out of your comment till I can see that it is not that harmless to give these directories writable attribute.
     
  13. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    I think I'll hit the nail on the head soon in respect to my problem. I think it has to do with permissions the folder joomla got when I unpacked it. Just a small question besides my issue:
    I had a user bogdan on the server before installation of ISPConfig (this is me and the user who did unpacked joomla). I deleted user bogdan from the server and wanted to create the user with the same username with ISPConfig in web6 but the system just keeps saying that the user name is assigned already. Weird isn't it? Does ISPConfig remembers system users (even these who have been deleted)?

    I found "bogdan" in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users. Can I delete it from their? What sort of users is hold in this file? After ISPConfig installation I made a couple of new system users but they are not in this file.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2006
  14. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, ISPConfig has to remember all users that where present at installation time to make sure that you cant create a duplicate user in ISPConfig. Simply remove the user in the file /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users.

    Enter the users you created manually to the file /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users to prevet problems in ISPConfig.
     
  15. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

  16. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Sorry falco it must have slipped throug my eyes :) Here is the output you wanted:
    Code:
    total 127
    drwxr-xr-x  15 bogdan web6   848 2006-01-18 18:36 .
    drwxrwxr-x   7 bogdan web6   264 2006-01-18 18:36 ..
    drwxr-xr-x   9 bogdan web6   360 2006-01-18 18:36 administrator
    drwxr-xr-x   2 bogdan web6    80 2006-01-18 18:36 cache
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6 40159 2006-01-15 19:41 CHANGELOG.php
    drwxr-xr-x  16 bogdan web6   504 2006-01-18 18:36 components
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  4001 2005-12-22 16:16 configuration.php-dist
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  3429 2006-01-04 03:14 COPYRIGHT.php
    drwxr-xr-x   2 bogdan web6   112 2006-01-18 18:36 editor
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  3053 2005-12-22 16:16 globals.php
    drwxr-xr-x   3 bogdan web6  2528 2006-01-18 18:36 help
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6   890 2005-12-29 08:28 htaccess.txt
    drwxr-xr-x   6 bogdan web6   904 2006-01-18 18:36 images
    drwxr-xr-x  10 bogdan web6  1256 2006-01-18 18:36 includes
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  4574 2006-01-13 09:47 index2.php
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  6843 2006-01-15 14:01 index.php
    drwxr-xr-x   3 bogdan web6   496 2006-01-18 18:36 installation
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  4374 2005-12-22 16:16 INSTALL.php
    drwxr-xr-x   2 bogdan web6   184 2006-01-18 18:36 language
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6 17977 2005-12-22 16:16 LICENSE.php
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6   710 2005-12-22 16:16 mainbody.php
    drwxr-xr-x   7 bogdan web6   208 2006-01-18 18:36 mambots
    drwxr-xr-x   2 bogdan web6   112 2006-01-18 18:36 media
    drwxr-xr-x   2 bogdan web6  1296 2006-01-18 18:36 modules
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  2474 2005-12-22 16:16 offlinebar.php
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6  3777 2005-12-22 16:16 offline.php
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6   705 2005-12-22 16:16 pathway.php
    -rw-r--r--   1 bogdan web6   286 2005-12-22 16:16 robots.txt
    drwxr-xr-x   5 bogdan web6   200 2006-01-18 18:36 templates
    
    I got rid of nearly all error messages but the folders inside of the joomla installation are still not writabe for the application itself
    Code:
    administrator/backups/  Unwriteable
      administrator/components/  Unwriteable
      administrator/modules/  Unwriteable
      administrator/templates/  Unwriteable
      cache/  Unwriteable
      components/  Unwriteable
      images/  Unwriteable
      images/banners/  Unwriteable
      images/stories/  Unwriteable
      language/  Unwriteable
      mambots/  Unwriteable
      mambots/content/  Unwriteable
      mambots/editors/  Unwriteable
      mambots/editors-xtd/  Unwriteable
      mambots/search/  Unwriteable
      media/  Unwriteable
      modules/  Unwriteable
      templates/  Unwriteable
    What can I do... make them all writeable to everybody... Isn't is dangerous :eek:
    What about the safe mode in php settings. Is it really so bed for joomla to leave it on. Have a webcalendar running which needs it to be on... dilemma
     
  17. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    You can either make thedirectories world-writable (chmod 777), or you make a

    Code:
    chown <Apache_user>:<Apache_group> /path/to/directory
    If you trust your other users on the server (e.g. because they have no idea what Linux is...), then this is ok. You can switch on PHP Safe Mode for all the other sites on the server.


    If it's your own site, then you can turn Safe Mode off. Also, if you trust the owner of the Joomla site.
     
  18. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Thank you falko,
    just one question. You said that I can switch php safe mode for all the other sites. How do you mean it? I thougt it is a global setting - once it is switched on it is switched on for all the sites on the server. Mybe it is too obvious for you but I am not very experienced in this things :eek:
     
  19. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    In ISPConfig, you can enable disable php safemode for each website. have a look at the website settings on the basis tab.
     
  20. bogdinator

    bogdinator New Member

    Thanks a lot. But I still have the very last question :D
    In this thread you were allways talking that i need to make a new web for the joomla. I have made allready a web for my department and there is allready webcalendar and some oter reviewing software there. Some of it needs php safe mode, some not. Shall I open for every new CMS or what so ever a new web? I made my department as a customer and it seems that a customer can have only one web with the same hostname (I do understand it right do I? hostname is in this case the name of the server?)
    Sorry again if it is one of these nerving newbie questions...:confused:
     

Share This Page