Complete newbie questions

Discussion in 'General' started by tristanlee85, Apr 23, 2006.

  1. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    I've been browsing through this forum and through the ISPconfig documentation and I'm completely lost. I'll begin with the fact that I am currently running a webserver and it's only accessable remotely by the IP address. I've actually got these domain purchased by a registrar: plastikracing.net and vasceria.com.

    I'm trying to figure out how to setup a domain (fedexunderground.com) to run from my computer. I've installed ISPconfig successfully and I've been messing with a lot of things in the admin section (localhost:81). I've got so many questions I don't even know where to begind. Basically, the FedEx site I'm working on was originally located at 65.186.87.93/fedex1 and now I'd like to set it up to www.fedexunderground.com. Stuff like the DNS servers I'm not sure what to enter. I saw in the documentation that the example showed 2 IP addresses, but I ony have one IP address.

    Can anyone help? I'm completely unsure as where to begin.
     
  2. oliver.blaha

    oliver.blaha ISPConfig Developer

    I'll try to help you, but you have to make some things a littlbe bit clearer.

    Am I right that you can specifiy which IP address the domains should point to?

    Does your computer have a fixed IP address? Or is it connected with a dialup account with flexible IP addresses?
     
  3. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    I have a static IP address from my cable company (65.186.87.93) and I setup this computer that I'm on to have a static IP on 192.168.1.110.
     
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

    Then you must point the DNS records for fedexunderground.com to 65.186.87.93 and forward port 80 from your router to your ISPconfig system. Afterwards, create a web site for fedexunderground.com with ISPConfig (if you haven't already).
     
  5. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    So I don't need to purchase the domain fedexunderground.com to be able to do this? I can't even get BIND to work correctly. It says it's offline and I have no idea what I put for my nameserver 1 and 2. Here is what I currently have:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  6. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

    If you want to use a domain in the internet, you must own this domain or the owner of this domain must allow you to set DNS-Records for the domain.

    To your bind problem:

    Did you get any errors when you start bind on the commandline?
     
  7. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    Alright. The domain is purchased and I currently have it forwarding to my IP. I just can't figure out how to set this up so instead of forwarding www.fedexunderground.com to my IP, I can use nameservers and have the site work that way.
     
  8. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    Code:
    [root@localhost tristan]# /etc/init.d/named start
    Starting named:
    Error in named configuration:
    /etc/named.conf:3: change directory to '/var/named/chroot/var/named' failed: file not found
    
    /etc/named.conf:3: parsing failed
                                                               [FAILED]
    [root@localhost tristan]#
     
  9. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

    Which distribution do you use? What's in /etc/named.conf?
     
  10. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    I'm using Fedora Core 5 and named.conf is completely blank.
     
  11. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

    /etc/named.conf is completely empty? Why does the error state that there's an error in line 3 of /etc/named.conf?
     
  12. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    Appearantly I tried to view the file as a regular user and not sudo. Here it is:

    Code:
    options {
            pid-file "/var/named/chroot/var/run/named/named.pid";
            directory "/var/named/chroot/var/named";
            auth-nxdomain no;
            /*
             * If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
             * to talk to, you might need to uncomment the query-source
             * directive below.  Previous versions of BIND always asked
             * questions using port 53, but BIND 8.1 uses an unprivileged
             * port by default.
             */
            // query-source address * port 53;
    };
    
    //
    // a caching only nameserver config
    //
    zone "." {
            type hint;
            file "named.ca";
    };
    
    zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" {
            type master;
            file "named.local";
    };
    
    zone "1.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
            type master;
            file "pri.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa";
    };
    
    
    zone "fedexunderground.com" {
            type master;
            file "pri.fedexunderground.com";
    };
    
    
    
    //// MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ////
     
  13. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

    Does the directory /var/named/chroot/var/named exist?
     
  14. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    Code:
    [root@localhost tristan]# cd /var/named/chroot/var/named/
    [root@localhost named]# ls
    data
    localdomain.zone
    localdomain.zone.2006-04-23_03-34-45.371890000
    localdomain.zone.2006-04-23_03-34-49.051259000
    localhost.zone
    localhost.zone.2006-04-23_03-34-45.382151000
    localhost.zone.2006-04-23_03-34-49.061204000
    named.broadcast
    named.broadcast.2006-04-23_03-34-45.392309000
    named.broadcast.2006-04-23_03-34-49.070353000
    named.ca
    named.ca.2006-04-23_03-34-45.402983000
    named.ca.2006-04-23_03-34-49.080780000
    named.ip6.local
    named.ip6.local.2006-04-23_03-34-45.413590000
    named.ip6.local.2006-04-23_03-34-49.090616000
    named.local
    named.local.2006-04-23_03-34-45.424637000
    named.local.2006-04-23_03-34-49.099791000
    named.zero
    named.zero.2006-04-23_03-34-45.435183000
    named.zero.2006-04-23_03-34-49.109058000
    pri.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa
    pri.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa~
    pri.fedexunderground.com
    pri.fedexunderground.com~
    slaves
    [root@localhost named]#
    
     
  15. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

    Please do this:

    Code:
    chmod 755 /var/named/
    chmod 775 /var/named/chroot/
    chmod 775 /var/named/chroot/var/
    chmod 755 /var/named/chroot/var/named/
    chmod 775 /var/named/chroot/var/run/
    chmod 777 /var/named/chroot/var/run/named/
    cd /var/named/chroot/var/named/
    ln -s ../../ chroot
     
  16. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    Alright. That works. I started 'named' with no issues. Now, I need to figure out how to setup ISPconfig.
     
  17. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

  18. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    Alright, this is one step I don't know of.

    [​IMG]

    Right now my hostname is 'localhost.localdomain' What exactly would I enter for the "host.domain.com" part? I've got 3 domains that I've purchased. Those are mentioned in the 1st post. Before when I've changed it just to see what happened, it took nearly 15 - 20 minutes to boot up. It would stay on the 'resolving hostname' screen.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2006
  19. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter

    Let's say you have bought the domain example.com. Create the hostname server1.example.com (I hope your registry has a web interface where you can create this DNS record) and point it to your server's public IP address. Then enter server1.example.com for host.domain.com.
     
  20. tristanlee85

    tristanlee85 New Member

    Well, I was able to go in and add a DNS like you see at the bottom:

    [​IMG]

    When I installed FC5 (like the image above), I entered server.vasceria.com. So, in my registrar I added the host 'server.vasceria.com' with the IP leading to my computer. Is this correct?
     

Share This Page