Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st October 2005, 08:25
Tbagz Tbagz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville Tn.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installing Gentoo, grub help.

I just ran the "grub-install" and got this back:
Code:
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0
end_request: I/O error, dev fd0, sector 0

Installation finished. No errors reported. 
This is the contents of the device map /boot/grub/device.map.
Check if this is correct or not. If any of the lines is incorrect,
fix it and re-run the script "grub-install".

(fd0)   /dev/fd0
(hd0)  /dev/hda
my partitions are:-----------------------------------blocks

/dev/hda1 /boot--------grub=(hd0,0)-------32M-----31720+
/dev/hda2 /swap-------grub=(hd0,1)-------512M----258552
/dev/hda3 extended----grub=???????-------9216M---9675288
/dev/hda5 /root--------grub=(hd0,2)or3?---4096M---2064856+
/dev/hda6 /home-------grub=(hd0,3)or4?---5120M---7610368+

Im stumpped

Last edited by Tbagz; 21st October 2005 at 08:30.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st October 2005, 09:59
Tbagz Tbagz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville Tn.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i see now. it is tryint to install grub to fd0, my floppy drive...lol
how o i get it to stop. and install to (hd0,0)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st October 2005, 10:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

fd0 is your floppy drive. I guess there wasn't a diskette in there when the errors were reported. I think you can forget about the error.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st October 2005, 10:06
Tbagz Tbagz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville Tn.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how do I get it to install with out acessing the floppy?

I tried grub --no-floppy and now im in grub but I dont think it is installed......
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st October 2005, 11:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tbagz
how do I get it to install with out acessing the floppy?
Good question.
If you don't need the floppy, remove/disconnect it from your computer.
Maybe you can then have a look at the Grub configuration, install Grub again with the floppy connected, and compare the new configuration and make the appropriate changes...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd October 2005, 09:44
Tbagz Tbagz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville Tn.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

one more question about grub

If my root partition is /dev/hda5 =(hd0,4) and grub is acking for root in the conf do i write (hd0,4) or is it asking for boot, when it says root? IO am getting conflicting answers from reading FAQs.

Any help would be great.

default 0

timeout 30

splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r11

root (hd0,0)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda3
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd October 2005, 10:51
Tbagz Tbagz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville Tn.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well I did this:

default 0

timeout 20

splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6

root (hd0,4)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5

upon reboot I got the splashscreen to choose the kernel. After choosing I get this:
Booting 'Gentoo Linus 2.6.12-r6'
root (hd0,4)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partitin type 0x83
kernel /kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/hda5


Error 15: File not found

Press any key to continue...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th October 2005, 16:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

On a Debian system it looks like this:

Code:
default         0
timeout         5

color cyan/blue white/blue

title           Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.8-2-386
root            (hd0,0)
kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8-2-386 root=/dev/sda1 ro
initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.8-2-386
savedefault
boot

title           Debian GNU/Linux, kernel 2.6.8-2-386 (recovery mode)
root            (hd0,0)
kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8-2-386 root=/dev/sda1 ro single
initrd          /boot/initrd.img-2.6.8-2-386
savedefault
boot
HTH.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th October 2005, 02:16
Tbagz Tbagz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville Tn.
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok so instead of
default 0

timeout 20

splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6

root (hd0,4)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda5

it should have been:

default 0

timeout 20

splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6

root (hd0,0)

kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r11 root=/dev/hda1

But my next problem comes in here I know, I am sorry I went ahead and turned off the computer because It was 0500 in the morning. now I cant get back to where I was. when I try to mount and chroot i get file or directory not found. so I dont know how to mount back in to see my grub.conf of I just messed it up anyway and have to start over? I hope not but I will.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th October 2005, 04:46
themachine themachine is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

NOTE BEFORE ANYTHING: The bigest confusion is between what GRUB calls 'root' and what linux mounts as 'root' or '/'.

GRUB => root(hd0,0) specifies the 'root of where grub is installed', or in other words '/boot'.

LINUX => 'root' refers to the '/' partition.

now...

