#1  
Old 12th December 2006, 21:06
hansoffate hansoffate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I get a website running?

Hi guys,

I am just trying to run a LAMP Server so I decided to follow the ubuntu perfect 6.10 server setup. ISPConfig installed with no errors. Now, I want to start working with a CMS (drupal). My question is, what do I need to do? Do I need to register another URL. Right now my url is hans.dnsdojo.com which is from dyndns (the one for my ispconfig). What do I do now? Do i need to register another url? Can I get it for free?

How do I configure ISPConfig to make this work? Is there a step by step walkthrough like the ubuntu perfect setup 6.10 server?

IE what do I put under hostname? What do I put under domain? What should I have checked?

After the freshinstall, I have this http://hans.dnsdojo.com/

Thanks for the help
Hans

Last edited by hansoffate; 12th December 2006 at 21:34.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th December 2006, 10:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

The next steps are:

1) Create a client in ISPConfig.
2) Create a website hans.dnsdojo.com

3) Follow this howto: http://www.howtoforge.com/drupal_ispconfig to install drupal.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th December 2006, 17:29
hansoffate hansoffate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I created a client.

If I wanted 2 different websites running. I have to register 2 domains at dyndns and have the dynamic dns updated right? Do I set this up in ISP Config?

I made 2 different "New Sites".
[Testing]
Hostname = www
Domain = hans.dnsdojo.com

When I go to http://hans.dnsdojo.com it shows the default website.

[Hansoffate]
Hostname = www
Domain = hansoffate.dnsdojo.com

When I go to http://hansoffate.dnsdojo.com it says
"shared Ip
This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.

For questions or problems please contact the server administrator."

What is wrong?

Thanks for the help and sorry for these easy questions,
Hans

Last edited by hansoffate; 13th December 2006 at 18:19.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th December 2006, 18:47
hansoffate hansoffate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just followed the drupal tutorial for the second time. When I am done with the tutorial I get this when trying to go to the webpage.

Code:
Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@hans.dnsdojo.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 500 Internal Server Error error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Can I check the a log somewhere to figure out what is wrong?

I think I may be messing up on "Step 9". When I change the mysql stuff, am I supposed to change it to this?
$db_url = 'mysql://web6_u1:THEPASSWORDTHATIMADE@localhost/web6_db1'
OR
$db_url = 'mysql://web6_u1:mysqlpassword@localhost/web6_db1'

Right now I have the first one in the settings.php file.

Thank you for the help
-Hans
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th December 2006, 18:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

The problem is related to the .htaccess file. Please have a look at the apache error log for a more detailed error message.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th December 2006, 19:02
hansoffate hansoffate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Till. You were right. I accidentally had an extra </IfModule> which made it not work. My website is working!

Can anyone tell me how to make another website run? Everytime I install another site and register the domain at dyndns.org, it comes up with the Shared IP message.


This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.

Also, How do I get the mail server running? It isn't working in drupal. How can I test the mailserver?

Thanks for the help
-Hans

Last edited by hansoffate; 13th December 2006 at 19:53.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th December 2006, 19:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hansoffate
Can anyone tell me how to make another website run? Everytime I install another site and register the domain at dyndns.org, it comes up with the Shared IP message.
You must create a new web site in ISPConfig that uses your new domain, and in your browser you must also use this domain, not anything else.



Quote:
Originally Posted by hansoffate
Also, How do I get the mail server running? It isn't working in drupal. How can I test the mailserver?

Thanks for the help
-Hans
Any errors in your mail log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 4 TPS mail problem Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 13 10th February 2010 18:23
Can't do it. Mono-Project BullyWug Installation/Configuration 6 15th April 2007 11:27
services not running - mysqld fbnewtz Installation/Configuration 23 28th March 2007 15:48
install Net::DNS chrno Installation/Configuration 4 5th September 2006 17:01
WARNING: services not running MicCo Installation/Configuration 31 4th September 2006 12:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.