OpenVZ for debian how-to problem

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by blueice, Mar 20, 2006.

  1. blueice

    blueice New Member

    Hi,
    i have do the how-to but i have receive this error:

    **********************
    websrv2:~# vzctl set 101 --onboot yes --save
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libopcodes-2.15.so: /usr/lib/libopcodes-2.15.so: undefined symbol: bfd_get_arch
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libpthread.so: /usr/lib/libpthread.so: invalid ELF header
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libc.so: /usr/lib/libc.so: invalid ELF header
    Unable to open /usr/lib/librt.so: /usr/lib/librt.so: symbol __librt_disable_asynccancel, version GLIBC_PRIVATE not defined in file libc.so.6 with link time reference
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libthread_db.so: /usr/lib/libthread_db.so: undefined symbol: ps_pglobal_lookup
    Saved parameters for VPS 101
    ***********************

    How i can fix this?
    Thanks
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Is this a 32Bit or 64Bit DEBIAN linux installation?

    Please post also the output of:

    uname -m
     
  3. blueice

    blueice New Member

    Hi,
    it is 32 bit.
    Here is the info:

    server:~# uname -m
    i686
    server:~# uname -a
    Linux server 2.6.8-022stab064-up #1 Wed Mar 8 11:53:09 CET 2006 i686 GNU/Linux

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. Guido64

    Guido64 New Member

    Same here

    I have the same problems.
    I changed the sources.list from:
    "deb http://debian.systs.org/ stable main"
    to
    "deb http://debian.systs.org/ stable openvz"

    Then "apt-get update && apt-get upgrade"

    From then on when i do vzctl stop 101
    I get this result:

    -----------------------
    dmz-srv3:~# vzctl stop 101
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libopcodes-2.15.so: /usr/lib/libopcodes-2.15.so: undefined symbol: bfd_get_arch
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libpthread.so: /usr/lib/libpthread.so: invalid ELF header
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libc.so: /usr/lib/libc.so: invalid ELF header
    Unable to open /usr/lib/librt.so: /usr/lib/librt.so: symbol __librt_disable_asynccancel, version GLIBC_PRIVATE not defined in file libc.so.6 with link time reference
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libthread_db.so: /usr/lib/libthread_db.so: undefined symbol: ps_pglobal_lookup
    Stopping VPS ...
    VPS was stopped
    VPS is unmounted
    dmz-srv3:~#
    -----------------------

    when i start i get this

    -----------------------
    dmz-srv3:~# vzctl start 101
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libopcodes-2.15.so: /usr/lib/libopcodes-2.15.so: undefin ed symbol: bfd_get_arch
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libpthread.so: /usr/lib/libpthread.so: invalid ELF heade r
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libc.so: /usr/lib/libc.so: invalid ELF header
    Unable to open /usr/lib/librt.so: /usr/lib/librt.so: symbol __librt_disable_asyn ccancel, version GLIBC_PRIVATE not defined in file libc.so.6 with link time refe rence
    Unable to open /usr/lib/libthread_db.so: /usr/lib/libthread_db.so: undefined sym bol: ps_pglobal_lookup
    Starting VPS ...
    VPS is mounted
    Adding IP address(es): 192.168.166.5
    Setting CPU units: 500
    Set hostname: vps101.********.lan
    File resolv.conf was modified
    VPS start in progress...
    dmz-srv3:~#
    -----------------------

    uname -m
    i686

    uname -a
    Linux dmz-srv3.*******.lan 2.6.8-022stab064-up #1 Thu Mar 9 21:14:32 CET 2006 i686 GNU/Linux
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2006
  5. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    You got these problems first after you changed the sources list to "deb http://debian.systs.org/ stable openvz" and updated the scripts? Before the update the vzctl scripts are working fine?
     
  6. blueice

    blueice New Member

    Me have change the main to openvz because with the main the apt-get update give me errors.
    If you check and this page:
    http://debian.systs.org/doku.php?id=download
    you can see that the right is with openvz
     
  7. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    I tested the howto a few days ago with the settings described in the howto and everything worked fine.

    Either the guys at debian.systs.org reorganized their pacakges or they uploaded broken packages.
     
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

  9. Guido64

    Guido64 New Member

    For me openvz worked very well also for hmm 2 weeks or so.
    Now i wanted to "apt-get update && apt-get upgrade" because wel you should do that once a while right :)
    There was a sources.list error so i started looking what it was. I needed to change the sources.list just like blueice wrote.
    After i updated the sources.list and again run "apt-get update && apt-get upgrade" vzctl got updated and after that the problems started.

    so yes, your probably right, they sended broken packages.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2006
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Ok, thanks for reporting that. I will try to find out if the packages are broken or if a newer kernel patch is needed and update the howto... :(
     
  11. Guido64

    Guido64 New Member

  12. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    I'am just trying it, maybe it does not help if the packages are really broken. I will post the instructions as soon as i finished my tests.
     
