Is there a way to limit the number of ftp and mail users?

Discussion in 'General' started by danf.1979, Dec 20, 2005.

  1. danf.1979

    danf.1979 ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    Is there any...?
  2. shadowman

    shadowman New Member

    pureftp can

    fDepends on the ftp server that you are using although I think that most would. Pureftp can. Here is an excerpt from the manual:

    Here's a concrete example:

    /usr/local/sbin/pure-ftpd -y 3:20 -c 15 -C 5 -B

    Here, we allow:
    * A max total of 15 sessions.
    * 5 connections max coming from the same IP address.
    * 3 connections max with the same user name.
    * 20 anonymous users max.
  3. danf.1979

    danf.1979 ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    I use proftpd, but I know nothing about proftpd.conf
  4. danf.1979

    danf.1979 ISPConfig Developer ISPConfig Developer

    I got the server offline, maybe i'll change to vsftp
  5. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

  6. bosei

    bosei New Member

    Is it even possible to change from ProFTPD to Pureftp? I have just broken a custom web maintenance interface my hosting service provides by removing their installation of Pureftp and installing ProFTPD as per the Fedora C3 instructions. Can I change back to Pureftp without a complete re-install?

    Are ther any special things for the conf file?
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2005
  7. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You cannot use pureftpd together with ISPConfig.
  8. bosei

    bosei New Member

    Sorry Till. i thought the top post and the response to it indicated it may be possible?

  9. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    No, currently only proftpd and vsftpd are supported. Personally i recommend proftpd beacause it does not need an tcp wrapper to handle more then one anonymous FTP account per server.
  10. bosei

    bosei New Member

    Many thanks. I will see if I can make a recommendation to my ISP. I suspect they will want to charge in the region of £60 to £90 per hour to reconfigure their Matrix control panel to use ProFTPD if it is even possible. Sigh!!
  11. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Why do you need two controlpanels for one server? Ify our provider has a controlpanle, you can use that controlpanel with the software it supports or you replace it with ISPConfig and you will have to install the software ISPConfig supports :confused:
  12. bosei

    bosei New Member

    Hey Till & Falko

    Happy New year to both of you.

    Sorry it's taken a while to respond here but the holidays took a lot out of me.

    Till, The answer is not so simple and that's what makes Open Source so good. Choice in small things and choice in large things. My ISP has a control panel which allows me to control the domain settings for the server itself.
    I can create dns,www,mail & user accounts without any fuss but... it is not based on a database backend like ISPConfig and so my virtual user for example, are all flatfile based. Also the control panael software is a proprietry in-house one that will only support PureFtp. My only gripe when I installed ISPConfig on this box is not that it broke the Matrixsa control panel, but rather that the ISPConfig DNS would not work well for me.

    I had wanted to have a solution or choice whereby I could (maybe) have ISPConfig doing the main work and the Marix panel doing just dns.

    MatrixSA uses apache 1.3 to run it's web and presumably installing ISPC may have broken it. The ISP (perhaps unsurprisingly) did not really want to entertain this particular issue despite their previous excellent service.

    In the end I had to do a remote re-image of the server and revert back to the Matrix.

    This just goes to show the fanatical lengths we will go to to use ISPC. :D

    Oh well, it's a new year and I look forward to (possibly?) ISPConfig v.3
  13. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    I don't know the server configuration your ISP gives you, and I don't know this MAtrixSA panel at all, so it might be hard to figure out what the problem is...

    Doesn't your ISP have a clean install (no services) of any Linux distribution available which he can put on the server so that you can follow any of the "Perfect Setup" guides on HowtoForge? Because ISPConfig will then work out of the box...
  14. bosei

    bosei New Member

    Hmm. They provide FC3 so I followed the perfect FC3 setup but my ISP's configuration is customised with this in-house matrixSA.

    Installed Packages
    Name : matrixsa
    Arch : i386
    Version: 2.0
    Release: 14
    Size : 1.5 M
    Repo : installed
    Summary: Matrix SA Web Admin Server

    Description: Matrix Servers Ltd. Linux control panel server.

    I have searched the web for it in the hope that I may find enough info to make in work with ISPC but no luck. I have decided to strip this matrix from the server but it also involves removing some components of httpd:

    httpd = 2.0.53-3.2matrix is needed by (installed) httpd-manual-2.0.53-3.2matrix.i686
    httpd = 2.0.53-3.2matrix is needed by (installed) httpd-suexec-2.0.53-3.2matrix.i686
    httpd >= 2.0.40 is needed by (installed) mod_perl-1.99_16-3.i386
    httpd >= 2.0.40 is needed by (installed) mod_python-3.1.3-5.2.i386
    httpd = 2.0.53-3.2 is needed by (installed) mod_ssl-2.0.53-3.2.i386
    httpd is needed by (installed) system-config-httpd-1.3.1-1.noarch
    httpd is needed by (installed) squirrelmail-1.4.6-0.cvs20050812.1.fc3.noarch
    httpd-mmn = 20020903 is needed by (installed) mod_perl-1.99_16-3.i386
    httpd-mmn = 20020903 is needed by (installed) mod_python-3.1.3-5.2.i386
    httpd-mmn = 20020903 is needed by (installed) mod_ssl-2.0.53-3.2.i386
    httpd-mmn = 20020903 is needed by (installed) php-4.3.11-2.8.i386
    webserver is needed by (installed) webalizer-2.01_10-25.i386
    Anyways I'm going to remove matrix, Pureftp and reinstall ProFtpd and ISPC again.

    Can you help me with something? when ISPConfig is installed it allows you to create virtual domains. Assuming you have:
    1. Server with 1 nic interface but multiple public IP's (aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd, eee.fff.ggg.hhh & iii.jjj.kkk.lll
    2. Domain with IP aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd, eee.fff.ggg.hhh & iii.jjj.kkk.lll
    3. Your server name
    4. Your default virtual host is
    5. Your default virtual host IP is aaa.bbb.ccc.ddd

    What is the host name to be used for ISPC?
    Can domain also be created under sites in ISPC or will that result in errors?

    e.g You want to present to the public

    I am asking because under my prevous installation I accidentally went into the Fedora's system-config-httpd and it refused to let me leave unless i set up host name etc. I then got an error

    #no listening sockets available, shutting down
    #httpd: Unable to open logs. httpd: httpd startup failed
    httpd: (98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to.

    My setup has 3 IP's and I want to use 1 for ns1 + primary domain (
    The 2nd for ns2 + named based domains and
    the 3rd for more name based domains.

    Finally, I would also want to provide IP based domains for clients wanting their own SSL certificates and willing to pay for the monthly ISP cost for IP address required.

    I know this is a lot in one post but would appreciate any insight that would smooth my progress.


    PS I notice some of us are junior memebers. How do we get promoted?
  15. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, although I recommend that you have a domain that you use for technical matters only, not for hosting web sites. You would then use this technical domain for the hostname (see above).

    I think if you have 30 posts then the "Junior" gets removed. :)

Share This Page