#1  
Old 18th January 2007, 19:48
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default named issue

Hi,

I have the following issue with named:
I use ISPConfig 2.2.9 on FC6 with chroot named

All was OK till today.
I have a few domains on that server.
All of them are resolving when I type 'dig @server domain' except one, which stopped resolving today.
What is different with this domain is that it has about 20 subdomains that I added since yesterday, because I run a test hostin service and my test clients are using subdomains to this main domain.
The records in the zone file are correctly written and all seems OK regarding the configuration.
The only thing is that the subdomains stopped resolving from one point.
The main domain and some of the subdomains that I created earlier are still resolving due to the fact that are cached and due to the secondary DNS.
I don't have the subdomains in the secondary dns.

Thanks,

Apostol
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th January 2007, 20:08
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default output of dig

This is what I get:

dig @217.79.34.140 dir.joomla-bg.net

; <<>> DiG 8.3 <<>> @217.79.34.140 dir.joomla-bg.net
; (1 server found)
;; res options: init recurs defnam dnsrch
;; got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 30950
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; QUERY SECTION:
;; dir.joomla-bg.net, type = A, class = IN

;; Total query time: 17 msec
;; FROM: gurko.smartcall.bg to SERVER: 217.79.34.140
;; WHEN: Thu Jan 18 20:07:06 2007
;; MSG SIZE sent: 35 rcvd: 35
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th January 2007, 20:50
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,794
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Please stop bind with the script in /etc/init.d/, then check with the command "ps -aux" if there are still some bind / named processes running. Kill these processes with the command "kill -9 [PROCESSID]", then start bind again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th January 2007, 21:01
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default no other processes

I stopped named, but there are no other processes with its name. I tryed also ps aux | grep named.
Can you think of any other reason?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th January 2007, 08:14
smartcall smartcall is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default illegal name

Sorry for the mess,

there was an illegal subdomain name which caused it all

Regards,

Apostol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zone Transfer trouble. vbrookie Installation/Configuration 18 2nd June 2007 21:53
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; Host or domain name not found. Name service error Hellbound General 4 7th January 2007 12:50
Named crashing every 20 min RingofFire Installation/Configuration 4 23rd November 2006 03:39
DNS: Multiple IPs, want to setup a "private" nameserver on each IP for resellers bpmee Server Operation 8 17th September 2006 10:35
BIND broke adamluz Installation/Configuration 4 2nd June 2006 22:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.