Beginner needs help.

Discussion in 'Installation/Configuration' started by tjw, Mar 15, 2012.

  1. tjw

    tjw New Member

    Hello all. I've installed centOS on my home server hoping to create a dedicated website for my home. I followed the easy and beginner friendly guide created by Falko, The Perfect Server - CentOS 6.2 x86_64 With nginx [ISPConfig 3]. Installation was simple. It is running fresh on my comp under a domain name purchased and configured to forward to the external ip address of my server.

    I am just having issues finding how to edit the html files without using a command prompt to manually type my index.html page. How do I use ispconfig to edit these settings. keep in mind I am semi-new.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012
  2. till

    till Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    1) Login to ispconfig, go to the sites module and add a new ftp user for the website.
    2) Get a FTP program, w.g. fireftp and upload or edit your website.
     
  3. sjau

    sjau Local Meanie Moderator HowtoForge Supporter

    I'm not sure what you're trying to achieve / edit.
     
  4. tjw

    tjw New Member

    This sounds right. Going to try it out. I did not realize it was a seperate application. I was looking for some sort of editor in ispconfig... Excited to get to work on it soon. Thanks for the reply.

    Editing the website. Thanks for the reply.
     
  5. tjw

    tjw New Member

    stuck again

    Hello. I wasn't sure if I should create a new thread or not as I have another question but unrelated to the first post. Anyways, I decided to just reply...

    I decided to start fresh with a new install of everything (following falko's guide again) as I had messed around a lot with my last install just testing things and experimenting. Long story short, I figured a reinstall would be quicker than going though and resetting/deleting everything I shouldn't have installed or changed.

    So once again, perfect install. no problems there. I have a fresh install, I did everything I had learned from the last one but I'm just missing something. When I go to my website lets say example.com, I get the blue "Welcome to nginx on EPEL!" page rather than the green page I think I should have gotten. So when I uploaded my website, it only displays the nginx page.

    I know I'm just missing some minor step but Ive been searching for hours and nothing has come up, nor can i remember what I did before... :/

    Thanks ahead of time.
     
  6. admin

    admin Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    You should select a specific IP address in the IP address field instead of *. You can add IP addresses under System.
     
  7. tjw

    tjw New Member

    Doesn't seem to have worked. I added the ip address 192.168.0.111 (I use 192.168.0.110 as my machines local ip)and changed my website IPv4-Address to 192.168.0.111. Then I went into my system and added eth0:0 (as instructed by Falkos ISPconfig manual) configuring it as the guide instructed me. (My eth0 had several more options than the example did).

    Not sure if I did that right, nothing changed when I visit my site. Additionally, when I type ifconfig it displays "interrupt: 23" after eth0 and eth0:0. I do not thing this came up before adding eth0:0 but I'm not sure.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012
  8. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Can you post the
    Code:
    ifconfig 
    output?

    Does the domain's DNS record (or the hosts file entry on your client PC) to 192.168.0.111?
     
  9. tjw

    tjw New Member

    Code:
    [root@tj ~]# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:E0:4C:F3:48:27
              inet addr:192.168.0.110  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:4cff:fef3:4827/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:5651 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1246 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:621356 (606.7 KiB)  TX bytes:253892 (247.9 KiB)
              Interrupt:23
    
    eth0:0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:E0:4C:F3:48:27
              inet addr:192.168.0.111  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              Interrupt:23
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:4974 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:4974 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:737486 (720.2 KiB)  TX bytes:737486 (720.2 KiB)
    
    [root@tj ~]#

    Not sure if this is needed either but my /etc/hosts file is the following

    127.0.0.1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4
    192.168.0.110 tj.server.com tj
    ::1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost6 localhost6.localdomain6

    Should I add one for 192.168.0.111?

    I would guess adding the following line

    "192.168.0.111 'example.com'" //where example.com is the domain name for the site
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2012
  10. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

  11. tjw

    tjw New Member

    Adding that to each of my own computers will only keep the site visible to my own computers, on my own network. It needs to be public.

    I have my purchased domain forwarding to my centOS external IP. I believe it is just sending back information from the IP 192.168.0.110 (the IP used for the initial setup of the system.) I want it to display the setup from 192.168.0.111.

    I'm starting to think I need to configure something with my domain provider. My network is doing just what it needs to but I need incoming viewers to be directed to 192.168.0.111 when they connect to my server through a specific domain. This way I can host several websites through one box.

    Thank you for your help still.
     
  12. falko

    falko Super Moderator Howtoforge Staff Moderator HowtoForge Supporter ISPConfig Developer

    Then you must create a DNS record that points to your router's public IP, and your router must then forward port 80 to 192.168.0.111.
     

Share This Page