Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th January 2007, 13:39
Hellbound Hellbound is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 116
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default postfix reject email

hi guys,
I've been trying to run radius server and phpradmin on the same server with ispconfig, so I can see that now there is a problem with it.

everyemail get this error:

Code:
<web6_root@phpRADmin-server.phpRADmin-server> (expanded from
   <smohammadn@ir-sr.com>): Host or domain name not found. Name service error
   for name=phpRADmin-server.phpRADmin-server type=A: Host not found


Final-Recipient: rfc822; web6_root@phpRADmin-server.phpRADmin-server
Original-Recipient: rfc822; smohammadn@ir-sr.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; Host or domain name not found. Name service error
   for name=phpRADmin-server.phpRADmin-server type=A: Host not found
any help?

thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th January 2007, 14:10
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

Are you using a CNAME as MX record?

If so, set the MX record to an A record!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th January 2007, 14:30
Hellbound Hellbound is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 116
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thanks god you replied.

I got so panic.

what happens is that this server is behind the nat and I couldn't figure out how to fix the mx record and there no email at all. so what I did was I set the dns server to godaddy and with their so call " total dns control" I set the MX record to www.ir-sr.com (just typed it there), should I type @ instead of that to make it A record?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th January 2007, 14:45
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

I do not have godaddy, but this is how I have set it up.

PHP Code:
(Host)     Points to
@            IP_OF_SERVER
mail         IP_OF_SERVER

CNAMES 
(Aliases)

Empty

MX (Mail Exchange)
Priority    Host    Goes to
0            
@    mail.website.tld 

Last edited by edge; 6th January 2007 at 14:48.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th January 2007, 15:15
Hellbound Hellbound is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 116
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok,
now its totally get rejected after I applied this:

[check the attachment screenshot]

and I use this tool > www.dnsgoodies.com to check mx status
which all are empty ! dont even know why
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th January 2007, 15:35
Hellbound Hellbound is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 116
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

ok,
sorry I found a mistake, but still the same.

changed the first mx record to > host2.persiasys.com

thats my server address

and deleted the second one.

but still bounced back
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th January 2007, 15:38
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

Your MX looks fine now:
http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsre...main=ir-sr.com

Change the 0 @ is-sr.com to
0 @ mail.is-sr.com
You can remove the 10 @ www.is-sr.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th January 2007, 15:40
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 152 Times in 132 Posts
Default

Hmmm whats the domainname that you are trying to setup?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th January 2007, 15:53
Hellbound Hellbound is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 116
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

that's www.ir-sr.com
here's two thing:

my email still get the same error.
I suspect it is because of installing phpmyradmin that I installed for radiusserver controlling

second this is that my BIND service is not running. how to fix it?

thanks

Last edited by Hellbound; 6th January 2007 at 16:33.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th January 2007, 18:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
<web6_root@phpRADmin-server.phpRADmin-server> (expanded from
<smohammadn@ir-sr.com>): Host or domain name not found. Name service error
for name=phpRADmin-server.phpRADmin-server type=A: Host not found
What's in /etc/hosts, and what's the output of
Code:
hostname -f
?
What's in /etc/postfix/main.cf (please strip out the comments)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix Email Delivery Problem sedat1903 HOWTO-Related Questions 2 22nd December 2008 11:19
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 15:47
using mysql with postfix - adding/deleting email to an mailalias zaag HOWTO-Related Questions 1 20th October 2006 16:08
Postfix Loops Back error and weird email headers reimagine General 4 28th July 2006 09:04
email forwarding locally consumes all resources rdells General 20 1st May 2006 19:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.