Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by ov10fac, Mar 24, 2011.

1. ov10fac

ov10fac New Member

I am brand new to this forum and to ISPCONFIG. I have a local (intranet) server that I am building to support a completely internal domain. The problem I am having is trying to find information on how to set up the DNS. On a Windows server, its very straight forward, but I'm finding it a little more difficult in the Linux world. I find all kinds of references to creating a DNS pointing to an external Nameserver, but nothing about how to set up a DNS with a Nameserver sitting on the same machine as the DNS.

The one reference I found in the ISPConfig manual said I needed a gluerecord (I thaink that was its name), but failed to explain what that was or how to create it.

I have many years experience with Linux and have installed many servers that run file sharing with other machines running windows and linux. This is my first venture into the DNS world so I'm a little short on basic knowledge.

If someone can point me to the right reference I'd appreciate it.

Many thanks in advance.
  2. till

till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

Please see here for a explanation what DNS glue records are and why and when they are nescessary:

Basically its the Hen <=> Egg problem. To find a dns record, you need to resolve its dns server. We want to resolve e.g. domain.tld. But if the dns server of domain.tld is a subdomain of the domain that you search (e.g. ns1.domain.tld), then you can not resolve the record because you would have to resolve domain.tld first. So we are at the beginning again. To break this circle, we add DNS A-records for ns1.domain.tld and ns2.domain.tld at the dns server of the domain registry (not your dns server), these records are named glue records.
  3. ov10fac

ov10fac New Member

So from what you have told me and what I just read, in addition to the one server I have running I need another server to for the glue record?