Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th January 2007, 08:03
meekish meekish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Setting up Google Apps for my Domain

I am trying to setup GMail for my domain. Google instructs me to enter the following MX records for my domain. I assume that I'm supposed to delete the standard "www.mydomain.com" MX record and replace it with the Google mailservers. However, I'm a little confused as to how I am actually supposed to enter these in the ISPConfig DNS Manager.

Code:
MX Server address 	              Priority

ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.	          1
ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.	     5
ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.     5
ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	    10
ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	    10
ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	    10
ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.	    10
In the "MX Record form" on ISPConfig, I have the following boxes:

* Hostname
* Priority [10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90]
* Mailserver

How would I translate the Google settings into that form? For example, would the first one be:

Hostname: ASPMX
Priority: 10
Mailserver: ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.

And the second:

Hostname: ALT1
Priority: 50
Mailserver: ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.

and so on?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th January 2007, 10:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,490
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,527 Times in 4,347 Posts
Default

The priority numbers do not really matter, what matters is the order.

it will be fine if you translate it like this:

1 = 10
5 = 20
10 = 30

You must enter the hostnames of the google mailservers without the dot at the end and the hostname field must be empty. Example:

Hostname:
Priority: 10
Mailserver: ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th January 2007, 18:03
meekish meekish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Great. It seems to be working. Now I just need to figure out how to translate these instructions to the CP and I'm all set:

Quote:
1. Sign in to your domain hosting service.
2. Navigate to your DNS Management page. The location and name of this page will vary by host, but can generally be found through Domain Management or Advanced Settings.
3. Find the CNAME settings and enter the following as the CNAME value or alias:

mail

4. Set the CNAME destination to the following address:

ghs.google.com
5. Save changes on your domain hosting service. Then, return to this page and click on the "I've completed these steps" button below.
In ISPConfig, the CNAME form shows "Host" and "Target", so I'm thinking:

Host: mail
Target: ghs.google.com


Is that correct?

Last edited by meekish; 12th January 2007 at 18:11.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th January 2007, 13:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,490
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,527 Times in 4,347 Posts
Default

Yes, that looks correct.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th September 2007, 15:33
personxx personxx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
The priority numbers do not really matter, what matters is the order.

it will be fine if you translate it like this:

1 = 10
5 = 20
10 = 30

You must enter the hostnames of the google mailservers without the dot at the end and the hostname field must be empty. Example:

Hostname:
Priority: 10
Mailserver: ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM
Why can't you for example add the following?
ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 20
ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM. 20

Everytime when I add a mx entry with the same priority I get the following message.

"This or a similar MX Record does already exist in this zone."

How can I make ISPConfig recognise the difference between ALT1 and ALT2 ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th September 2007, 12:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,490
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,527 Times in 4,347 Posts
Default

Just set the priority for the second entry to a higher value. Additionally, you do not nned these duplicate records, even if google lists them.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th November 2008, 05:43
claudioimai claudioimai is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Problem using ISPConfig, Google Apps and PHP's sendmail()

Hi,

I just fixed one problem in another thread, and stuck on another one.

The DNS problem for using Google Apps is all discussed in this thread, so I successfully set them, and my mail goes to Google Apps succesfully. Thanks for the help.

BUT, I had a further problem:

The servers I administer are primarily for use with webstores, which makes them send lots of emails from PHP to the store owner.
Example:

one store is set at http://store.domain.com/, and domain.com has the mx records pointing to Gmail in the DNS Manager

In ISP Manager, ISP Site / Options I changed the mailserver to "External mailserver" for all sites using the domain.

It should be enough to have this domain working, but any emails sent from the server are lost - I placed a code to log any emails sent from the scripts, and found this behaviour. The script updates the logs with the emails and subsequently, it sends the email, but it looks to be lost after being sent. It's not even on the trashbox (I thought gmail would do this trashing thing, just as hotmail, but it's not)

This is happening with 2 servers, could it be some other misconfiguration?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th November 2008, 18:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you select "External Mailserver" for the appropriate Co-Domains as well (can be set on the Co-Domains tab, after you've selected the Co-Domain)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
claudioimai (28th November 2008), kameleon25 (14th April 2009)
  #9  
Old 28th November 2008, 03:31
claudioimai claudioimai is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 23
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, Falko

It worked!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th April 2009, 17:41
kameleon25 kameleon25 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I too was searching for this answer. I just moved my zencart powered company site from "nightmare-host" to my local ISPconfig server. I use Google Apps for the domain and had all the MX records entered correctly. I could send/receive emails fine as long as it wasn't to my own domain. I would get errors about "no known user here" in the mail.log. The main problem is my store uses the PHP wrapper to send email and I got a similar disappearing email deal so I started digging and found this. I never thought about the "co-domain" part. Falko... you and Till are AWESOME! Now I just need to figure out how to move from ISPconfig2 to 3. I like the simplicity of 2. Just need a manual to read on 3 so I can know what does what. hint hint
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsure of DNS, hosts, and domain name plethera21 Installation/Configuration 1 4th September 2006 12:01
Domain Change in website Jose Gosalbez Installation/Configuration 15 19th July 2006 13:38
SSL related problems senzapaura Installation/Configuration 45 25th March 2006 15:15
Setting on domain DNS dstme General 3 15th November 2005 20:02
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 16:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.