[error] - The username is already in use

Discussion in 'General' started by yiannos, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. yiannos

    yiannos New Member

    Hi All,

    I have ISPc 2.2.27. I upgraded by ./setup script from 2.2.18 (I think).

    When I try to view a user's details tabs (e.g. Spamfilter & Antivirus), and also when I try to save a user's data (e.g. catchall, anti-spam etc), I get this message:
    The username is already in use
    If I wait for a while, I can then save normally. Also, I think that the record is saved although the message is displayed.

    Is this a bug or is it something I do wrong?

    TIA for any replies.
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Thats no bug. I guess you started the setup script twice without recreating the /root/ispconfig directory again, so the installer started the second time in install mode and not update mode. So now all user accounts are blacklisted. Remove the users from the file /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users
  3. daff

    daff New Member

    same problem

    I have the same problem here. I am quite sure that it made an update instead of a new install, because I hadn't for example to enter the certificate options or the connection to the DB. Also the log says that he made "Upgrading an existing ISPConfig installation.". I upgraded from 2.2.26

    my problem looks a little bit other. I can create users with no problems. When I want to change a setting and save I get to message like yiannos said, but the changes get performed. My system is Debian etch x64.

    I fixed it. Obviously appeared that problem with another update where it made someting wrong. Now I removed every user from ISPConfig in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users and everything works fine.
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2008
  4. yiannos

    yiannos New Member

    [Solved]-The username is already in use.

    Hi and thanks for the replies.

    Just for your reference,I am sure I only ran the setup script once. And it ran without problems.

    The 'users' file has all my usernames in it. Do I have to delete them all? What is this file used for?

    EDIT: I found the reply in the forum. Thank you for the assistance.
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2008

Share This Page