#1  
Old 14th August 2007, 11:56
t-mug t-mug is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 11
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default customer's subdomains

Hi,

please can someone tell me what the most recommended way is giving customers the possibilty to create their own subdomains?

I've read here around that this has to be done by creating a new website. But this can only the admin do, or am I wrong? So customers would have then to ask me for creating their subdomains? And by this way: how can I manage customer based quota, traffic and so on, if this there is one sold webpackage (with subdomains included) only?

Thanks for help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th August 2007, 12:21
t-mug t-mug is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 70
Thanks: 11
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hmm, is my question that absurd??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th August 2007, 18:44
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t-mug
I've read here around that this has to be done by creating a new website.
If the subdomain should contain a web site of its own, then this is right. But if the subdomain should point to the same web site, it can be created on the Co-Domains tab (by the customer).

Quote:
Originally Posted by t-mug
And by this way: how can I manage customer based quota, traffic and so on, if this there is one sold webpackage (with subdomains included) only?
Customer-based quota does not work, because customers are no system users. They exist only in ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th August 2007, 13:33
ghesty ghesty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Siena, Italy
Posts: 11
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If the subdomain should contain a web site of its own, then this is right. But if the subdomain should point to the same web site, it can be created on the Co-Domains tab (by the customer).
Please, can you make some examples?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th August 2007, 14:12
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Let's assume you have a web site www.example.com. Now you'd like to have a subdomain sub.example.com that points to the www.example.com web site. In this case you simply create sub.example.com as a Co-Domain for the www.example.com web site in ISPConfig.

If sub.example.com should point to a web site of its own (instead of to www.example.com), then you must create a new web site in ISPConfig and use sub.example.com for that web site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th August 2007, 14:22
ghesty ghesty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Siena, Italy
Posts: 11
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Just to not make duplicates in the forum: in this thread there is my example (#3)
http://www.howtoforge.org/forums/showthread.php?t=14620

I created the new domain, but there would be an error somewhere...

Thanks for the quick reply
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Domains and Subdomains braakiss Installation/Configuration 8 16th August 2007 14:27
Still unsure about subdomains... HMK Installation/Configuration 8 22nd May 2007 03:48
Reselling Subdomains + Wildcard DNS CeeJayCee General 6 10th May 2007 12:19
domains, subdomains, webspace, bandwidth.. TheRudy General 17 19th February 2007 18:31
postfix + subdomains andypl Installation/Configuration 6 23rd June 2006 17:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.