Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by teedo757, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. zenny

    zenny Member

    Thanks Falko:

    After I changed the IP address to 192.168.1.204, when I try to access the site, then it gives an Shared IP message rather than a Welcome! page:

    Now what does this mean and where should I need to make the changes?
     
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    Do you access the website by IP address or domain name?
     
  3. zenny

    zenny Member

    I tried to access with the domain name but it does not render anything even after I created the glue records in domain control panel (creating child nameservers pointing to the 81.216.xxx.yyy which is the static public IP of the machine) of domain registrar.

    But when I try to access with the IP address, it gives Shared IP error.

    My architecture is like this:

    Internet-->>Cable Modem-->> Shorewall firewall on Hardware Node (a static public IP of 8.216.xxx.yyy) in the OpenVz machine and trying to have shared webhosting on other VEs in the rest of the 80 GB HDD (one of them with venet0:0 is assigned IP:192.168.1.204 and installed ISPConfig).

    I hope I made my point clear. Thanks again,
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2007
  4. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    You can not access sites in ISPConfig by IP address, you must use the domain name.

    wht is the output of:

    dig @localhost yourdomain.com

    where you must replace yourdomain.com with the domain name of your domain that is not working.
     
  5. zenny

    zenny Member

    the output is:

    However, I get the following results with dig ns mydomain.com:

    I could not locate what is the problem and the relevant solution? :-(
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2007
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Staff Member ISPConfig Developer

    The above output means that no DNS server is started on your server.

    Please start the dns server with:

    /etc/init.d/bind9 start

    or

    /etc/init.d/named start

    or similar. The exact name of the start / stop script dpends on your linux distribution.
     
  7. zenny

    zenny Member

    Got the following when I tried to start the dns server:

    Do I need to manually create the file: /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/web/multidoc/edit ? But when I checked there is an edit directory there with several other files inside. Please suggest.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2007
  8. zenny

    zenny Member

    After some search, i tried to solve the problem by following from page 1 to 3 (including an extensive reply by Falko in the thread), but the problem of non-starting dns persists.

    When I manually changed the zonefiles directory from /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/web/multidoc/edit to /var/named/chroot/var/named in the /etc/named.conf, the error does not show up, but the named fails to start.

    PS:I am using centos4.4 (both in HN node and also in VEs under OpenVZ).
     
  9. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

  10. zenny

    zenny Member

    Dear Falko:

    I setup the server exactly as specified in the perfect setup you posted. Your guide is what I am trying to follow up from the beginning till end. Still the DNS server and smtp server does not seem to run.

    The settings under DNS tab are:

    BIND User: named
    BIND Group: named
    named.conf: /etc/named.conf
    Zonefiles Dir.: /var/named/chroot/var/named
    Default Ns1: ns1.mydomain.com
    Default Ns2: ns2.externaldomain.com
    Admin Email: myemail
    Default MX: checked

    I hope this info is helpful. Thanks again!
     
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Ok, can you post the output of
    Code:
    ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/named/
    ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/
    ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/
    ls -la /var/named/chroot/
    ls -la /var/named/
    ?

    Did you disable SELinux?
     
  12. zenny

    zenny Member

    The SELinux is disabled.

    The outputs, as you asked for, are:

    # ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/named/
    total 8
    drwxrwxrwx 2 named named 4096 May 13 09:22 .
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 ..

    # ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/run/
    total 12
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 .
    drwxrwxr-x 5 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 ..
    drwxrwxrwx 2 named named 4096 May 13 09:22 named


    # ls -la /var/named/chroot/var/
    total 20
    drwxrwxr-x 5 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 .
    drwxrwxr-x 6 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 ..
    drwxrwxr-x 4 root named 4096 Aug 25 2004 named
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 run
    drwxrwx--- 2 named named 4096 Mar 14 2003 tmp

    # ls -la /var/named/chroot/
    total 20
    drwxrwxr-x 6 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 .
    drwxr-xr-x 5 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 ..
    drwxr-xr-- 2 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 dev
    drwxr-x--- 2 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 etc
    dr-xr-xr-x 95 root root 0 May 22 20:43 proc
    drwxrwxr-x 5 root named 4096 Mar 14 2003 var

    # ls -la /var/named/
    total 20
    drwxr-xr-x 5 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 .
    drwxr-xr-x 19 root root 4096 Nov 19 2006 ..
    drwxrwxr-x 6 root named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 chroot
    drwxrwx--- 2 named named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 data
    drwxrwx--- 2 named named 4096 Feb 7 12:35 slaves
     
  13. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    The permissions are ok... :confused:
     
  14. zenny

    zenny Member

    Dear Falko:

    Do you think this is a problem without any ends? Actually I have been struggling for months to make it work. I scanned through several threads in this forum, but in vain. So, I decided to post it here, again there does not seem any light in the horizon. :-(

    I queried with dnsreports.com and it shows everything okay (green) except the internal DNS server unreachable.

    Since I am learning myself to create my own datacenter (at home), I need to learn the basics myself rather than having someone help me out. Else, the amount of time I spend is more dearer than having someone to do the setup.

    I wish with the help of experts here, I am optimistic that I could overcome the problem. Z
     
  15. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    You could post your real domain name here so that I can run a few tests myself.
     
  16. zenny

    zenny Member

    Falko: the domain is:

    aristoli.com

    Thanks again!
     
  17. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    It seems you haven't even set up namservers for your domain:

    Code:
    mh1:~# dig ns aristoli.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> ns aristoli.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 57646
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;aristoli.com.                  IN      NS
    
    ;; Query time: 5009 msec
    ;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
    ;; WHEN: Sat May 26 19:25:09 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 30
    Your domain registrar should have a web interface where you can specify nameservers. Please do that. Afterwards, at least the nameservers should show up, and we are a step further.
     
  18. zenny

    zenny Member

    That is already done from the very beginning. The whois gives the following:

    Note that ns1.aristoli.com is assigned the IP address of the ISPconfig server. I don't see any other changes that can be made except assigned the two nameservers or create a child nameserver on the domain registrar's control panel. If there is anything specific. let me know. Thanks again!
     
  19. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

  20. zenny

    zenny Member

    Dear Falko:

    Thank you for your instructions. If I understand right the glue records are created in domain as the primary and secondary nameservers by creating child namservers. Which I did earlier or did I miss something? And a test at dnsreport.com states that the glue records were created and the test passes as attached below (http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?&domain=aristoli.com):

    And the problem, in my novice opinion, is the result of the not-running BIND server? You know the best, indeed!
     

Share This Page