Horde 5.1 and ISPConfig 3

Discussion in 'ISPConfig 3 Priority Support' started by sjswarts, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    G'day guys,

    Been using ISPConfig for quite awhile now and its very good - stable, well maintained, free, well you get my drift.

    One thing however has bugged me since I've started using Horde as a Groupware. That I cannot get the Tasks to work properly.

    I've previously asked for help here:

    http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59847

    I've also asked for help on the Horde mailing list, but I hit a wall:

    http://pastebin.com/e8h2ZHT9

    Any other logs, or what not please do not hesitate to PM or put it back here... I'm positive that I'm not the only one who has ISPConfig 3 and Horde running.
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator

    ISPConfig applies strict settings to every directory in /var/www that s not a website, so it might be that some of your horde settings dos not get applied or that they got negated or overridden.

    Try to move the apache horde config file to /etc/apache2/sites-available/, then create a symlink in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/ to that file, the name of the symlink should be at after the sites in alhabetical order e.g. 999-horde.conf and restart apache.

    This ensures that the horde config file is loaded in apache after the ispconfig.conf and ispconfig.vhost file
     
  3. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Thanks for the response Till, but no joy...

    I moved it to
    Code:
    /etc/apache2/sites-available/horde.conf
    Created a symlink

    Code:
    ln -s /etc/apache2/sites-available/horde.conf /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/999-horde.conf
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
    Same errors, no difference
     
  4. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Ok this is driving me nuts, also I paid for 6 months of priority support. I realize that its well and truly in the hard basket but I need this to be fixed.

    New task creation redirects the browser to this:

    https://www.swartsit.com/horde/nag/t/save

    P.S.

    I have tried talking with Horde, they handball it to you guys.
    I have tried talking with Apache support and they just feed me mod_rewrite docs.

    Is there no one who teaches by demonstration anymore? Man I hate reading, learning by trial and error is the way I do exactly that - Learn

    /rant
     
  5. till

    till Super Moderator

    The horde config looks normal that you posted and it should work. Maybe you have some rewrite rules in the website www.swartsit.com which interferes with horde.
     
  6. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Yeah that is possible.

    This is what my /etc/apache2/conf.d has in it:

    Code:
    root@mail:/etc/apache2/conf.d# ll
    total 28
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Jun 12 00:59 .
    drwxr-xr-x 7 root root 4096 Mar  5 09:39 ..
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  237 Sep 10  2012 apache2-doc
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  269 Sep 13  2012 charset
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   45 Oct 19  2012 javascript-common.conf -> /etc/javascript-common/javascript-common.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3296 Sep 13  2012 localized-error-pages
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   23 Nov 29  2012 munin -> ../../munin/apache.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  143 Sep 13  2012 other-vhosts-access-log
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   28 Oct 20  2012 phpmyadmin.conf -> ../../phpmyadmin/apache.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1424 Sep 13  2012 security
    I think the only ones I've changed are:

    phpmyadmin.conf - http://pastebin.com/UWn6bVdF

    munin -http://pastebin.com/Gf268Z6L

    Otherwise I have these settings in my ISPConfig panel under website swartsit.com

    http://www.swartsit.com/blog/?attachment_id=188

    vhost is - http://pastebin.com/X7vWji2m
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2013
  7. till

    till Super Moderator

    Please remove the horde related rewrite rules that you added in ispconfig, e.g. this one:

    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^webmail\.example\.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^/(.*)$ https://www.example.com/horde/$1 [R]

    as they interfere with the horde setup you made. and there might be more conflicting rewrite rules in a .htaccess file in the website.

    Please try to use horde trough the IP address and additionally trough another site of this server to se if this has any influence.
     
  8. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    OK I will try that,

    Do I need to enable Python or any other type of programming language?
     
  9. till

    till Super Moderator

    Not as far as I know. But I'am not a horde developer so I dont know their code nor software requirements in detail.
     
  10. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Ok I tried that no luck, different website that I host. Still this error.

    [14/Jun/2013:16:14:58 +0800] "POST /horde/nag/t/save HTTP/1.1" 404 809 "https://cleandrum.com/horde/nag/task.php?actionID=add_task" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; rv:21.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/21.0"

    File does not exist: /var/www/horde/nag/t, referer: https://cleandrum.com/horde/nag/task.php?actionID=add_task
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2013
  11. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Tried just using the IP address of my server, still no luck. Same error message.
     
