#1  
Old 9th January 2007, 13:05
akaiser akaiser is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question DNS & Server Scenario

Hello,

I'm just a server admin newbie (I have since some months my first dedicated server at hetzner.de) The server has installed Debian 3.1 (with LAMP and IspConfig). Well I still have some problems with DNS config, but I think I will made it.

The logic is to have separate nameservers and I'm thinking about getting a (very) cheap VPS in the US to host some test sites and the secondary nameserver. Is this a good idea or should I still host primary and secondary nameserver on my dedicated server? Or is there any alternative (I host around 20 domains and even if the Webhost Control Panel is not much used by my clients I want one just as added value for my hosting & design services)

thanks in advance...

PS: I think there should be no problem installing a master and a slave dns server in both server and duplicate the dns information created by IspConfig on the dedicated server.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th January 2007, 16:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akaiser
Hello,

I'm just a server admin newbie (I have since some months my first dedicated server at hetzner.de) The server has installed Debian 3.1 (with LAMP and IspConfig). Well I still have some problems with DNS config, but I think I will made it.

The logic is to have separate nameservers and I'm thinking about getting a (very) cheap VPS in the US to host some test sites and the secondary nameserver. Is this a good idea
At least it's better than just having one DNS server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th January 2007, 15:28
wapa17 wapa17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

..sure you can have DNS I and DNS II in the same network... although the DNS-testing tools dont like it ;-)
Since the automated DNS of ISPconfig cannot fulfill all the topologies you will need to add some DNS-entries by hand (this is a reason too because some of the users are having problems to send mail for example).
Why not simply copy all your files to your DNS II by hand, rename the SOAS (dns1.yourdomain.com to dns2.yourdomain.com) and you are done (of course possible only when you dont have a lot of changes). The master/slave concept WILL fail when you have some kind of a complicated topology in your red..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
How set DNS entry for different server? SupuS Installation/Configuration 1 12th June 2006 09:48
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.