Fedora Core 5 ISP, Major Problems

Discussion in 'HOWTO-Related Questions' started by jnolla, May 29, 2006.

  1. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    Here is the strartup script for proftpd on my system:




    Code:
      #!/bin/sh
    # $Id: proftpd.init,v 1.1 2004/02/26 17:54:30 thias Exp $
    #
    # proftpd
                     This shell script takes care of starting and stopping
    #                proftpd.
    #
    # chkconfig: - 80 30
    # description: ProFTPD is an enhanced FTP server with a focus towards \
    #              simplicity, security, and ease of configuration. \
    #              It features a very Apache-like configuration syntax, \
    #              and a highly customizable server infrastructure, \
    #              including support for multiple 'virtual' FTP servers, \
    #              anonymous FTP, and permission-based directory visibility.
    # processname: proftpd
    # config: /etc/proftp.conf
    # pidfile: /var/run/proftpd.pid
    
    # Source function library.
    . /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions
    
    # Source networking configuration.
    . /etc/sysconfig/network
    
    # Check that networking is up.
    [ ${NETWORKING} = "no" ] && exit 0
    
    [ -x /usr/sbin/proftpd ] || exit 0
    
    RETVAL=0
    
    prog="proftpd"
    
    start() {
             echo -n $"Starting $prog: "
            daemon proftpd
            RETVAL=$?
            echo
                [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && touch /var/lock/subsys/proftpd
    }
    
    stop() {
            echo -n $"Shutting down $prog: "
            killproc proftpd
            RETVAL=$?
            echo
                [ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && rm -f /var/lock/subsys/proftpd
    }
    
    # See how we were called.
    case "$1" in
      start)
            start
                 ;;
      stop)
           stop
               ;;
      status)
             status proftpd
            RETVAL=$?
       ;;
      restart)
           stop
             ecstart
            daemon p;;
      condrestart)   
            if [ -f /var/lock/subsys/proftpd ]; then
              stop
              start
            fi
           ;;
      reload)
            kecho -n $"Re-reading $prog configuration: "
            killproc proftpd -HUP
            RETVAL=$?
            echo
           ;;
      *)
           echo "Usage: $prog {start|stop|restart|reload|condrestart|status}"
           exit 1
    esac
    
    exit $RETVAL ;;
    
     
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Ok, make /etc/init.d/startx look like this:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    # $Id: startx.init,v 1.1 2004/02/26 17:54:30 thias Exp $
    #
    # startx
    #               This shell script takes care of starting and stopping
    #                X.
    #
    # chkconfig: - 80 30
    # description: blabla
    # processname: startx
    
    startx
     
  3. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    Following error at boot:
    Line 5 command not found

    Thanks Falko
     
  4. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    This worked at start up; but nothing happened, still get the same blue screeen.

    Code:
     
    #!/bin/bash
    # $Id: startx.init,v 1.1 2004/02/26 17:54:30 thias Exp $
    # chkconfig: - 80 30
    # description: blabla
    # processname: startx
    
    
     
  5. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Can you post the exact content of your script?
     
  6. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    This is it

    Code:
     
    #!/bin/bash
    # $Id: startx.init,v 1.1 2004/02/26 17:54:30 thias Exp $
    # chkconfig: - 80 30
    # description: blabla
    # processname: startx
    
    
    [/QUOTE]
     
  7. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    Here something I discovered. If I entered the following:

    Code:
    kdm -nodaemon
    through ssh session I come up to the login screen, which is what I'm looking for. I'm wondering how can I take this and fix it at startup. Maybe a script?

    Now for the root user login I'm suppose to edit:

    Code:
    nano /etc/X11/xdm/kdmrc
    allowrootlogin = true
    
    But the file it's not there.
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    It must be

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    # $Id: startx.init,v 1.1 2004/02/26 17:54:30 thias Exp $
    #
    # startx
    #               This shell script takes care of starting and stopping
    #                X.
    #
    # chkconfig: - 80 30
    # description: blabla
    # processname: startx
    
    [B][COLOR="Red"]startx[/COLOR][/B]
     
  9. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    You can add this to the /etc/init.d/startx script as well.

    Now for the root user login I'm suppose to edit:

    Try to create it.
     
  10. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    Finally!!!

    This worked:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    # $Id: startx.init,v 1.1 2004/02/26 17:54:30 thias Exp $
    #
    # startx
    #               This shell script takes care of starting and stopping
    #                X.
    #
    # chkconfig: - 80 30
    # description: blabla
    # processname: nodaemon
    
    -kdm nodaemon
    
    

    Thanks Falko!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    For some reason it kills the startup scripts for:
    httpd
    ispconfig
    proftpd
     
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Are these services "on" in runlevels 2, 3, and 5 when you run
    Code:
    chkconfig --list
    ?
     
  13. jnolla

    jnolla New Member

    checked the service and 2, 3, and 5, are set to on, on all of them.

    Thanks
    Falko
     
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Hm, then the services should start... Can you reboot and try again?
     

Share This Page