Don't delete shell access

Discussion in 'Tips/Tricks/Mods' started by studiox, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. studiox

    studiox New Member

    Just want to give headsup

    If you create an shell account via ISP Config 3 - Don't DELETE IT.

    This happend to me.

    1.) Created an local user / shell account from within isp config
    2.) At a later stage had issues with it.
    3.) Deleted the account
    4.) Created a new one.

    That resulted in the sites directory being DELETED (!!!!) from the filsystem. All symbolic links where still there but:

    The /var/www/clients/ClientX/WebY directory where DELETED.

    As this is a farily new server with raid5 I haven't had time to plug it in to my tape library - meaning i lost about 1 months of work, thanks alot :(

    Also the "slave server" option in isp config does not copy any data (that I knew of course) but for beginners that is valuable to know that "slave" in ISP Config does not actually mean anything.
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator

    About which ispconfig version are you talking here. I tried that with ispconfig 3.0.3 and the website directory does not get deleted as expected.
     

Share This Page