Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd December 2006, 16:00
adam76 adam76 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Spambayes instead of spamassassin

is there a possibility to get spambayes instead of spamassassin, i see nowadays that spambayes performs much better than spamassassin since the spammers i think found a way to get around this filter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd December 2006, 16:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I've never used Spambayes, so I can't tell.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th December 2006, 16:44
adam76 adam76 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its certainly worth trying. its less server heavy as spamassassin, my friend uses a name for spamassassin as serverassassin. but back to business.

it uses also same procmail als spamassassin do, so it would be a minor implementation in ispconfig to get another checkbox for spamassassin and spambayes.

these days i had out of 500 mails 350 catch by spamassassin and the other 150 were scored as 0, even i let spamassassin learn these emails they still come through. while spambayes catch also these emails.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th January 2007, 10:56
TobiasTM TobiasTM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Uffing am Staffelsee
Posts: 52
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TobiasTM
Default

Hi adam76,

the problem I see at spambayes is the needed training. Many of my customers are lazy or don´t understand the way how to train spambayes. (my informations are from the german-languaged site: http://www.chemie.fu-berlin.de/chemn...spambayes.html)

But you can use the outlook-plugin - if you want.

best regards
TobiasTM
__________________
If you have a Strato-Dedicatet-Server and want to use IPSConfig look here
Wanted a HowTo for installation of AWStats incl. GeoIP? Look here...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th May 2007, 07:28
emailmike1994 emailmike1994 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Spambayes is definitely worth a look
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spamassassin being over protective bluethunder82 General 17 5th December 2006 17:47
SpamAssassin config ? ColdDoT Server Operation 11 20th August 2006 19:45
SpamAssassin (lugin) with Munin edge Server Operation 4 18th August 2006 23:37
config spamassassin hotchilli Server Operation 1 8th July 2006 12:03
Postfix + Amavis + SpamAssassin + ClamAV michele HOWTO-Related Questions 4 1st July 2006 14:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.