Noob guide to api

Discussion in 'General' started by ginner159, Jul 23, 2013.

1. ginner159

ginner159 HowtoForge Supporter

Hello all,

Im wanting to start using the api for ispconfig 3 but i have no idea what im doin with it. Is there anywhere you can point me to learn how to use it but for a complete noob to API's. I understand the concept of them just not how to use them.
    Even better would be cool if someone could share a basic add client script i could follow and adapt.

Im hoping to be able to add clients, their, domain, email addr, databases, dns records ect all from one sign up page.

Thanks in advance :D

2. till

till Super Moderator

The api documentation and example scripts are in ther emote_client folder of the ispconfug tar.gz file.

3. ginner159

I've found those cheers.

But how do I use them? Would I just copy and paste them into a php file and create a form to pass the data on to the scripts?

4. till

till Super Moderator

Yes, thats one option to use them.

5. ginner159

Oh really that easy!? Ill try tonight after work and ask again if I get stuck

Cheers

6. ginner159

Need a bit of help

So i made a remote user, uploaded the client_add.php and soap_config from the templates went to my-site.co.uk/client_add.php and boom it added the client! which is great, but ... im now stuck with passing form data to the php script so that i can set the values required from a user input.

I've attached my copy of the client_add.php file (in txt format as you can see just testing) which i'm using dreamweaver to develop hence the spry textboxes etc (anyone know a better way)

Am i on the right track with what i've done? if so how would i pass the user inputs to the ispconfig array?

Thanks again for the help

Attached Files:

7. ginner159

Anybody?? Or can anyone link me to a really simple tutorial?

8. Processing form input

When you submit your form to client_add.php, your form variables will be in the form of $_POST['variable'] because you used
    HTML: