FTP access to web files in ISPConfig

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by Rocky, Nov 7, 2005.

  1. Rocky

    Rocky New Member

    I've set up Debian Sarge 3.1(Perfect Setup) with ISPConfig successfully. However, I'm wondering if there is anyway to get FTP access to the web files for the site I've created.

    I've given the user administrator and shell access rights. When I log into the FTP server, it shows me a list of folders, includnig the web folder. When i edit the index.html file and upload it to the FTP server, it still brings up the default page. Could it be that this is not the web file location? When i visit my website, it gives me http://domain.tld/apache2-default/ in the lcation bar.

    Also, i noticed that when a user is created, it creates a home folder with a user website. I cannot access that site either. I tried http://www.domain.tld/user/ and http://www.domain.tld/users/user/ but it doesn't work. It gives me an Object Not Found error.
     
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    What's in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled?

    It's either www.domain.tld/users/<username> or www.domain.tld/~<username>
     
  3. Rocky

    Rocky New Member

    Below is the content of the file found in the /etc/apache2/sites-enabled folder.

    File name:
    000-default

    Content:
    NameVirtualHost *
    <VirtualHost *>
    ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost

    DocumentRoot /var/www/
    <Directory />
    Options FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    </Directory>
    <Directory /var/www/>
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
    AllowOverride None
    Order allow,deny
    allow from all
    # This directive allows us to have apache2's default start page
    # in /apache2-default/, but still have / go to the right place
    RedirectMatch ^/$ /apache2-default/
    </Directory>

    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /usr/lib/cgi-bin/
    <Directory "/usr/lib/cgi-bin">
    AllowOverride None
    Options ExecCGI -MultiViews +SymLinksIfOwnerMatch
    Order allow,deny
    Allow from all
    </Directory>

    ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/error.log

    # Possible values include: debug, info, notice, warn, error, crit,
    # alert, emerg.
    LogLevel warn

    CustomLog /var/log/apache2/access.log combined
    ServerSignature On

    Alias /doc/ "/usr/share/doc/"
    <Directory "/usr/share/doc/">
    Options Indexes MultiViews FollowSymLinks
    AllowOverride None
    Order deny,allow
    Deny from all
    Allow from 127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0 ::1/128
    </Directory>

    </VirtualHost>
     
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Can you delete that symlink (it should be a symlink to a real file, not a file itself) and restart Apache?
     
  5. Rocky

    Rocky New Member

    Do you mean delete the file 000-default?
     
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Yes, right.
     
  7. Rocky

    Rocky New Member

    Ok i've done that, now its giving me the following message when restarting apache2:

    Forcing reload of web server: Apache2[Mon Nov 07 17:03:18 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 141.150.64.158:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Mon Nov 07 17:03:18 2005] [warn] NameVirtualHost 141.150.64.158:80 has no VirtualHosts
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    That are just warnings, nothing serious. Is your web site working now?
     
  9. Rocky

    Rocky New Member


    No the website doesn't work now. It gives me an error Object not found!
     
  10. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Do you have multiple IP addresses on your server? What I can think of is that www.domain.tld's DNS record points to 141.150.64.158, whereas you set up www.domain.tld on another IP address in ISPConfig...
     
  11. Rocky

    Rocky New Member


    This is how I configure Debian:
    Host: server1
    Domain: tech4you.org
    IP: 192.168.0.x (Port forwarding is set up in the router to forward 141.150.64.158 to 192.168.0.x)
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway: router's ip
    DNS: freedns servers

    I've registered my domain name with godaddy.com and gave it 3 dns server addresses that were supplied to me by my freedns service.
    I've created the following hosts using my freedns account: www.tech4you.org, tech4you.org, mail.tech4you.org with an mx record also and server1.tech4you.org. I only have one public ip, 141.150.64.158, which I used with all my hosts.

    ISPConfig:
    Please enter your MySQL server: localhost
    Please enter your MySQL user: root
    Please enter your MySQL password: password
    Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database: ispconfig_db
    Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: 141.150.64.158
    Please enter the host name: server1
    Please enter the domain: tech4you.org
    Please select the protocol: https

    After ISPConfig loaded without any errors, I logged into it and created a client for tech4you.org. I then created a site for tech4you.org.

    Did I do something wrong? :confused:
     
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    You should have used the system's IP address (192.168...) instead of the router's public one...
     
  13. Rocky

    Rocky New Member

    So then that means that my install was correct?

    Well what I'll do now is re-install everything from the bottom up, in an attemp to really understand what I'm doing. Thanks again Falko. :)
     
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    No. When the installer asks you
    then you must enter the IP address of the system where ISPConfig is being installed (in your case 192.168.xxxxx), not the public IP address of your router (141.150.64.158).
     
  15. Rocky

    Rocky New Member

    Yep I understand and thank you very much for the hlep. :)
     

Share This Page