DNS records not saving correctly.

Discussion in 'General' started by xfxchilde, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member

    Everytime i make a dns record it puts peroids after the domain and replaces @ with peroids. and its making the dns records invalid. This is a fresh install.
    Also have a new issue. I can dig locally but if i try to dig on an external server i get servefails. This is a dedicated live front facing ip. There isnt any ports being blocked at all.

    Also did an external port scan and returned this.

    XXX.XXX.XXX.XX5 is responding on port 53 (domain).
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The dns records are saved correctly, the problem is that you enterd the records wrong. All fully qualified domain name in dns for BIND has to end with a dot and @ is no dns record. If a dns record has no dot at the end, then it is a subbrecord of the zone. And what you refer to as @ record is the record for the zone itself, so if you create a zone for domain.tld, then the record that you refer to as @ is "domain.tld.".

    Either you block the dns port with a firewall or the dns records in the registry of the domain tld has not been changed yet to point to the new dns server.
     
  3. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member


    Ive done the dig using the new nameserver to dig from and it doesnt work. Also i'm talking about entering the email address on the template page example: you enter test@test.com and the form saves it as test.test.com I also edited my first post saying i did a external port scan and its open.
     
  4. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member

    Retrieving DNS records for abc123.com...
    DNS servers
    ns1.abc123.com [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
    ns2.abc123.com [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
    DNS server returned an error: Name server failed

    Answer records

    Authority records

    Additional records


    That was done using http://network-tools.com/
     
  5. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Then your dns is blocked b a firewall or you configured bins to listen only on localhost.

    Thats absolutely correct as mail addresses in dns records are saved in this way and ispconfig corrects your wrong input automatically. You might want to read a bit more about BIND dns file format before complaining that ispconfig handles this wrong.
     
  6. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member

    I wasn't attacking.. i just thought it would save the way it was entered. I apologize.
     
  7. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member

    Still the port scan is saying that its there also like you suggested i researched how bind works.

    "listen-on — Specifies the network interface on which named listens for queries. By default, all interfaces are used. "

    Everything is default. Unless ISPconfig changes that. I followed the guide on this website to the T.
     
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The defaults depend on the Linux distribution you used and presets that might have been done by your internet provider, ispconfig does not set defaults for bind. To see if bind is listening on the correct interfaces, post the output of:

    netstat -tap | grep named

    and the output of:

    iptables -L
     
  9. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member

    root@server1:/etc/bind# netstat -tap | grep named
    tcp 0 0 localhost:953 *:* LISTEN 14323/named
    tcp 0 0 server1.dynainte:domain *:* LISTEN 14323/named
    tcp 0 0 localhost:domain *:* LISTEN 14323/named
    tcp6 0 0 localhost:953 [::]:* LISTEN 14323/named
    tcp6 0 0 [::]:domain [::]:* LISTEN 14323/named
    root@server1:/etc/bind# iptables -L
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination
    fail2ban-courierimaps tcp -- anywhere anywhere multipo rt dports imaps
    fail2ban-sasl tcp -- anywhere anywhere multiport dport s smtp
    fail2ban-ssh tcp -- anywhere anywhere multiport dports ssh
    fail2ban-pureftpd tcp -- anywhere anywhere multiport d ports ftp
    fail2ban-courierpop3s tcp -- anywhere anywhere multipo rt dports pop3s
    fail2ban-courierpop3 tcp -- anywhere anywhere multipor t dports pop3
    fail2ban-courierimap tcp -- anywhere anywhere multipor t dports imap2

    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain fail2ban-courierimap (1 references)
    target prot opt source destination
    RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere

    Chain fail2ban-courierimaps (1 references)
    target prot opt source destination
    RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere

    Chain fail2ban-courierpop3 (1 references)
    target prot opt source destination
    RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere

    Chain fail2ban-courierpop3s (1 references)
    target prot opt source destination
    RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere

    Chain fail2ban-pureftpd (1 references)
    target prot opt source destination
    RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere

    Chain fail2ban-sasl (1 references)
    target prot opt source destination
    RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere

    Chain fail2ban-ssh (1 references)
    target prot opt source destination
    RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere
    root@server1:/etc/bind#


    Also noted..

    http://www.geektools.com/digtool.php
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: REFUSED, id: 6 < if i use ns1.abc123.com
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 6 < if i use the ip of the server.

    Not sure if that matters or not.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  10. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Thats both ok.

    Please take alook into the syslog file in /var/log, are there any bind errors in there.

    According to your post above, you use a subdomain of the same zone as dns server name. This requires that you add glue records in the dns server of your provider were you registered the domain (not your ispconfig server). Have you added these glue records?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_Name_System#Circular_dependencies_and_glue_records
     
  11. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member

    Yes i have and i used internic.com to verify they are pointing to the proper ip address.
     
  12. xfxchilde

    xfxchilde New Member

    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: listening on IPv6 interfaces, port 53
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: listening on IPv4 interface lo, 127.0.0.1#53
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: listening on IPv4 interface venet0:0, xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx#53
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: generating session key for dynamic DNS
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: set up managed keys zone for view _default, file 'managed-keys.bind'
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 254.169.IN-ADDR.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 2.0.192.IN-ADDR.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 100.51.198.IN-ADDR.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 113.0.203.IN-ADDR.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 255.255.255.255.IN-ADDR.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 1.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: D.F.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 8.E.F.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 9.E.F.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: A.E.F.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: B.E.F.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: automatic empty zone: 8.B.D.0.1.0.0.2.IP6.ARPA
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: command channel listening on 127.0.0.1#953
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: command channel listening on ::1#953
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: zone 0.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 1
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: zone 127.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 1
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: zone 255.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 1
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: zone abc.com/IN: NS 'ns1.dynainternet.com' has no address records (A or AAAA)
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: zone dynainternet.com/IN: NS 'ns2.abc.com' has no address records (A or AAAA)
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: zone abc.com/IN: not loaded due to errors.
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: zone localhost/IN: loaded serial 2
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: managed-keys-zone ./IN: loading from master file managed-keys.bind failed: file not found
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: managed-keys-zone ./IN: loaded serial 0
    Aug 1 13:57:02 server1 named[394]: running





    --- pri.abc.com zonefile in /etc/bind


    GNU nano 2.2.4 File: pri.abc.com

    $TTL 3600
    @ IN SOA ns1.abc.com. dns.abc.com. (
    2012080102 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
    7200 ; refresh, seconds
    540 ; retry, seconds
    604800 ; expire, seconds
    86400 ) ; minimum, seconds
    ;

    abc.com. 3600 A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    abc.com. 3600 MX 10 mail.abc.com.
    abc.com. 3600 NS ns1.abc.com.
    abc.com. 3600 NS ns2.abc.com.
    mail 3600 A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    www 3600 A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2012
  13. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You missed to add A-Records in the zone for ns1 and ns2 subrecords.

    Add the records:

    Type: A
    Hostname: ns1
    IP address: 1.2.3.4
    Active: yes

    and

    Type: A
    Hostname: ns2
    IP address: 1.2.3.4
    Active: yes
     

Share This Page