Debin sarge kernel upgrade help

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by ColdDoT, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member


    i got a debian sarge with a kernel 2.4. i want to upgrade it to the latest stable kernel.

    but the server stands 260km of my house, so i don't wanna have something goes wrong when i upgrade it trough ssh.

    so does some 1 know a good guid or howto to upgrade the kernel without having complication with the fact that you are 260km of your server.

    greets ColdDoT
  2. Hans

    Hans Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Debian search for available linux 2.4 kernels:

    apt-cache search kernel |grep 2.4

    Choose the latest stable kernel and install it:

    apt-get install kernel-image-2.4.27-3-386

    (i use this kernel just as an example, your choiche depends on your CPU etc.)

    This commands reads the current installed linux kernel:

    uname -a

    Remove the current installed kernel:

    dpkg --purge --force-remove-essential kernel-image-2.4.x-x-386

    (your current kernel image according the output of uname -a)

    Reboot your server.

    uname -a

    (you'll will see your new kernel now up and running)

    I've tried this more then once succesfully, but i give NO WARANTY that it will work for you!!!
  3. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    i want to upgrade to 2.6 kernel, can i do it in the same way?
  4. Hans

    Hans Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    No i do not think so!
    I think that upgrading from linux 2.4 kernel series to the 2.6 kernel series is a different procedure.
    I am not familiar with that.

    Maybe, you can ask Falko for advice.
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2006
  5. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    Ok because i wanna run lm_sensors, for some munin plugins :)
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Have a look here:
  7. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    what is the change that it goes wrong
    upgrading a kernel 2.4.27-2-386 to the newest 2.6 kernel?
    it is a webserver with some custimers on it so it may not goes wrong.

    else is there a way to get lm_sensors working on 2.4.27-2-386 kernel (dell power edge 1u server 8xx)
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  8. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    I've updated my Dell severs (PowerEdge 1425) from the 2.4 kernal to the 2.6.8-3-686-smp (note the smp part for dual CPU)

    Till now I've never had a problem (my servers are about 100 km from here)

    The way I did it. (it's like Hans his way)

    1) Find the kernel you want to install
    apt-cache search kernel-image | grep 686
    (in my case 686)
    apt-cache search kernel-image | grep 2.6

    2) When you have found the correct kernel-image for your system you need to "install" it (lets say it's "kernel-image-2.6.8-3-686-smp"
    apt-get install kernel-image-2.6.8-3-686-smp
    Done. Now you can do a reboot.

    To see if you are using the new kernel, do a
    uname -a
    If you want you can (after the reboot) remove the "old" kernel

    Again. I've never had a problem doing it this way on my Dell servers!
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  9. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    uname -a
    Linux server 2.4.27-2-386 #1 Wed Nov 30 21:38:51 JST 2005 i686 GNU/Linux
    so can i install this package?
    kernel-image-2.6-686 - Linux 2.6 image on PPro/Celeron/PII/PIII/P4 - transition package
    and this is my CPU that is in my server
    One Intel® Xeon® processor at 3.2GHz with 2MB L2 cache
    (its a duel motherbord but i have only 1 prosessor installed)

    is it oke to install kernel-image-2.6-686 ?

    Thx for all the help so far
  10. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    I think that you can also install the "-smp" kernal.
    The Intel® Xeon® processor is a dual CPU.

    I have 2 Intel® Xeon® processor's in my system, and it's showing me CPU's 4 :)
  11. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    I'm a dead man :'(

    it has failled, no are my cutimers angry my dad is pissed of.


    damed because after 12 minutes he is still not back in the air again :(:(

    to bad dam dam dam i live with it
  12. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    This sucks man!

    What exactly did you do?
    Can you maybe call the data center, and ask if they reset the server for you?
  13. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    Exactly the steps you told me to do

    apt-get install kernel-image-2.6-686

    hot* package was removed
    some extra packgaes were installed

    in the end it says so like but loader config done
    image.l* done

    i've looked in to the file and there was a initri* image (2 for the 2.6 and 2 for the 2.4)


    and then he was dead
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    If you have a serial console, you can access your server even when it's not booting up (it's as if you were right in front of your server). Some hosters provide serial consoles.
  15. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    Oke i'm gonna place a other server next to the server there.

    so can i just connect a 'Nullmodemkabel' from server1(COM1) to server2(COM1), so that i can acces the serial console trough putty? or is that impossible?

    -server1 is down
    -i putty to server2
    -i read/write to/from COM1
    -server2 is down
    -i putty to server1
    -i read/write to/from COM1

    Is this possible?

    Thx ColdDoT
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2006
  16. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Sorry, I'm no expert in this area...
    But you seem to have physical access to your server, so why don't you try to replace the kernel while you're near your server?
  17. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    Yes thats true and that is what i'm gonna do,
    but it is handy to have it you see. if i have that system in that way setted up.
    i never have to go to amsterdam anymore.

    i can just putty to the working server and fix through the COM port the problem on the other server :)

    i have founded some thing so im going to get more info and test it soon. if i have tested and succes i post a tutorial on it :)

  18. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    Thats funny.. My servers are also in Amsterdam. (Redbus TeleCity)
  19. ColdDoT

    ColdDoT Member

    Redbus, TransIP :)

    moet ik wat voor je doen? daaro? :p

    Tomorry i'm gonna take a look there so do you guys have some tips?
    to fix it.
  20. edge

    edge Active Member Moderator

    If you are 260km from Amsterdam, you are (1) in Germandy, or (2) in Belgium :)

    I was with TransIP some time ago, but moved to a cheaper one (only 15 euro p/m.) PM me if you need to know who.

    Thank you, but all servers are working fine (touch wood).
    Your server should have rebooted after the kernel update.. All you probably need to do is hit the reset!
    Did you remove the old kernel allready? If not, you can boot in the old kernel, and remove the "bad" one you installed.

    Have fun at Redbus and. vergeet morgen je ID kaart niet anders kom je er niet in :-/

Share This Page