No DMARC Record found

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by conductive, Jan 28, 2018.

  1. conductive

    conductive Member

    https://mxtoolbox.com/domain/
    Gives me the following errors:

    dmarc mydomain.com DNS Record not found
    mx mydomain.com No DMARC Record found

    My DMARC record is:
    Hostname _dmarc.mydomain.com.
    Text v=DMARC1; p=none
    TTL 3600
    Active x
     
  2. conductive

    conductive Member

    I deleted my DMARC and DKIM recouds, changed my SPF Record form v=spf1 mx a ~all to
    v=spf1 mx a ip4:xx.xx.xx.170 -all

    I then recreated my DMARC and DKIM records and I still get
    dmarc mydomain.com DNS Record not found
    mx mydomain.com No DMARC Record found

    My DMARC Record is:
    hostname: _dmarc.mydomain.com.
    Text: v=DMARC1; p=quarantine
    Active x

    Why is this record not being seen and/or how do I publish it?
     
  3. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Check if the dmarc record is listed in the zone file, or if there is a copy of the zone file with .err file ending with that record, which would mean that bind did not accept the record due to a failure.
     
    conductive likes this.
  4. conductive

    conductive Member

    Thanks for the reply. My zone file looks like:
    /etc/bind# cat pri.mydomain.com
    $TTL 3600
    @ IN SOA server1.mydomain.com. zwebmin.mydomain.com. (
    2018013101 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    540 ; retry, seconds
    604800 ; expire, seconds
    86400 ) ; minimum, seconds
    ;

    * 3600 A 1.2.3.4
    mail 3600 A 1.2.3.4
    mydomain.com. 3600 A 1.2.3.4
    www 3600 A 1.2.3.4
    mydomain.com. 3600 MX 10 mail.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    default._domainkey.mydomain.com. 60 TXT "v=DKIM1; t=s; p=MIGfMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEBAQUAA4GNADCBiQKBgQCvnZccVAPW2QEtvloNCQL/bh0xaFm1IDRaKo8vA2Gsd4oHGFqLznHWvFdF07ZUY6kcCW0JIjKMpmXIqlc4sDbPdkmL9vsnEi7LYWCQk0yxuq88nRW8ACJkvqYnRceV7LJrBAC46KbHLwqY5FoaeMYqJy/h5Ez7H4Tl0y8CuSTtyQIDAQAB"
    mydomain.com. 3600 TXT "v=spf1 mx a ip4:1.2.3.4 -all"
    _dmarc.mydomain.com. 3600 TXT "v=DMARC1; p=quarantine"

    The only .err file was:
    /etc/bind# cat pri.1.2.3.in-addr.arpa.err
    $TTL 3600
    @ IN SOA server1.mydomain.com. zwebmin.mydomain.com. (
    2018011602 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    540 ; retry, seconds
    604800 ; expire, seconds
    3600 ) ; minimum, seconds
    ;
    170 3600 PTR mydomain.com
     
  5. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Ok, so the record has been written to the zone file. Are you sure that the dns server where you added the record is the authoritative dns server for that domain? Maybe you added this record to your ispconfig server but the authoritative dns server for the domain is at your ISP where you ordered the domain name.
     
  6. conductive

    conductive Member

    I have a domain registrar and have a server running ISPConfig. The registrar just points to the ISPConfig server. I have not added any records to the registrar control panel.
    The Name server sections shows 5 nameservers
    dns?.name-services.com
     
  7. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Ok, and these 5 servers are your ISPConfig servers, or at least the first one is your ispconfig server? If not, then your server is not the primary dns server of that domain and yu have to add the dmarc record on these 5 servers and not your server.
     
  8. conductive

    conductive Member

    My last server crashed on an upgrade so I rebuilt another on GCP. I still have the same dmarc problem and ....

    Now I can't make a zone file for my domain.com and get a pri.mydomain.com.err I tried deleting the record rebooted the server and still have the same problem creating the record for mydomain.com
     
  9. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Use named-checkzone command to find ut what's wrong with the zonefile.
     
  10. conductive

    conductive Member

    zone mydomain.com/IN: has 0 SOA records
    zone mydomain.com/IN: has no NS records
    zone mydomain.com/IN: not loaded due to errors.
     
