Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th September 2007, 04:33
r00kie r00kie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Domain... DNS... HOSTNAME... I'm confused...

Hello! I hope somebody can help me...

Well... I follow your "The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu Feisty Fawn (Ubuntu 7.04)", and I use something like:
host: server
domain: myname.com

After installing ISPconfig I give the same information and at the end of the installation it says I can access my ISPconfig accessing:
http://server.myname.com:81

But when I tri to access it from a web browser it doesn't work... Locally I only can access it pointing to the internal IP (192.168.0.100:81) and I ask a friend to try the address http://server.myname.com:81 and it don't work... He only can access my ISPconfig when write in the url: 00.000.00.00:81 where de 00.000.00.00 it's my external IP address...

How can I do to make the http://server.myname.com:81 available?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th September 2007, 10:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Please make sure that server.myname.com is a officially registered domain name and has a DNS A-Record that points to your external IP address.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th September 2007, 14:36
shellNewbie shellNewbie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have similar problem to r00kie - I kept getting:
The URL is not reachable!
when I tried to put in my domain name and hostname at the end of ISPConfig install so I followed Till's Howto and left the hostname blank and put my servers static IP into the domain name:

Please enter the host name (e.g. www):www.xxxxxxxxx.com
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
The URL is not reachable!
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
The URL is not reachable!
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):192.168.xxx.xxx
OK
Please select the protocol (http or https (SSL encryption)) to use to access the ISPConfig system:
1) HTTPS
2) HTTP
Your Choice: 1

Connected successfully to MySQL server
no crontab for root
Restarting some services...
* Stopping Postfix Mail Transport Agent postfix [ OK ]
* Starting Postfix Mail Transport Agent postfix [ OK ]
* Stopping ftp server proftpd [ OK ]
* Starting ftp server proftpd [ OK ]
Starting ISPConfig system...
Apache/1.3.37 mod_ssl/2.8.28 (Pass Phrase Dialog)
Some of your private key files are encrypted for security reasons.
In order to read them you have to provide us with the pass phrases.

Server 192.168.xxx.xxx:81 (RSA)
Enter pass phrase:

Ok: Pass Phrase Dialog successful.
/root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl startssl: httpd started
ISPConfig system is now up and running!
Congratulations! Your ISPConfig system is now installed. If you had to install quota, please take the steps described in the installation manual. Otherwise your system is now available without reboot.
Please direct your browser to

https://192.168.xxx.xxx:81

and log in:
Username: admin
Password: admin


I can't browse to (myserversstaticIP):81

Can you please tell me how I can now change the hostname and domain name of my server (Ubuntu Fiesty Fawn 7.04)?

My www. is registered with DynDNS.org as a Primary DNS.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th September 2007, 19:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

You can use any FQDN that points to your server now in your browser.

BTW, did you encrypt the keys during Apache compilation? You shouldn't do so, as explained here: http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm

You can re-create the certs as shown here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slightly Confused (DNS & Server Help) JohnnyBGoode Installation/Configuration 26 14th August 2007 09:54
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52
Confused by DNS manski Server Operation 3 17th March 2006 12:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.