Multi Server Setup with extra network interfaces

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by cat1510, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. cat1510

    cat1510 New Member

    Hi Folks,

    I just bought the 'new' 1.2 Manual few days ago and its old right now.
    What am I doing wrong?

    I got 3 Servers:

    web/ispconfig
    mail
    db

    Distri: Ubuntu 11.10

    Did all things like described in the manual.
    Expect one thing:

    the hosts file.

    Every Server got 2 Interfaces one for public Internet, the other is for internal use. internal use is 192.168.20.0/24 network with own Switch

    So the Servers can talk faster und dont use WebTraffic...

    First Trouble I found out is: When I create SQL-DB in ispconfig it isn't created @ the DB-Node.

    I read a lot of threads here in the forum but doesnt found a solution.
    I checked the mysql access from every server to every server.
    In my.cnf is #bind 127.......... of course.

    In my interfaces the 192.168.20.0/24 has no gateway.
    Is it the mistake?

    How shall I write the hosts file?

    Code:
    127.0.0.1   localhost
    192.168.20.1 web.mydomain.com
    192.168.20.2 mail.mydomain.com
    192.168.20.3 db.mydomain.com
    
    46.25.34.1  web.mydomain.com
    46.25.34.1  mail.mydomain.com
    46.25.34.1  db.mydomain.com
    
    Thnx for any Information.


    CAT
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The download links are active for 10 days, so you can redownload the new version of the manual if you bought the manual less then 10 days ago.

    The hosts file is one of the most important parts, without that change, the setup wont work as mysql is not able to authenticate the users correctly so no changes will get synced between the servers.

    If you have just one external IP address, then you have to use the internal IP addresses, as the hostnnames of the servers have to point to to the IP address of the server that runs the service.

    Changing the hostbame after the installtion will not fix the setup. I recommend that you fix the hosts files, then uninstall ispconfig on all 3 servers first by using the uninstall.php script (which is in the install folder of the ispconfig tar.gz) and then reinstall ispconfig with the install.php script.
     
  3. cat1510

    cat1510 New Member

    Thnx for the hint. :) Now I got 1.3

    Ok i removed all second Interfaces and changed the hosts file on every sever.
    All ispconfig ist uninstalled by uninstall.php and I removed ispconfig user from mysql.user table

    I installed 3.0.4 and got the same Problem. Database / User isn't created.
    Do u got idea what i can check?

    Of course i granted access from the hostnames and IP's to Master Node.
    They r in DNS registered too and can be resolved.
    But how the Master Node gets Access to the db-Server and creates DB?
    Or does the isp-panel creates db directly on db-server?
     
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Neither nor. The slave connects to the master server and checks for changes. It then replicates the changes to its local database and then executes the nescessary actions.

    To debug your problem, enable debugging for the slave in the ispconfig master controlpanel. Then login to the slave as root user on the shell, comment out the server.sh cronjob in the root crontab (run 'crontab -e' to start cron editor) by adding a # in front of the line and then run the script:

    /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
     
  5. cat1510

    cat1510 New Member

    OK maybe I'm too impatiently only. How much time it takes?
    Can I do the action manually?

    Thnx.
     
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    1-2 minutes.

    Plaese see instructions in my post above.
     
  7. cat1510

    cat1510 New Member

    Code:
    ([email protected])~ispconfig/server# ./server.sh                                                        (2011-11-03 10:58:00)
    finished.
    ([email protected])~ispconfig/server#
    
    On MasterNode the database is in the dbispconfig. I had a look for it.

    server.sh works without any failure.

    Code:
    ([email protected])~ispconfig/server# mysql -u root -h kbispweb.kbrez.de -p            (2011-11-03 11:05:12)
    Enter password: 
    Welcome to the MySQL monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
    Your MySQL connection id is 46959
    Server version: 5.1.58-1ubuntu1 (Ubuntu)
    
    Copyright (c) 2000, 2010, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
    This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software,
    and you are welcome to modify and redistribute it under the GPL v2 license
    
    Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the current input statement.
    
    mysql> quit
    Bye
    ([email protected])~ispconfig/server# 
    
    Works easy.
    SQL Sync doesnt work..
     
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    If you followed my staeps exactly, then this indicates an error as you should see more details in debug mode. Or have you not enabled debugging for this slave in the master control panel.

    Yiu tested with the wrong login details. The root user is not used by the server.sh script to connect to the master server. This would be too dangerous.

    ISPConfig uses a different user with low priveliges. So if you want to test the mysql connection from slave to master with the mysql command on the shell, then use the login details for the master server as found in the file /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php on the slave.

    Just one other question, are you really sure that the slave server was selcted as target for the database? Login as admin and go to the database details and check if the correct slave server is selected in the database details and not e.g. the master server instead.
     
  9. cat1510

    cat1510 New Member

    Done!

    I clicked in ispconfigpanel on Server Config >> Slave Node db-server
    Loglevel Debug --> save

    Ok that seems to be the problem. I checked in phpmyadmin mysql.user.table
    There is a ispcsrv3 user but without password... ? Strange or not?

    I got it!
    The dbusers off the nodes had no passwords.
    Why ever? ISP-Config creates them regular...


    I checked 1000 times and read some threads in here. There was an older MultiServer Thread and I did as u mentioned there.

    Now it seems to be fine. The DB-Node already created the DB.

    Can u write me an invoice with 50,00EUR for the very good support to .... [email address removed by admin] .....


    THX a lot.


    CAT
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 3, 2011

Share This Page