mail problem

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Compadre, Mar 21, 2007.

  1. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    Hi i now i have some mail problems. First im not using the dns server of my server, i use isp_config to manage the other services, like mail,ftp,web, because for now i only need one domain. Fot this reason i pay for a domain name register and also for a dns record. For example i payd for a www.compadre.com y and then for a dns record in a dns server. Now i have problems with email, i cant receive emails, what can i do?
     
  2. bluethunder82

    bluethunder82 Member

    You need to contact the company you are hosting. When I did a few lookups I could not find your MX or mail record entry. Also, I would check your DNS record as your name server pointers appear to be lame when I checked.

    If you have a static IP address then why not just have your DNS hosted on your ISPConfig server. With one domain it is really easy. Just add two NS records and config the DNS-Manager.

    Good luck :cool:
     
  3. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    the problem is that i dont paay for these,my boss was! i have a virtual domain, not call www.compadre.com, is www.tmspan.com, and he paid for these domain name and also dns record. But is a virtual domain, my server name in isp is www.thcpa.com(but with no dns record and name register),what do you recoment for me? change the name of the server to this domain(www.tmspan.com), and also leave the same as virtual domain? What can i do? and how? is complicated? because i have working the page with egroupware, and the problem is that i cant recieve mail
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2007
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What exactly is the problem? Is it with www.compadre.com or www.tmspan.com?
     
  5. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    Thanks falko, but now i dont have this problem. Now i get another one, I dont why but now when i send a mail to some one, in the preview of the message in date, i see an hour, also this hour is bad. i check the time of my server and all is good, but when i check the ispconfig log, the hour is bad.
    For example in the mail client date i see Thu, 22 Mar 2007 12:44:28 -0400(yahoo) and 12:44:28 in my felamimail y gmail client but the time is 11:44, and in this please have to be a date
    what can i do to solve this problem? if you dont understand me plis tell me
     
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Which email client to you use? Is the system time correct on the system where the email client is installed?
     
  7. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    Sorry about the double-post falko, ok for email client im using felamimail of egroupware, my problem is about time, see this:
    Received: from www.compadre.com (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
    by compadre.localdomain (Postfix) with ESMTP id 9E4F3B38093
    for <[email protected]>; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 13:44:45 -0500 (EST)
    Received: from phpmailer ([200.115.140.130])
    by www.compadre.com with HTTPS (PHPMailer);
    Fri, 23 Mar 2007 14:44:45 -0400
    Date: Fri, 23 Mar 2007 14:44:45 -0400
    If you see the times are differents, the real one is 13:44:45 , but in the mail preview i see 14:44:45. But when i open the mail, i can see de real one.
    What cant be?
    Soorry again about the double post
     
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Please check if you can set the timezone in egroupware. It looks like egroupware uses a timezone with -5 hours and the rest of your system uses -4 hours.
     
  9. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    yes, but i need that the rest of my system uses -5. Were i adjust these? Because when i see the hour of the server is the same that in egroupware. Only when i see ispconfig log, the hour is in -4hours, but for example in mail log is in -5 hours, why these, how can i fix this
     
  10. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    If you use Debian or Ubuntu, you can run
    Code:
    tzconfig
    to adjust the time zone.
     
  11. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    No is fedora core 6.
    Also im havind problems sending mails to hotmail accounts, the email never arrive, and when a i see the mail log, i get this message:
    Mar 26 10:24:51 thcpa postfix/smtp[13340]: C07D1B38099: to=<[email protected]>, relay=mx2.hotmail.com[65.54.245.40]:25, delay=0.89, delays=0.12/0/0.36/0.4, dsn=2.0.0, status=sent (250 <[email protected]> Queued mail for delivery)
    Is only for hotmails accounts
     
  12. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    Do you have a SPF record?
     
  13. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    No i dont have a SPF record, where i add this? This is the reason, why cant send emails to hotmail?
     
  14. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    This is one of the reasons why you can not send to Hotmail. Yahoo is (I think) the same.
    When the SPF record is okay, your mail might still endup in the "junk" folder of Hotmail more info: http://postmaster.msn.com/ (see Popular topics: nr1)

    If you run your own DNS (MX) for the domain, you can add the SPF record in the ISPconfig DNS Manager > Domain-name > Records > SPF

    test your DNS (MX record) at www.dnsreport.com (add your domain in the DNS report box).
    Also.. Make sure that the MX record part is setup 100% okay!
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2007
  15. Compadre

    Compadre New Member

    ok, i only need to have a SPF record?, or also i need to implement SPF with Postifx?
     
  16. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    You only need to create the SPF record in the ISPconfig > DNS part for the domain in question (if you run your own DNS for that domain). ISPconfig will take care of the rest
     
  17. hyperclock

    hyperclock New Member

    having the same probs

    Hi,
    I am having the same probs and have tried o create the SPF record but I'm not sure if I did this correctly. I couldn't find any examples.

    I have a rented server with a name like srv1.color.domain.tld
    I didn't want this to be used to login to ISPConfig, so I used the IP
    what would I add for domain2.tld?

    I also have access to the dns from my provider, which also contain the records.
     
  18. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Here are some tools to test your spf record and a detailed explanation about SPF.

    http://www.openspf.org/

    If your provider is authoritive for the domains, you dont have to add anything in the ISPConfig DNS-Manager. Just add the SPF records at your ISP.
     
  19. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

Share This Page