Complete mess setting up pureftpd

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by Codemonkey1991, Nov 3, 2010.

1. Codemonkey1991

Codemonkey1991 New Member

Let me start off by saying that I'm a complete noob with only a basic understanding of Linux.

Here is a basic description of what I've done so far
    1. I followed a howtoforge tutorial setting up my entire server - this included pureftpd
    2. I found a different tutorial using a different version of pureftpd, so i deleted pure-ftpd-mysql and installed pure-ftpd
    3. I then found a DIFFERENT tutorial where pure-ftpd was extracted, compiled and installed manually, so I deleted pure-ftpd and installed this one
    4. I found a great tutorial explaining how to set up pure-ftpd-mysql, so now I'm trying to purge the server of everything FTP before I proceed to make a bigger mess

I have run #apt-get remove pure-ftpd pure-ftpd-mysql and apt-get clear, autoremove, autoclean and every variety of that command.

But I can still connect to FTP, so the manually installed version must still be running. I have no idea how to remove it, so I'll open with that and move on to other issues later.

So to sum up: How do I remove the manually installed pure-ftpd-1.0.29 from my system?

Thanks for any help
  2. koressak

koressak New Member

well, it depends on where did you install it.
    If you downloaded the source and saved it in for example /usr/opt/pureftp than all binaries and stuff should be running from it.

When you locate the binaries, kill the pureftpd process which is running ->
    ps -ef | grep pureftpd
    kill -9 process_id

And then remove the directories.
    If there are some config files in /etc/pureftpd, back them up. You may use it someday.
  3. Codemonkey1991