Can't reach my server

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by Dekalb, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    1. I changed it back to Godaddy's default parked servers.
    2. This is How my CNAMES page look like:
    [​IMG]
    Now I'm getting "This page is parked free, courtesy of GoDaddy.com" when I try to load my website ...
    Hope this stuff will get better within the magical 48 hrs...
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2007
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Did you create the DNS records in GoDaddy's web interface, too?
     
  3. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    Do you mean to New A Record?
    If yes, this is How my A Records page look like (ns pointing to ns1 /ns2.dyndns.org IP):
    (11:00) magical 24-48 hrs...
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2007
  4. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    No, don't create A records, but use CNAME records instead that point to your own dyndns.org subdomain.
     
  5. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    Would you please be more specific and let me know how my CNAME records should look like;

    (14:45) Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2007
  6. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

  7. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    It doesn't work.
    I don't know what went wrong.
     
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Can you post your real domain name? I'll do a check then.
     
  9. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    osxfix.com

    Thanks.
     
  10. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    osxfix.com is an A record, not a CNAME record:

    Code:
    mh1:~# dig osxfix.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> osxfix.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 31169
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;osxfix.com.                    IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    osxfix.com.             3600    IN      A       68.178.232.100
    
    ;; Query time: 268 msec
    ;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jul 19 14:47:11 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 44
    And www.osxfix.com doesn't exist at all:

    Code:
    mh1:~# dig www.osxfix.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> www.osxfix.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 25245
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.osxfix.com.                        IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    osxfix.com.             10800   IN      SOA     ns57.domaincontrol.com. dns.jomax.net. 2007070800 28800 7200 604800 86400
    
    ;; Query time: 189 msec
    ;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Jul 19 14:47:23 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 100
     
  11. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    What should I do?
    I have this domain rgistered in godaddy and i have created a Cname for it in godaddy;

     
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    You've forgotten the dots at the end:

    osxfix.com. zicks.mine.nu. 1 Hour

    www.osxfix.com. zicks.mine.nu. 1 Hour

    Without the dots, osxfix.com means osxfix.com.osxfix.com. (which is now existing:
    Code:
    [email protected]:~# dig osxfix.com.osxfix.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> osxfix.com.osxfix.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23082
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;osxfix.com.osxfix.com.         IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    osxfix.com.osxfix.com.  3600    IN      CNAME   zicks.mine.nu.
    zicks.mine.nu.          60      IN      A       69.114.174.194
    
    ;; Query time: 217 msec
    ;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Jul 20 16:30:31 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 82
    ) and www.osxfix.com means www.osxfix.com.osxfix.com:

    Code:
    [email protected]:~# dig www.osxfix.com.osxfix.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> www.osxfix.com.osxfix.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23619
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.osxfix.com.osxfix.com.     IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    www.osxfix.com.osxfix.com. 3600 IN      CNAME   zicks.mine.nu.
    zicks.mine.nu.          60      IN      A       69.114.174.194
    
    ;; Query time: 271 msec
    ;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Jul 20 16:32:32 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 86
    Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
     
  13. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    I added the missing dots but I still get an error.

     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2007
  14. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    It's working for me:

    Code:
    mh1:~# dig osxfix.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> osxfix.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 11691
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;osxfix.com.                    IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    osxfix.com.             3600    IN      CNAME   zicks.mine.nu.
    zicks.mine.nu.          60      IN      A       69.114.174.194
    
    ;; Query time: 329 msec
    ;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Jul 21 18:46:07 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 71
    
    mh1:~# dig www.osxfix.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> www.osxfix.com
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 55049
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;www.osxfix.com.                        IN      A
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    www.osxfix.com.         3600    IN      CNAME   zicks.mine.nu.
    zicks.mine.nu.          54      IN      A       69.114.174.194
    
    ;; Query time: 195 msec
    ;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Jul 21 18:46:13 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 75
    
    mh1:~#
    If you change DNS records, it can take up to 72 hours until the changes propagate.
     
  15. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    I belive that 72 hours are over due
    and still "The page cannot be displayed ..."
    :(
     
  16. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Is 69.114.174.194 your server's public IP address?
     
  17. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    It look like it is...
     
  18. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    Then probably your router isn't configured right. Please check its settings again.
     
  19. Dekalb

    Dekalb New Member

    This is my router settings, Hope you can help me with it:
    Thats it...
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  20. falko

    falko Super Moderator ISPConfig Developer

    But you must configure it to forward the desired ports (e.g. 80 for http) to your server...
     

Share This Page