Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th January 2007, 20:30
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default ispconfig vs. resolv.conf?

Hi folks,

i added some days ago, a search domain to my resolv.conf.
Due to a reboot (kernel 2.6.19.2 ) i experienced that a lookup using that searchdomain does not work anymore. The problem was the line "search ..." that i added to the resolv.conf disappeared. But i did not change anything, i mean the kernelinstall normally does not affect the resolv.conf (or does it nowerdays?) so only the (re)start of services could be the problem.
So the question is, does ISPConfig write to the resolv.conf and if yes, where can I change the template / or which script is responsible for that?

thx
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th January 2007, 22:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

ISPConfig does not write to the resolv.conf at all.

Is this a virtual server? Which linux distribution do you use? E.G. SuSe is writing to resolv.conf if I remember correctly.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th January 2007, 01:13
Clogboy Clogboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

If you are using DHCP you will most likely find that the DHCP daemon would have overwritten your /etc/resolv.conf upon receiving it's IP address.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th January 2007, 21:21
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

@Till: No its a rootserver running Debian Sarge.
@Clogboy: No dhcp is not running.

Well i will just watch it and see what happens on next reboot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th January 2007, 21:40
jnsc jnsc is offline
rotaredoM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Posts: 525
Thanks: 10
Thanked 170 Times in 77 Posts
 
Default

If you have the resolvconf package installed http://packages.debian.org/stable/net/resolvconf you have to add
Code:
 dns-search example.com
to your /etc/network/interfaces file
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Installation/Configuration 14 18th January 2009 13:41
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 21:01
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 22:18
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
Recreating ISPConfig database retran Installation/Configuration 2 15th April 2006 23:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.