bind9 configuration problem

Discussion in 'Server Operation' started by Bakty1975, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. Bakty1975

    Bakty1975 New Member

    I want simple answers to a simple problem, if someboby is nice to help me. My problem is that I buy a domain, let`s call it xyz.ro from roltd, my national domain provider. I set up a dns server on server1 computer, and also I registred the nameserver to roltd. Operating system is ubuntu server (last version) and server is bind9 (also last version). I was install also apache2 server and mysql server on machine called server1. I made a file index.php, is accesible from local network (http://192.168.xxx.xxx) but from www is not accesible. why my domain is not accesible from www ? I think that my problem is somewhere to bind9 configuration, but where is the problem? I use static routable ip, and computer called server 1 is behind a router. I also did port forwarding for 53 port and uncomment in /etc/bind/named.conf.options the line "query-source address * port 53" so, i don`t understand what`s happening! The bind say that start ok, and I copy from console the follwing section, for somebody who know to answer my problem:

    root@server1:~# host xyz.ro
    xyz.ro mail is handled by 10 server1.xyz.ro.
    root@server1:~# dig xyz.ro

    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.2-P1 <<>> xyz.ro
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 53575
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;xyz.ro. IN A

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    xyz.ro. 1500 IN SOA server1.xyz.ro. root.xyz.ro. 2007062703 28800 3600 604800 38400

    ;; Query time: 1 msec
    ;; SERVER: 78.97.xxx.xxx#53(78.97.xxx.xxx)
    ;; WHEN: Fri Aug 8 23:57:10 2008
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 82

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Did you also open port 53 UDP?

    What's the output of
    Code:
    dig ns xyz.ro
    ?
     
  3. Bakty1975

    Bakty1975 New Member

    for dig interogation

    root@server1:~# dig xyz.ro

    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.2-P1 <<>> xyz.ro
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 62996
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;xyz.ro. IN A

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    xyz.ro. 86400 IN A 192.168.xxx.xxx

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    xyz.ro. 86400 IN NS ns0.xname.org.
    xyz.ro. 86400 IN NS ns1.xname.org.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.xname.org. 273 IN A 87.98.164.164
    ns0.xname.org. 23733 IN A 195.234.42.1

    ;; Query time: 1 msec
    ;; SERVER: 78.97.xx.xx#53(78.97.xx.xx)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Aug 9 13:25:23 2008
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 126
     
  4. Bakty1975

    Bakty1975 New Member

    for dig ns interogation

    root@server1:~# dig ns xyz.ro

    ; <<>> DiG 9.4.2-P1 <<>> ns xyz.ro
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 15726
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;xyz.ro. IN NS

    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    xyz.ro. 86400 IN NS ns0.xname.org.
    xyz.ro. 86400 IN NS ns1.xname.org.

    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns0.xname.org. 23375 IN A 195.234.42.1

    ;; Query time: 1 msec
    ;; SERVER: 78.97.xx.xx#53(78.97.xx.xx)
    ;; WHEN: Sat Aug 9 13:31:21 2008
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 94


    I think port 53 is opened, i also check in router for firewall setings.
    From my computer for http://xyz.ro is responding, but for www.xyz.ro is not responding. Also, from another pc in the network is not responding at all, no http, no www too.
    Thanks for interest, best regards,
    Marky
     
  5. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Are these your own nameservers?
     
  6. Bakty1975

    Bakty1975 New Member

    nameserver

    No, this nameservers belong to xname.org, they say are primary and secondary DNS server hosters. My server name is server1 and is the server who has installed bind9 server, apache2 and php suport. I try to use their (ns0, and ns1 xname) servers because probably they have ups back-up servers and more that i afford, so i try to configure my bind9 dns server with their nameservers, and use my computer for hosting my site. Did i had had sothing wrong?
     
  7. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    You must tell your registrar that you want to use server 1 as the primary nameserver for xyz.ro instead of ns0.xname.org.
     

Share This Page