Deactivating Client leaves E-Mail active?

Discussion in 'General' started by teves, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. teves

    teves Member


    when blocking a client via the client editor (by setting the 'locked' and 'cancelled' options), I noticed that mailuser login for the clients' mail accounts ist still active. Is this bug or feature?

    The mail domain is set to 'not active', and in each mailbox setting 'Enable receiving' is unchecked and 'Disable SMTP (sending)' is checked.

    What is more, in our Open Xchange installation (which relies on IMAP login for user authentication), the login still works. I have to manually check the 'disable imap' checkbox in each account to prevent the blocked user from accessing Open Xchange.

    Is this behaviour configurable in a way that imap and pop3 is set inactive automatically when blocking clients?

    Thank you,
    regards, Tom
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Which ISPConfig version do you have installed?
  3. teves

    teves Member

    Version is on Debian Squeeze
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Did you run reconfigure services = yes during update?
  5. teves

    teves Member

    Yes we did.

    We had to reconfigure some details afterwards though. Perhaps we did something wrong then.

    Is there a certain config line we should look for?
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    I checked that. The intention was to block only incoming email when a client is locked, so the current functionality is intended. We might add a function to make thatc onfigurable in future.
  7. teves

    teves Member

    Hmm, maybe I am missing something, but what ist the use case for that philosophy?

    Usually, e.g. when a client does not pay, you would want to block him in a way that he does not have access to all the services you provide to him, though they keep on working perfectly, wouldn't you?

    If you block incoming email, the result is a loss of mails. When the client is coming back and pays his bill, these mails are gone for good.

    I do not expect that the blocking of clients is working the way I would wish it to be, but I don't see the use of the existing function either.

    Please explain!
    Thank you!
  8. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    A loss of emails would be if you accept emails and then delete them. Rejecting emails is not causing a loss of emails as the senders get notified that their emails were not accepted, so no sender expects that the recipient received the email.

    The services are not working anymore for the client as he will not be able to use this email account to send or receive emails. Denying a client access to his own property and emails are the property of the client and not your property as an ISP might have legal consequences for your company when you are an ISP.

    Off course you can deny the imap access as well if you want, thats where the checkboxes in the mailbox settings are for. So if you want to block that, feel free to do that.

Share This Page