ISPConfig viewing probelms

Discussion in 'General' started by mphayesuk, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. mphayesuk

    mphayesuk New Member

    I know that this has been brought up before and answered but I didn't understand the answer so I will ask the question again.

    1. When looking at the ISPConfig page from my lan using the hostname it is really slow what do I need to change in the configuration files. Looking at it from the web side is fast.

    2. Some of the images that are on the ISPConfig web pages dont appear, what do I need to change and in what files to make this work properly.

    Thanks
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Open the following file with an editor:

    /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php

    in the line:

    $go_info["server"]["server_url"] = "https://www.yourdomain.com:81";

    replace the URL or IP with an URL / IP you can reach from your internal network.
     
  3. mphayesuk

    mphayesuk New Member

    Does this fix both my questions.

    Thanks
     
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, that fixes both problems.
     
  5. mphayesuk

    mphayesuk New Member

    Thanks just tried it and it seems it was set to the hostname address so I changed it to the IP address instead and that makes it a lot faster, thanks.
     
  6. wr19026

    wr19026 New Member

    Ok, so this works perfectly for http://www.mydomainname.dom:81. But what if I want to host the regular website http://www.mydomainname.dom as well? http://www.mydomainname.dom errors out (from inside my LAN) and when I use the IP address I get the error page telling me that I'm looking at a shared IP address and that I should use the full webaddress instead.

    Sounds like a Catch22 situation to me, but I assume that there is a clever workaround for this? Other than getting a dialup account somewhere to be able to see my own website ;)
     
  7. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Have you forwarded port 80 on your router to your ispconfig server? Is mydomainname.dom pointing to your external IP address?
     
  8. wr19026

    wr19026 New Member

    Yes to your first question. NAPT is by default forwarding everything to my server where the ISPConfig firewall takes care of business.

    As to the second question I'm not sure if I understand correctly. When I check DNS www.mydomainname.dom is forwarded to my external IP which is the router. NAPT then takes care of business in forwarding to the internal IP.

    In another thread I raised the issue of not being able to connect to https://www.mydomainname.dom:81 from LAN. As suggested I changed this in a file to my.internal.IP.x:81. Which works.

    So I'm a little confused :)
     
  9. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    From inside your LAN this seems to be this loopback problem with your router.

    Regarding accesses from the outside: have you set up www.domainname.dom and domainname.dom for that web site?
     
  10. wr19026

    wr19026 New Member

    I have set up www.mydomain.dom in ISPConfig (and can find it using www.dnsreport.com) I have not set up domainname.dom using ISPConfig, but it passes a dnsreport.com check.

    And from outside my LAN I can see the index page for http://www.mydomainname.dom.

    I guess what I need to do is dive into the documentation for my router nd see what they have to say about loopback....
     
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Don't you have domainname.dom on the Co-Domains tab of the www.domainname.dom web site? Then you should add it there because otherwise people can access the web site using www.domainname.dom, but not domainname.dom.
     
  12. wr19026

    wr19026 New Member

    Good point. I'll do that as soon as I'm back home and will see if that helps.
     
  13. mindlab

    mindlab New Member

    I am having SEVERE ftp speed issues as well...

    Very slow... and sometimes fails transfers.

    I changed the path in config.inc.php to reflect:

    http://192.168.2.10

    And it's still slow as heck.... problem after problem... =(

    Can anyone here help me?


    please.
     
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

  15. onastvar

    onastvar Member

    ISPconfig Web-ftp very slow

    I've changed http://www.yourdomain.com:81 to http://11.22.33.44:81 in my config.inc.php and system is still slow when trying to access Web-FTP. Literally, it takes 5 minutes or more and then connection times out.

    This is happening when trying to access using PC in local network as well as PC from outside. Any other suggestions, what to check?
     
  16. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Does this happen also when you use a regular FTP client (such as FileZilla)?
     
  17. onastvar

    onastvar Member

    ISPconfig Web-ftp very slow

    When I'm using FTP client (FileZilla) it works fine.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2010
  18. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Is that a question or a statement?
     
  19. onastvar

    onastvar Member

    ISPconfig Web-ftp very slow

    just a typo - should have been "." instead of "?"
     

Share This Page