Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th January 2007, 19:03
slurp slurp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Subdomain configuration in addition to CO-Domain

Hi, could you program a configuration panel for subdomains?
The Co-Domain only forwards to a directory and thats shown in URL.

domain : www.example.com

co-domain : test.example.com forwards to a folder /test.

In the URL you now can read

www.example.com/test/.

It would be nice if the URL looks like that

test.example.com.

Is ist possible to create this?

Thanks and sorry for my bad english.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th January 2007, 20:28
mlz mlz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 189
Thanks: 16
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I have to agree. I like the Co-Domains, but the lack of a decent sub-domain system probably my only complaint about ISPConfig...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th January 2007, 20:50
slurp slurp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, it's nice to know that i'm not the only one who is missing this feature.
At the moment that's the only complaint i have to make about ISP.
With the other features i'm pleased ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th January 2007, 16:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ght=co-domains
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th January 2007, 17:59
slurp slurp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, im only a client/customer on ISP and i can't create an new web because i'm no reseller or administrator.
It would be nice if a client could add subdomains to his domain/web and not only the reseller or administrator.
I would like to create a subdomain blog.example.com and that should be shown in URL and not the folder.
Is the only way to contact my provider and tell him that he must create a new web for me?

Thanks

Last edited by slurp; 13th January 2007 at 12:34.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th January 2007, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

If you want to create a new web site, then yes, you must contact your provider, because otherwise you could create as many web sites as you like without paying for them. That's why only the reseller or admin can create new web sites, but not the customer.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th January 2007, 16:17
slurp slurp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, thanks for your answer.
My provider gave me the information that i can create a number x of subdomains, thats why i'm asking. In the old isp software that my provider had i could create an delete so many subdomains i liked. The limit was high enougth.
Maybe is it possible to programm a feature for resellers, that they can allow their customers to create a numer x of subdomains, for example maybe 2, 5, oder even 10. I don't know how difficult it is to programm such a feature and how many reseller would be interested in. I don't know how many provider give their customers such a possibility to create a lot of subdomains. Ok, then the packages are limited in webspace and the number of databases. If you want to create more websites, you have to buy more webspace or a new database so that they earn again and so you are paying for the "new" subdomain.

I hope i explained it somewhat well.

Last edited by slurp; 13th January 2007 at 17:20.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th January 2007, 18:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slurp
My provider gave me the information that i can create a number x of subdomains, thats why i'm asking. In the old isp software that my provider had i could create an delete so many subdomains i liked. The limit was high enougth.
You can create subdomains for existing web sites yourself, provided your ISP set the subdomains limit high enough. But you cannot create new web sites yourself.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th January 2007, 20:11
slurp slurp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, then i do not understand how i should create them.
If i have to create them with CO-Domains, then i don't like the way that they are shown in the URL. I don't want that the folder is shown and thats whats co-domain does, it forwards to the subfolder. And i don't understand how i have to create a subdomain that it looks like that: subdomain.domain.com and not forwards to www.domain.com/folder/ in the browser.
It is nice that i can creat such a co-domain, because i dont have to remember all subfolders of my webfolder if they are deep like www.domain.com/folder/anotherolder/.
Maybe i'm to stupid to understand what i have to do or i make even to complicated.

Thanks for your answers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th January 2007, 22:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
 
Default

Create a co-domain without entering a folder where the domain is forwarded to. If you then want to read the data from another folder that is not your main web diesctory, you can add for exampla a .htaccess file with a rewrite rule as described here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9771
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache configuration file - Probleme bei Domain Einrichtung - Brauche dringend Hilfe knuddel Installation/Configuration 3 30th November 2006 09:40
ISP Services wouldn't restart any service, possibly Domain Host configuration issue. Kamran Shah Installation/Configuration 20 17th August 2006 17:33
Subdomain configuration gili General 1 31st May 2006 00:00
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
SSL related problems senzapaura Installation/Configuration 45 25th March 2006 14:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.