  13. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    The problem is solved now. New packages are available in the debian.systs.org repository. To update your installation, run:

    apt-get update
    apt-get -u upgrade

    Thanks to Thorsten from debian.systs.org for his help and patching the packages so fast!
     
  14. blueice

    blueice New Member

    yea, now works.
    Thanks a lot for the help.
     
  15. Guido64

    Guido64 New Member

    This open source world is soooooooo great!
    Thank you Till for your help
     
  16. walterharms

    walterharms New Member

    The problem I'm getting

    I've followed the procedure on two systems. Here is what I get on both when I try to start the virtual session:

    linus:/vz/template/cache# vzctl start 101
    Starting VPS ...
    VPS is mounted
    Adding IP address(es): 192.168.1.188
    arpsend: can't get iface 'eth0:' address : Cannot assign requested address
    vps-net_add WARNING: arpsend -c 1 -w 1 -D -e 192.168.1.188 eth0: FAILED
    arpsend: can't get iface 'eth0:' address : Cannot assign requested address
    vps-net_add WARNING: arpsend -c 1 -w 1 -U -i 192.168.1.188 -e 192.168.1.188 eth0: FAILED
    Setting CPU units: 1000
    Set hostname: test101.xxxxxx.ca
    File resolv.conf was modified
    VPS start in progress...
    linus:/vz/template/cache#

    I can SSH into the virtual session but the routing is all screwed up. I can ping other machines on the segment, but it won't route anywhere.

    test101:~# route
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    191.255.255.1 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 venet0
    default 191.255.255.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 venet0
    test101:~#

    I hope it isn't really obvious so I don't feel stupid, but the solution escapes me. Any suggestions?

    Walter
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2006
  17. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Do you have an eth0 network card configured? Please post the output of:

    ifconfig
     
  18. walterharms

    walterharms New Member

    It worked this time...

    Being the impatient guy I am, I re-installed by test box to check out other projects. I followed my notes to put the OpenVZ back in and this time it worked. Since I'm just cutting and pasting from my notes (a cut down version of what's on line) the only difference I can see is that I may have previously chosen to enter a different domain then the host computer. This time I chose the same domain, and it worked. I can ping external sites. :)

    FYI, my ifconfig is

    testbox:~# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0A:E6:71:3C:5C
    inet addr:192.168.0.9 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:31444 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:16258 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:46342543 (44.1 MiB) TX bytes:1146931 (1.0 MiB)
    Interrupt:5 Base address:0xd400

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:560 (560.0 b) TX bytes:560 (560.0 b)

    venet0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    Thanks for your offer to help. Some times things just work on thier own!

    Walter
     
  19. m_jay

    m_jay New Member

    problem connecting vps from outside the host machine

    Hello everyone,
    firstly, thank you very much for this how-to
    i follow the steps and obtain the same error msg as the previous post :

    vzctl start 102
    Starting VPS ...
    VPS is mounted
    Adding IP address(es): 192.168.253.52
    arpsend: can't get iface 'eth0:' address : Cannot assign requested address
    vps-net_add WARNING: arpsend -c 1 -w 1 -D -e 192.168.253.52 eth0: FAILED
    arpsend: can't get iface 'eth0:' address : Cannot assign requested address
    vps-net_add WARNING: arpsend -c 1 -w 1 -U -i 192.168.253.52 -e 192.168.253.52 eth0: FAILED
    Setting CPU units: 1000
    Set hostname: vps102.xxxxxx.com
    File resolv.conf was modified
    VPS start in progress...

    then i can only ping/ssh/... etc from the debian host and not from another computer

    the ifconfig from the host machine :
    eth0 Lien encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:09:89:AE:9D
    inet adr:192.168.253.22 Bcast:192.168.253.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:662268 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:208678 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
    RX bytes:473108294 (451.1 MiB) TX bytes:19679743 (18.7 MiB)
    Interruption:23 Adresse de base:0xc000

    lo Lien encap:Boucle locale
    inet adr:127.0.0.1 Masque:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
    RX bytes:1232 (1.2 KiB) TX bytes:1232 (1.2 KiB)

    venet0 Lien encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:183 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:245 errors:0 dropped:32 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
    RX bytes:21317 (20.8 KiB) TX bytes:18495 (18.0 KiB)


    can u help plaese ?
    thanks in advance
     
  20. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Make sure 192.168.253.52 isn't already in use by another system.
    Did you follow the tutorial as close as possible? Can you rule out that you made types somewhere?
     

Share This Page