  11. conductive

    conductive Member

    cat pri.mydomain.com.err
    $TTL 3600
    @ IN SOA server1.mydomain.com. webmin.mydomain.com. (
    2018022201 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    540 ; retry, seconds
    604800 ; expire, seconds
    3600 ) ; minimum, seconds
    ;
    mail 3600 A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    mydomain.com. 3600 A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    www 3600 A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    mydomain.com. 3600 MX 10 mail.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 TXT "v=spf1 mx a ~all"
     
  12. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    you missed adding an A record for 'server1'. The NS records tell the client to look at server1.mydomain.com for DNS records but without an A-Records, server1.mydomain.com does not even exist in DNS, BIND recognizes that and rejects the zone so ISPConfig stores it with .err extension.
     
  13. conductive

    conductive Member

    The zone file with 3 a records was made with the Zone Wizard. I manually added the 4th A record but still get a .err extension on the zone file.

    #cat pri.mydomain.com.err
    $TTL 3600
    @ IN SOA server1.mydomain.com. webmin.mydomain.com. (
    2018022301 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    540 ; retry, seconds
    604800 ; expire, seconds
    3600 ) ; minimum, seconds
    ;
    mail 3600 A 104.196.120.142
    server1.mydomain.com 3600 A 104.196.120.142
    mydomain.com. 3600 A 104.196.120.142
    www 3600 A 104.196.120.142
    mydomain.com. 3600 MX 10 mail.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 TXT "v=spf1 mx a ~all"
     
  14. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You missed a dot in the record. The record has either be:

    server1.mydomain.com,

    with dot at the end or just

    server1

    without dot like I suggested above.
     
    conductive likes this.
  15. conductive

    conductive Member

    I deleted the record and simply used server1 and the all looks good.
    I am still having a problem with 3.2.1.in-addr.arpa. The manual appears to add a dot after every entry but the example in ispconfig doesn't. I have tried many combinations but keep getting the pri.3.2.1.in-addr.arpa.err

    $ cat pri.3.2.1.in-addr.arpa.err
    $TTL 3600
    @ IN SOA mr1.myserver.com. webmin.myserver.com. (
    2018022301 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    540 ; retry, seconds
    604800 ; expire, seconds
    3600 ) ; minimum, seconds
    ;
    142 3600 PTR myserver.com
     
  16. conductive

    conductive Member

    I am curious as to why I am not able to make the 3.2.1.in-addr.arpa zone but I am not the IP administrator and
    I created the following on GCP

    mydomain.com. NS 21600
    ns-cloud-e1.googledomains.com.
    ns-cloud-e2.googledomains.com.
    ns-cloud-e3.googledomains.com.
    ns-cloud-e4.googledomains.com.
    mydomain.com. SOA 21600
    ns-cloud-e1.googledomains.com. cloud-dns-hostmaster.google.com. 1 21600 3600 259200 300
    server1.mydomain.com. PTR 300
    mydomain.com.

    But this still leaves me with the original problem
    $cat pri.mydomain.com
    $TTL 3600
    @ IN SOA server1.mydomain.com. webmin.mydomain.com. (
    2018022306 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    540 ; retry, seconds
    604800 ; expire, seconds
    3600 ) ; minimum, seconds
    ;
    mail 3600 A ***.***.***.***
    server1 3600 A ***.***.***.***
    mydomain.com. 3600 A ***.***.***.***
    www 3600 A ***.***.***.***
    mydomain.com. 3600 MX 10 mail.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com. 3600 NS server1.mydomain.com.
    default._domainkey.mydomain.com. 3600 TXT "v=DKIM1; t=s; p=MIGfMA0GCSqGSIb3DQEBAQUAA4GNADCBiQKBgQCYfzz8WL6sCN0NCj
    i8lT9iPLKwfKQ9OPvA2vWKshFWQiCkDvU7sKnHimlzIICo+I+O+fBwsqp7xd5PF0lWzRO6tV6sCOOg0bRLxb2JSc0vC0frA6k8Di/mpbQJLF8Gw5vtQAEMCYD65pMCc
    6d4TBZyRRal6NlbLBqshX3egK2HtQIDAQAB"
    mydomain.com. 3600 TXT "v=spf1 mx a ip4:***.***.***.*** -all"
     

Share This Page