I'm assuming this:

/dev/hda => the primary disk
(hd0,0) => /dev/hda1 => /boot
(hd0,1) => /dev/hda2 => swap
(hd0,2) => /dev/hda3 => /tmp
(hd0,3) => /dev/hda4 => /

/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9 => kernel
/boot/initrd-2.6.12-9.img => initrd image file


If your first partition (/dev/hda1) is '/boot' then the following is what you would want to do in order to setup grub.


I first run the grub-install util to install to the Master Boot Record:

Code:
grub-install /dev/hda

Then, setup grub by executing the 'grub' command:

Code:
# grub

grub> root (hd0,0)

grub> setup (hd0)

grub> quit

Again, as stated above, in this section 'root' refers to the 'root directory that grub is installed' which is the first partition on our hda disk (/dev/hda1 => /boot). If you do *not* have a separate '/boot' partition... then this will be the '/' partition.

After this you should have the folder '/boot/grub' with associated files. Assuming your kernel is something like '/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9' then you would need, at the least, the following in '/boot/grub/grub.conf':

(Please note that some distros recognize '/boot/grub/menu.lst' rather than '/boot/grub/grub.conf'... and most link them one way or the other so that both work.)

Code:
timeout 5
default 0

title Linux Kernel (vmlinuz-2.6.12-9)
	 root (hd0,0)
	 kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.12-9 root=/dev/hda4
	 # if using initial ramdisk, uncomment the following line
	 # initrd /initrd-2.6.12-9.img
line 1) Title line (obvious)

line 2) root(hd0,0) specifies the partition that holds grub ('/boot')

line 3) specifies where the kernel is on (hd0,0)... i.e '(hd0,0)/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9' is the same as '/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9' and since you have specified 'root (hd0,0)' then the same thing is written as '/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9'. The second part to this is the 'root=' line. This directive specifies where your ROOT partition is... i.e '/'. So if '/dev/hda4' is the partition that is mounted as '/'... then you would want 'root=/dev/hda4'.

line 4) Specify where the initrd is found. This depends on how your kernel was compiled. To see, grep your kernel .config file (usually found as '/boot/config-[kernel version]') or wherever you compiled the kernel ('/usr/src/linux-2.6.12-9/.config' ... etc). Typing the following will show whether it was compiled:

Code:
cat /boot/config-2.6.12-9 | grep -i initrd

CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=y

for 'yes', or 

CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=m

for 'module', or

CONFIG_BLK_DEV_INITRD=n

for 'no'


SAVING YOURSELF.... FROM A BROKEN GRUB INSTALL...


If you gotten yourself in a pickle, don't fret. Basically, when the system boots to the GRUB boot loader you can manually execute what *should* be in your /boot/grub/grub.conf.

So, you boot to GRUB and it does nothing.... do the following:

type 'c' for a grub> command prompt.
type 'root(hd0,0)' or whatever your 'grub root partition is'.

you should see something like:

Code:
grub> root (hd0,0)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
if not, you might see
Code:
grub> root(hd0,2)
Filesystem type unkown
or something like that. Then type your kernel line (note that you can use TAB COMPLETION just like in bash... very nice!)

Code:
grub> kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz-2.6.12-9 root=/dev/hda4
	 [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1400, size=0x124587]
if you type it wrong

Code:
grub> kernel (hd0,0)/vmlinuz2.6.12-9 root=/dev/hda4
	 Error 15: File not found
If you need to specify an initrd... just type that line too:

Code:
initrd (hd0,0)/initrd-2.6.12-9
Once your done, just type 'boot' and you should be good to go.
__________________
themachine
5dollarwhitebox.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Script questions && Gentoo version hagel Feature Requests 4 7th May 2006 13:19
ispconfig and gentoo pfm.smits Installation/Configuration 9 8th December 2005 14:27
Installing ISPConfig on Mandrake using Webmin badben Installation/Configuration 4 14th October 2005 20:51
Installing Frontpage Extensions stlshawn Installation/Configuration 6 12th October 2005 12:58
Custom Kernel and Installing nVidia Drivers (Xandros) neu2linux Suggest HOWTO 0 6th October 2005 15:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.