  12. till

    till Super Moderator

    Ok, so there must be something wrong with the horde code or rewrites rules, especially as this happens only on this one URL. If it would be a general rewrite issue e.g. caused by ispconfig, then no URLS in the /horde directory would work as ispconfig is not applying any rules specific to horde or one of its subdirectories.

    It seems as if horde tries to rewrite to a file /var/www/horde/nag/t on the disk instead of https://cleandrum.com/horde/nag/t which then gets rewritten to a php file. You should check the .htaccess file in /var/www/horde with the horde devs, maybe there is an option that needs to be activated or the URL is rewritten in the wrong way inside that file.
     
  13. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Just to clarify - This error happens on ALL the websites and the IP, there is no difference. So that would seem to suggest that either mod_rewrite is not configured properly or I have issues with some code somewhere??

    Correct?

    The Horde Dev team no longer reply to this problem. Seems its too hard for them, or I'm too dumb.
     
  14. till

    till Super Moderator

    Correct, and this shows us that its a horde issue and not one inside the sjwarts website created by ispconfig. In my post above I referred to the URL inside of horde and not the domain you access horde with. If it would be a general rewrite issue e.g. as if mod_rewrite is not active like the horde devs told you, then nothing in horde would work, not even the horde login. But your problem is just a single function in horde is not working, if I understood you correctly, its just that the task manager does not work and that indicates that something in horde or in a .htaccess file in the horde install folder handles this taskmanager URL differently then the other functions in horde.

    Please post the .htaccess file from horde, maybe we find something in there.
     
  15. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Code:
    # IMPORTANT: DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    # It will be overwritten with any future upgrade.
    
    allow from all
    
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
        RewriteEngine On
        RewriteCond   %{REQUEST_FILENAME}  !-d
        RewriteCond   %{REQUEST_FILENAME}  !-f
        RewriteRule ^(.*)$ rampage.php [QSA,L]
    </IfModule>
     
  16. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    It seems that I have broken it now, nothing is logging on. I tried a different user and Horde is throwing errors that the user isn't allowed...

    Code:
    PHP Fatal error:  Uncaught exception 'Horde_Exception_PushApp' with message 'User user@allaboutwood.com.au is not authorized for Horde.' in /usr/share/php/Horde/Registry.php:1517\nStack trace:\n#0 /usr/share/php/Horde/Registry.php(1153): Horde_Registry->pushApp('horde', Array)\n#1 /usr/share/php/Horde/Registry.php(2089): Horde_Registry->callAppMethod('horde', 'logout')\n#2 /usr/share/php/Horde/ErrorHandler.php(35): Horde_Registry->clearAuthApp('horde')\n#3 [internal function]: Horde_ErrorHandler::fatal(Object(Horde_Exception_AuthenticationFailure))\n#4 {main}\n  thrown in /usr/share/php/Horde/Registry.php on line 1517
     
  17. till

    till Super Moderator

    Please try to remove the following lines:

    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>

    and

    </IfModule>

    If mod_rewrite would not be loaded, you will get a apache 500 error then.

    Regarding the login error, do you remember what you changed since you logged in successfully the last time?
     
  18. sjswarts

    sjswarts New Member

    Like this?

    # IMPORTANT: DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    # It will be overwritten with any future upgrade.

    Code:
    allow from all
    
    #<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
        RewriteEngine On
        RewriteCond   %{REQUEST_FILENAME}  !-d
        RewriteCond   %{REQUEST_FILENAME}  !-f
        RewriteRule ^(.*)$ rampage.php [QSA,L]
    #</IfModule>
    If so then it still errors
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2013
  19. till

    till Super Moderator

    Ok, if the error is still the same, then the problem is not that mod_rewrite is inactive like the horde devs said. Otherwise you would get an apache error (most likely 500) that the directive RewriteEngine is invalid.

    Do you remenmber what you did in the horde install which might have caused the "User user@allaboutwood.com.au is not authorized for Horde." error? I guess this must be something in the horde user config or changing of a databse login or similar and not a change in a apache file.
     
  20. till

    till Super Moderator

Share This Page