I can not get my domain FQDM

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by Al1937, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. Al1937

    Al1937 New Member

    I have a registered domain, call it xxx.com.
    I it is setup with nameserver
    ns1everydns.com
    ns2everydns.com
    My router is set to
    DNS 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

    The Dell computer I am trying to set up Ubunto is named "mailserver".
    During installation I use mailserver.xxx.com

    I have searched google for detailed instructions to have a domain FQDN- can not find anything but bits and pieces.

    There is a thread here on how to do a domain registered with godaddy. Very detailed.
    I just might need a new domain and register it with godaddy.
    BUT, I sure would like to know how to do it with any other registrar.

    I am brand new and need help.
     
  2. Al1937

    Al1937 New Member

  3. Al1937

    Al1937 New Member

    Whoo! Excuse me please.
    In my thread I have been using xxx.com to denote as "Unknown".com but xxx.com turns out to be a real adult site.

    Is there a way to delete these threads? I will resubmit using "unknown".com
     
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's the output of
    Code:
    netstat -tap
    ? Does your router forward the ports 80 and 8080 to your ISPConfig server?
     
  5. Al1937

    Al1937 New Member

    root@akbnet:/home/albert# netstat -tap
    Active Internet connections (servers and established)
    Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
    tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:10024 *:* LISTEN 2227/amavisd (maste
    tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:10025 *:* LISTEN 3051/master
    tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 2302/mysqld
    tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:spamd *:* LISTEN 2402/spamd.pid
    tcp 0 0 *:http-alt *:* LISTEN 3211/apache2
    tcp 0 0 *:www *:* LISTEN 3211/apache2
    tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 3065/pure-ftpd (SER
    tcp 0 0 akbnet.albertbri:domain *:* LISTEN 2978/mydns
    tcp 0 0 localhost.locald:domain *:* LISTEN 2978/mydns
    tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 2201/sshd
    tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 3051/master
    tcp 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN 3211/apache2
    tcp 0 300 akbnet.albertbrinso:ssh 192.168.1.101:2453 ESTABLISHED 6467/sshd: albert [
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:imaps [::]:* LISTEN 2935/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:pop3s [::]:* LISTEN 2973/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:pop3 [::]:* LISTEN 2951/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:imap2 [::]:* LISTEN 2913/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:ftp [::]:* LISTEN 3065/pure-ftpd (SER
    tcp6 0 0 localhost:domain [::]:* LISTEN 2978/mydns
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:ssh [::]:* LISTEN 2201/sshd
    root@akbnet:/home/albert#
    After changing computer name to akbnet and reinstalling Ubuntu 9.0.4 .

    root@akbnet:/home/albert# netstat -tap
    Active Internet connections (servers and established)
    Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
    tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:10024 *:* LISTEN 2227/amavisd (maste
    tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:10025 *:* LISTEN 3051/master
    tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 2302/mysqld
    tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:spamd *:* LISTEN 2402/spamd.pid
    tcp 0 0 *:http-alt *:* LISTEN 3211/apache2
    tcp 0 0 *:www *:* LISTEN 3211/apache2
    tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 3065/pure-ftpd (SER
    tcp 0 0 akbnet.albertbri:domain *:* LISTEN 2978/mydns
    tcp 0 0 localhost.locald:domain *:* LISTEN 2978/mydns
    tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 2201/sshd
    tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 3051/master
    tcp 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN 3211/apache2
    tcp 0 300 akbnet.albertbrinso:ssh 192.168.1.101:2453 ESTABLISHED 6467/sshd: albert [
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:imaps [::]:* LISTEN 2935/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:pop3s [::]:* LISTEN 2973/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:pop3 [::]:* LISTEN 2951/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:imap2 [::]:* LISTEN 2913/couriertcpd
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:ftp [::]:* LISTEN 3065/pure-ftpd (SER
    tcp6 0 0 localhost:domain [::]:* LISTEN 2978/mydns
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:ssh [::]:* LISTEN 2201/sshd
    root@akbnet:/home/albert#

    Is my ispconfig server 192.168.1.100?

    I have a linksys router , where 8080 is disabled- Do I enable it? I did.

    Forward UPnP
    Pop3 80 80 192.196.1.100 enabled
    Custom
    ispconfg-tcp 8080 8080 tcp 192.168.1.100 enabled
    ispconfg-upd 8080 8080 upd 192.168.1.100 enabled


    When I try to connect to either ispconfig or webmail using akbnet.albertbrinson
    I get
    Network Timeout
    The server at akbnet.albertbrinson.com is taking too long to respond.

    Doing a tracert on akbnet.albertbrinson I get
    akbnet.albertbrinson.com (67.215.66.132)
    After 13 hops It times out all the way

    A ping on akbnet.albertbrinson results in no connection.
     
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    This is what I get when I try to resolve your hostname:

    Code:
    mh1:~# dig akbnet.albertbrinson.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> akbnet.albertbrinson.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
    mh1:~#
    It seems as if there's a problem with the nameservers.
     
  7. Al1937

    Al1937 New Member

    My linksys router is set up to use opendns
    DNS1 208.67.222.222
    DNS2 208.67.220.220

    Domain Name: ALBERTBRINSON.COM

    Domain servers in listed order:
    NS1.EVERYDNS.NET
    NS2.EVERYDNS.NET

    I will change the nameserver and try again.


    I finally realized what a FQDN is.
    Let me know if this is right.

    computer_name.registered_domain_name.com (or .net or .tv or .whatever can be used)

    I thought it would be something more complex and requiring special setting.
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, that's right.
     

Share This Page