Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th December 2006, 13:39
gallen gallen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Change document root after sites created

Hi All,

I am using a pretty standard ISPConfig setup (Debian perfect setup, with all ISP Config defaults).

The default Document Root is /var/www, and a number of sites have allready been created and are in use.

The physical disk that /var/www is on has limited space, but I have a large amount of space on the disk where /home is.

So, can I safely and easily change ISPConfig to use /home rather than /var/www, and keep the existing sites working as it?


Thanks,
Graeme.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th December 2006, 14:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

You'd have to move the existing web sites to /home as well. You must change the directory in the isp_server table in the ISPConfig database, in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf (restart Apache) and in /etc/passwd. I hope I haven't forgotten anything.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st December 2006, 06:00
gallen gallen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for that.

What happens if I just change the setting in ISP Config, will the existing sites stay where they are, but all new sites be placed into the new root. Would this cause any problems?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st December 2006, 11:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,654 Times in 4,463 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gallen
Thanks for that.

What happens if I just change the setting in ISP Config, will the existing sites stay where they are, but all new sites be placed into the new root. Would this cause any problems?
You will have to move all folders and files from the old document root to the new document root with permissions and ownerships preserved, otherwise you will break all existing sites and email accounts.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
monit howto Jamesk5 HOWTO-Related Questions 11 5th August 2008 16:10
Subdomains through ISPConfig for different purposes wustl_2008 Tips/Tricks/Mods 31 25th October 2007 22:45
VMWare install on Ubuntu problem with the IP velonis HOWTO-Related Questions 10 21st September 2006 15:19
Apache - Virtual hosts - ISPConfig Hans Server Operation 8 23rd April 2006 17:29
cannot connect to ispconfig guidovanh Installation/Configuration 22 3rd March 2006 20:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.